We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late short Break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twitchen House Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Late short Break”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My wife and I booked a late short break at Twitchen House after a recommendation from a member of the family.
1. Online booking easy and quick
2. Arrival book in very easy
3. Accommodation clean and as expected
4. Staff very friendly and helpful.
5. On site facilities were very good ( shop not expensive)
6. Overall this was a good value for money short break.

The onsite facilities were good the pool was clean and warm. As we were on site near the end of the season things were a bit quiet (just how we like it). Only a short drive or a 10-15 minute walk down to one of the cleanest and best kept beaches we have been to..
Twitchen house was getting ready for a major £2.5 million refit of various facilities.

We look forward to returning when the work is completed early next year.

Room Tip: For caravans go the extra mile and go for Gold or above, extra little bit of comfort does no one any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review of your recent stay at Twitchen House Holiday Village. I am delighted to read that you found your online booking, and check-in on arrival, easy and quick.

Your comments regading our team members being friendly and helpful are very much appreciated, and I will be sure to pass your kind words over to our hardworking team. I am pleased that you feel you recieved good value for money, and that you were happy with the on-site facilities.

The Park has been nice and peaceful over the last few weeks, since the children have returned to school, as much as we love the busy buzzing peak weeks, it has been lovely and relaxing for our guests recently. We are investing £2.5million to redevelop the site for 2014, this will include extended and improved all day entertainment centre, new food venues and convenience store, and renovated family attractions. You can be kept up to date with the work by registering your email address with us on our website.

We are so looking forward to your return to the Park next year,
Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    630
    267
    133
    132
See reviews for
1,328
244
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have stayed at Twitchen House twice, once camping and once in a caravan. It's such a great experience, particularly for kids. There are 2 pools, one indoor, one outdoor, a lovely playground, a small shop, amusements and fabulous evening entertainment. For a reasonable price you can get a bus ticket which lasts the duration of your holiday and the bus takes you into Woolacombe, to save on the rather high parking prices. Once you're booked into the park you can use the facilities at the other Woolacombe Bay parks free-of-charge, so there really is no chance of getting bored. We returned a week ago and my son is still asking when we can go "back to see Billy and Betty again". The caravan and camping facilities have been spotless and there's plenty of room for camping. They have planned a massive refurb over the winter ready for when they re-open at Easter and I can't wait to get back there and see what it's like.

Room Tip: Take a tent to get a cheaper break with all the facilities included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank runningvix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review of your recent holiday of Twitchen House. I am so pleased to read that yourself and your family had another enjoyable stay with us, and that you made full use of the facilities across all sites. It is so handy to have the bus passes too, the open top Woolacombe Bay bus is extremely popular, and a sure favourite amongst adults and children alike.

I will pass your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the camping and touring facilities on to our site warden, who will be delighted that you found them to be spotless throughout your stay. We are investing £2.5million to redevelop the site for 2014, this will include extended and improved all day entertainment centre, new food venues and convenience store, and renovated family attractions. You can be kept up to date with the work by registering your email address with us on our website.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Twitchen soon, Billy and Betty will be waiting! Your feedback is very much appreciated, thank you again for taking the time to leave such positive comments. Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

the caravan was not clean the carpet was very dirty needed a shampoo to get the stubborn marks off. some of the utensils were grubby. The curtain was off the rail in the living area.it seemed to be draughty even though the heating was on.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank patricia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at Twitchen House Holiday Village.

I am saddened to read that you were dissatisfied with some aspects of your holiday home, I do hope that you reported the issues regarding the carpet, utensils and curtain rail to reception, so as to give us a chance to rectify these problems for you, we would have also been able to advise you that fan heaters are available to hire should you feel a chill inside the caravan.

We are currently undergoing major Park re-developments, ready for the 2014 season, which will include extended and improved all day entertainment centre, new food venues and convenience store, and renovated family attractions. Your constructive comments are appreciated, and help identify areas for improvement. They will be seriously considered when planning the Park’s developments for the 2014 season.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Parks in the future,
Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked our holiday through the evening post and have stayed here before so were really looking forward to it as it was our first family holiday with our babies, we ended up with a bronze caravan which looked ok but after a few days of earwigs being seen around the caravan we were kind of wishing we weren't there, also the toilets on site near the cafe had a changing matt with no strap to keep your baby safe which was very dangerous and should have been out of service and when mentioned to the snotty receptionist she said it would be sorted straight away but what a surprise it hadnt changed at all by the time we left, we were very disappointed with the stay especially after we'd upgraded to a bronze not sure if we'd go there again think I'd be too worried about the earwigs to be honest!!
we made the best of the holiday for our babies and they did enjoy the swimming in the cold babies pool lol, anyway looks like they are revamping the place by next year thank god lets just hope they sort the whole place out!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at Twitchen House Holiday Village. I am sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with your Bronze Holiday Home, I do hope you reported the issues you have mentioned regarding earwigs to us whilst you were on Park, so as to give us a chance to rectify the problem for you.

We are investing £2.5million to redevelop the site for 2014, this will include extended and improved all day entertainment centre, new food venues and convenience store, and renovated family attractions. Your constructive comments regarding the baby changing facilities are appreciated, and help identify areas for improvement. They will be seriously considered when planning the Park’s developments for the 2014 season.

I am delighted to hear that your two children enjoyed the indoor toddler pool facility, the swimming pools are heated to approximately 30 degrees celsius which is just a shade below "sub tropical" temperatures.

I am saddened to read that you found a member of our Reception team to be ‘snotty’, this strikes me as most out of character, I will be reiterating the importance of quality customer service to all team members, so as to ensure our usual high standards are met.

I do hope that you visit us again in the future,
Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Myself and my girlfriend visited Twitchem House Holiday Village at the beginning of September . Upon arrival the reception area was clean and tidy and the staff were friendly. Unfortunately that was as good as it got. On entering our Platinum Caravan we noticed that there was bedding on the side for us to make up the bed. Only place we have been where beds were not made up on arrival. The floor was dirty and not mopped. The windows were filthy. Most of the kitchen utensils were dirty. Radiator thermostat in lounge was broken and on the floor. Table edge was damaged with sharp edges. Fridge door handle missing.
Stated there was a freezer in caravan but it was just a freezer box in the fridge which was completely frosted up.
Complained to the on duty manager who was very apologetic and reacted promptly to solve some of the problems and promised us a complimentary bottle of wine...... which must still in the wine cellar as we never saw it.
The in the bar and restaurant were sullen and rude when asked for directions.
The site as a whole looked very tired and in need of a lot of work which we understand is happening this winter.
On a plus the location is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at Twitchen House Holiday Village. I am pleased to hear that you found the Reception area to be clean and tidy, and team members to be friendly upon arrival. I am sorry that you were disappointed that the beds were not made up for you in the Platinum Holiday Home, we do not advertise that these models come with the added extra of beds made up on arrival, you can add this on for a small charge of £10. I apologies that you experienced some cleanliness and maintenance issues within your caravan, and I am glad that these were rectified once reported.

I am concerned to read that you felt some team members were sullen and rude when asked for help, all of our team members partake in customer service training to ensure our expectations meet yours; the importance of excellent customer service will be re-iterated to our bar and restaurant team to improve our guests experience, I apologies you were unsatisfied with the level of care provided during your stay with us.

We are investing £2.5million to redevelop the site for 2014, this will include extended and improved all day entertainment centre, new food venues and convenience store, and renovated family attractions. You can be kept up to date with the work by registering your email address with us on our website.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company again,
Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have camped here more than a dozen times, so this might be a little biased! One of the best places to camp, whilst there are not that many pitches, I will advise to pay a little extra for the hook up as these are the best, avoid term times! Prices go through the roof, there are cheaper sites but they do not have the same facilities.....or views! Remember you get access to all the facilities, the showers and toilets are great and well kept, they even have a sauna and a steam room!
We have only caravanned once and stayed in a platinum, you get what you pay for! Is my motto! And I've seen ppl moaning that theirs were poor, well don't buy a sun holiday for 9.99 and expect the ritz, the lower standard caravans are not plush, you can see the difference on the website between the grades of these.

Room Tip: Visit the website and check the caravans out before you book, camping then there are some great deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjk1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review of your recent stay here at Twitchen House. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed another great holiday, and that you made use of the sauna and steam room, what a way to ensure you have a relaxing break. It’s great that you make use of the on-site facilities , you are entitled to use the facilities at all four Parks, when you are staying with us, four holidays for the price of one! We are investing £2.5million to redevelop the site for 2014, this will include extended and improved all day entertainment centre, new food venues and convenience store, and renovated family attractions. We really do hope to welcome you back to our Parks in the future. Aimee Watt - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

On arrival - No sign to see reception (in dark) so abandoned caravan in road and hunted...
Given Pitch number...
NO ONE ESCORTED to pitch!!! (7pm) (sunset)
Drove round, got lost, drove round, Ended up tightest dead end, spent ages to get out space.
Walked to pitch...
Hmmmm
Hard standing it was - where do you put the awning up to then??? gave up on fitting awning and squashed in to caravan.
This was after attempting to reverse (but gave up) the caravan in backwards to pitch but couldnt as NO turning circles as Bank directly opposite road. Had to unhitch and handball in (wrong way) and the worst bit was up a KERB! not even low kerb. then had to hang on to caravan as pitch on slope.
So after 2hours of stress and wondering where the kids were gonna sleep (normally awning) we decided to feed kids tea and hit the sack.
Woke up to disaster... Awning that we left attached to caravan as couldnt see in dark to take down as couldnt assemble in dark (no lightling) & on concrete was ruined/torn in wind (it wasnt even that windy) but up here it is... Feel sorry for anyone in a tent! ****** do not go in tent unless its weighted down with concrete boulders)

Well anyone... all day to have fun - NOT! its always foggy (ive been before and always same) beautiful sunshine on beach and surrounding villages but not here. Your high on hillside and the fog stays and is wet!.

Ok lets hit the pool (outdoor shut)... hmm indoor pool is tiny... its just too small for the people who want to use it. and the lack of changing facilities is silly. Carefull when going in (get tokens from reception) then feed token into slot and pass through full height turnstiles one at time... Hard work with little ones and watch you dont get hands caught!

Hard seats in entertainment/club area. Staff including entertainment team look bored to death and didnt really engage - seemed like they being do this all year and were fed up same thing every night (i would too!)

Kids Disco was pants!!! didnt even play gangnam style (kiddies love this) played music that my gran would disco to (when drunk!) - if its advertised as kids disco please tailor it to kids....?

This site could be so much better, it is tidy and clean and looked after, the toilets/showers are amazing. Best ive visited.

Avoid if touring/camping - try one of the other sites.

Avoid if 1mph winds!

Avoid out of peak season - boring

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank British_Belle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, General Manager at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you experienced issues locating your pitch, upon arrival our reception team give you verbal directions to your pitch and show you on the park map, you are then given a welcome booklet which includes a park map. Our Camping and Touring warden is also on-site, and is there to help if guests report any problems.

Without your booking details, I am unable to look into the specifics, but I apologise that your hard standing pitch was not suitable for you, I do hope you reported this to Reception whilst you were here, so that we could have had the chance to re-allocate your pitch, and look at moving you to a more suitable pitch type.

I apologise that you woke up to a damaged awning, we are lucky enough to be situated on the beautiful coast of North Devon, and of course, as with all coastal areas, we are more exposed to the elements and therefore will experience more wind than non-coastal areas, and unfortunately there is absolutely nothing we can do about sea mist or fog, although we wish we could control the weather at times.

I am sorry you were dissatisfied with our indoor pool facility, the indoor pool is actually bigger than the outdoor pool, measuring around 15.4m x 7.8m, the turnstile/token system is in place to ensure that the pool doesn’t get overcrowded, and as the indoor pool isn’t lifeguarded, this ensures that children cannot access without the supervision of an adult, therefore keeping our guests safe.

We are investing £2.5million to redevelop the site for 2014, this will include extended and improved all day entertainment centre, new food venues and convenience store, and renovated family attractions.

The Entertainments Manager aims to provide a varied programme of daytime and evening entertainment to cater for all ages, however I apologise the evening performing acts were not to your individual taste. I am pleased to read that you found the site to be tidy and clean, and that you were happy with the shower and toilet facilities.

We value all feedback, positive and negative, so thank you for taking the time to do so,
Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.9 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
843 reviews
4.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
829 reviews
4.1 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
6.8 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twitchen House Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twitchen House Holiday Village

Property: Twitchen House Holiday Village
Address: Mortehoe Station Lane, Woolacombe EX34 7ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its Edwardian manor house and situated on a sleepy Devon lane that meanders down to Mortehoe village, the park is an ideal haven for a leisurely holiday. Set in acres of picturesque woodland, you can easily walk down to the beach through the beautiful countryside or you'll find loads of fun facilities on the Park for all ages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Twitchen House Holiday Village Hotel Woolacombe
Twitchen Holiday Park Woolacombe
Twitchen House Holiday Village Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing