We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woolacombe Bay at Twitchen House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twitchen House Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Woolacombe Bay at Twitchen House”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Brill for kids of all ages because of Beach, Swimming pools, complex very good and have been in 4 generations of my family. I would like to Thank the Sun Newspaper for it making it affordable when time are hard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your excellent review. I am delighted to read that you and your family had a brilliant holiday, that you made the most of the on-site facilities such as the swimming pools, and that you enjoyed the beautiful Woolacombe beach. It’s great to hear that you found your break. We very much hope to welcome you back to Twitchen House in the future. You can be kept updated with our latest deals and offers by registering your email address with us online. Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    630
    267
    133
    132
See reviews for
1,328
244
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Oxon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was my fourth experience of a uk holiday park and I wasn't expecting much on past experience's but twitchen house has restored my faith in uk holiday parks!! The site was well maintained, tidy and well lit at night. Reception were friendly & helpful & quick to get maintenance to replace a lightbulb in are caravan! We stayed in a beach retreat it was clean & kitchen well equipped, bedrooms & bathroom very small but there were only 2 of us so we could use the second room as a dressing room!! There was also a nice decking area with a picnic bench outside. You can tell the park has had a lot of money spent on it with with a new evening entertainment hall, bar/ eating area with a nice outside seating area + a small cinema showing up 2 date films!! The onsite shop was well stocked at average prices. I thought the bar prices were a little expensive until we went to the local pub & realised twitchen was cheap!! The outdoor pool was very warm just like getting into a bath(warmer than the indoor pool) & there is plenty of seating & loungers. Didn't see a lot if the evening entertainment but the bits I did see the team put their heart & soul into making sure you have a good time!! We didn't eat on site but the menus had a wide choice with an average main costing about £10. Overall very impressed & would return again next year, nice park in a fantastic location. & you can walk 2 the beach in less than 15 mins. Lots to do in the area we didn't get time to see half of what's on offer & so will be back next year!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDF31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at Twitchen House. I am so pleased to read that you were impressed by our recently redeveloped family entertainment complex and that the Park was well maintained and tidy. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our friendly Reception team, it’s good to know that the maintenance issue you reported was swiftly rectified. I am glad that you found your Beach Retreat model to be clean and well equipped, and that you enjoyed the decked veranda with outdoor furniture. We very much hope to welcome you and your family back to Twitchen House in the future. You can be kept updated with our latest deals and offers by registering your email address with us online. Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Fantastic place to stay, great caravans at great prices. Loads for the kids to do. Was let down by the food. Ordered 2 fish and chips and 2 starters. Fish and chips arrived first. Told them we'd ordered starters and they took the mains away and returned with starters. When we were ready for mains the same meals that had simply been sat under the hot plate returned. The side salads had been cooked from the heat and the "fresh from frozen" fish was like tasteless cardboard. Didn't eat there again. Can't foot the rest of the place though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie7336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review of your recent stay at Twitchen House. I am delighted to read that you were pleased with your Holiday Home, and the cost of your break. It’s great to hear that your children had a great time making the most of the on site facilities. I am saddened to read that you were disappointed with your meals, I will be discussing your feedback with our Catering Manager to ensure that this does not reoccur moving forwards, I do hope that the problems you experienced in our restaurant didn’t affect your holiday enjoyment too much. We very much hope to welcome you and your family back to Twitchen House in the future, and that you will give us a second chance to prove to you that our aim is to please our guests and not disappoint. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review. You can be kept updated with our latest deals and offers by registering your email address with us online. Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed in a 'bronze' static caravan providing a great value holiday. Loads of activities for the kids to do but be cautious some can be expensive. Meals are also expensive on site. Friendly and helpful staff. Great range of indoor and outdoor pools. Fantastic selection of beaches nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you Mark P for taking the time to post your fantastic review of your Whitsun family holiday. I am so pleased to read that you were happy with your Bronze Holiday Home, and that you felt that it represented great value for money. It’s great to hear that your children enjoyed using the on-site facilities, such as the indoor and outdoor swimming pools, with your entertainment and facility wristbands, you have access to over 40 free activities across our 4 Parks, and this includes 10 swimming pools! Thank you for your kind comments regarding our helpful and friendly team members, I will be sure to pass your feedback on. We very much hope to welcome you and your family back to Twitchen House in the future, you can be kept updated with our latest deals and offers by registering your email address with us online. Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Fantastic facilities, great for families. Wonderful pitches on the camping field with amazing panoramic views over Woolacoombe bay. Good value for miney, because of the access to so many activities.
Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Bring a decent tent, can be blowy on the camping field!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 24Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed using the fantastic facilities the Park has to offer, and that your family had a great time. It’s great to read that you loved the views from your pitch, and that you felt your holiday represented good value for money. We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Twitchen House in the future. You can be kept updated with our latest deals and offers by registering your email address with us online. Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Dreading being in a tent for the first time with 2 small children I was pleasantly surprised on arrival to see not only all the outdoor activities but a sauna and steam room in the toilet block! Everything was spotless and clean, the staff helpful and more importantly happy! the views are amazing, the children loved the kids clubs and the activities available so all in all we would highly recommend. If next time you could just provide constant sunshine and hold off the rain then we would be VERY happy :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SarahDalziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your great review of your recent camping holiday at Twitchen House. I am so pleased to read that you were impressed by the facilities in the camping and touring shower block, and that the amenities were spotlessly clean. Your kind comments regarding our helpful team members are very much appreciated, I will be sure to pass your feedback on. It’s great to hear that your children loved the kids clubs and activities, and that your holiday exceeded your expectations, we only wish we could guarantee the weather. We very much hope to welcome you and your family back to Twitchen House in the future. You can be kept updated with our latest deals and offers by registering your email address with us online. Aimee Watt - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break at Twitchen House and I have to say it is the best caravan holiday we have had for a long time. The check in was excellent and the staff very help full. We upgraded to a new caravan it was spotless and just as it said in the brochure. The entertainment was good the only down side the bar prices are a bit high.The restaurant was the only real disappointment the quality of the food was not very good for the prices that they charged. But everything else was great and we will be retuning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Twitchen House Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am so pleased that you were happy with your 2014 model Holiday Home and that it was spotless for you upon arrival, I will pass your feedback to our hardworking Housekeeping team.

I am delighted to hear that you felt the check-in process was excellent; your kind comments regarding our helpful team members are very much appreciated. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the on-site entertainment, yet I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your meals from Bar 51; I trust that you reported this to a member of the team so that they had a chance to rectify this for you. The price of the food and drink we serve from the Park is competitively priced, and are in line with other Woolacombe based establishments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Twitchen House soon. You can be kept updated with our latest deals and offers by registering your email address with us online.

Aimee Watt- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.9 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
843 reviews
4.6 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
829 reviews
4.1 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
6.8 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twitchen House Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twitchen House Holiday Village

Property: Twitchen House Holiday Village
Address: Mortehoe Station Lane, Woolacombe EX34 7ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its Edwardian manor house and situated on a sleepy Devon lane that meanders down to Mortehoe village, the park is an ideal haven for a leisurely holiday. Set in acres of picturesque woodland, you can easily walk down to the beach through the beautiful countryside or you'll find loads of fun facilities on the Park for all ages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Twitchen House Holiday Village Hotel Woolacombe
Twitchen Holiday Park Woolacombe
Twitchen House Holiday Village Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing