We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twitchen House Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Started as a sun holiday, but upgraded, so not too bad of a caravan, although could not park car along side, made packing and unpacking awkward, especially if you have young kids to keep an eye on. Actual park was better than We thought. Large swimming pool and small kids pool, again better than expected. On site shop, ok, but realised the cider purchased was over a year out of date! Amusements and kids entertainment not bad, but very pricey for drinks at the bar! The park is in the process of being updated and So far, kids playground is really good! Good quality. Having been to all the owned parks now, probably prefer the bigger golden coast site more.

Room Tip: Gold or platinum would be a good level of caravan if your staying in one., plue if you have kids you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your recent stay at Twitchen House. I am pleased to read that our Park exceeded your expectations, it’s great that yourself and your family enjoyed use of the indoor pool facilities. I am sorry that you could not park right beside your holiday home, we do have many caravans whereby you can park next to the unit, and we always try our very best to meet requests for parking when they have been made. I will pass on your comments regarding the cider you purchased on-site with the shop manager. Our drinks prices are very competitively priced, in comparison to the local establishments in the area. We are investing £2.5million to redevelop the site for 2014, this will include extended and improved all day entertainment centre, new food venues and convenience store, and renovated family attractions. You can be kept up to date with the work by registering your email address with us on our website. We really do hope to welcome you back to our Parks in the future. Aimee Watt - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,587 - 1,593 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great Caravan 8 berth gold caravan with everything we needed will be back next year
Great Club shows and entertainment we really liked the staff night show with the Rizal kicks get
down with the trumpets fab we have been to Twitchen twice this year and it was even better the second time Great trips on the bus down to the beach at Woolacombe and meals out
will defiantly be back next year for our Holiday.
Mr &Mrs Cartwright and Family

Room Tip: Would recommend to all ages give it a go you no it makes sense you wont be disappointed trust me I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. It gives me great pleasure to read that the Gold caravan was suitable for the needs of your family, and went towards making your recent stay at Twitchen House enjoyable. I will be sure to pass your kind comments over to our hardworking Entertainment team, and their Manager, who will all be so pleased that you enjoyed their show. It’s great that you utilised the Woolacombe Bay bus. We are very much looking forward to welcoming the Cartwright’s back next year! Aimee Watt - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a Fantastic week at Twitchen House holiday village. The caravan was clean and tidy, and all the staff were friendly and very helpful. I was a little apprehensive after reading some reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a bronze caravan (C32) as we had a dog, and it was perfect. The floors were easy to sweep after a trip to the beach, and the balcony had a gate, so that we could all sit outside when the sun decided to shine! In the past we have stayed at Haven holiday parks, and have found the dog friendly caravans to be "tired" but we will definitely be returning to stay at Twitchen Park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking your time to post such a lovely review. I am so pleased to read that your family, including your dog of course, had an enjoyable stay, and that you found the Bronze accommodation to be clean and tidy on arrival. Woolacombe is such a pet friendly part of North Devon, and it’s great that the gated veranda suited your needs, and that you caught a bit of sun! I will pass your kind comments on to our team members here at Twitchen House, who will be very grateful you have praised their hard work. We really do hope to welcome you back to our Parks next year. Aimee Watt - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have just returned from a cheap weekend away here. Obviously the rotten weather didn't help, but the caravan was freezing and we had to wait 2 days for our heater to be fixed, despite having a young child and the poor gas supply made it impossible to cook more than one thing at any time! The caravan was clean, if basic and the staff on reception were very helpful.

Unfortunately, the swimming pool was very dirty as were the changing rooms, particularly the floors. The whole pool area was very dark as well. My daughter usually loves swimming but she refused to go back in the pool on the second day. On a positive note, the evening cabaret entertainment was excellent considering the amount of guests on site. It just felt like it was all a bit 'tired'. I think we have been lucky in the past, staying at Haven sites and I have to say I am inclined to stick with Haven and pay a bit more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent holiday at Twitchen House. I am sorry to read that you experienced problems with the heater, and that the swimming pool did not meet your expectations, it is however great to read that you enjoyed the on-site evening entertainment, I will pass your kind comments on to the entertainment team. We are investing £2.5million to redevelop the site for 2014, this will include extended and improved all day entertainment centre, new food venues and convenience store, and renovated family attractions. We really do hope to welcome you back to our Parks in the future. Aimee Watt - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Caravan was basic. Which was expected. Not exactly cleaned to highest standard but everything worked. This holiday was booked because of the 'well stocked fishing lake' so my partner could fish while I was convalescing. The fishing lake could be described as no more than a puddle. And there certainly was not any fish in them. And yes the 'lake' at Golden coast was just the same. The on site pub was ridiculously overpriced, the entertainment staff were smutty and more concerned with private jokes between themselves. There was no steps or paths to the caravan so it was a walk down slippy grass bank, and then walking wet grass in the van as their were no mats. Overall, a disappointing holiday and definitely no chance or either returning or recommending the site to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gingerbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for your review. I am saddened to read that Twitchen House did not meet your expectations. We stock our fishing lakes every year, and I am sorry that you were disappointed by them. I will be raising the points you have made regarding the entertainment team with the Entertainment Manager. It is with regret to read that you will not be returning to, or recommending our Parks. We value all feedback, positive and negative, so thank you again for taking your time to do so. Aimee Watt - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We as a family have just returned from a 3 night break. Before taking this holiday we checked trip advisor to see the reviews. Due to this being our 1st holiday as a family we were horrified to see some of the bad reviews as we had already booked. Well I like to take things as I find and credit where credits due we had a fantastic time. Clean caravan, excellent facilities and to cap it off the staff were very very helpful and cheerful which made the stay great. Would highly recommend to anyone and will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amazeballsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely review. It really is a pleasure to read that yourself and your family had a great holiday. I will be sure to pass your kind comments to our housekeeping manager regarding the cleanliness of your holiday home, and also to our on site team members who will be very grateful that you have left praise for them, we all do work ever so hard to ensure that our guests have a memorable holiday. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Parks in the future. Aimee Watt - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The caravan was dirty and crawling with bugs!! There was a hole in the roof that we had to keep a bucket under the whole time. The Mattress in the children's room were all ripped and torn and our accommodation was based on a huge slope and we couldn't park. The parks have hardly any suitable places for wheelchairs which meant that a member if our party could not participate in certain activities and couldn't get into the cinema or into the soft play area to watch the grandchildren...We couldn't even access some of the restaurants with the wheelchair. The limitations on wheelchair users was like something out of the dark ages. The evening entertainers were more interested in entertaining each other with private jokes then keeping the crowd amused. They were also rather offensive when they did bother to interact with the crowd. The swimming pool has no lifeguard and no staff supervise it. I would certainly never return or recommend this place!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your response. I am so sorry to hear that you experienced some housekeeping and maintenance problems whilst you were holidaying with us, I do hope that you reported these to us so that we had a chance to rectify these for you.

We are lucky enough to be situated on the beautiful coast of North Devon, which is not completely flat, there are steep and hilly parts around all coastal areas, you can request to be allocated a caravan which is on a flatter part of the Park, with easier access to the site facilities and with parking for example, we try our very best to meet all requests made by our guests, and I hope you made us aware of your requirements prior to arrival, so that we could allocate a suitable position for you.

Our indoor swimming pool is not lifeguarded, and is not advertised as being so as this is not required due to the depth of the water, and all under 18’s have to be supervised by an adult. We do have cameras and emergency call points in the pools, which are also checked regularly by the Park cleaning staff as they maintain the changing facilities.

I am sorry to hear that you will not be returning. I will pass your comments regarding the entertainment team on to the entertainment manager to look in to. We value all feedback received, positive or negative, so thank you for taking the time to do so.

Aimee Watt - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.9 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
860 reviews
4.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
6.8 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twitchen House Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twitchen House Holiday Village

Address: Twitchen Park Mortehoe Station Road, Woolacombe EX34 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range: £15 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its Edwardian manor house and situated on a sleepy Devon lane that meanders down to Mortehoe village, the park is an ideal haven for a leisurely holiday. Set in acres of picturesque woodland, you can easily walk down to the beach through the beautiful countryside or you'll find loads of fun facilities on the Park for all ages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Twitchen House Holiday Village Hotel Woolacombe
Twitchen Holiday Park Woolacombe
Twitchen House Holiday Village Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing