We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surf View Guest House
Ranked #2 of 20 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I booked a 2 night stay at the Surf view to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary in Woolacombe. We both agreed that Surf View was the best guest house we have ever stayed in! Was perfect from the moment we arrived. Steve was at the door ready to welcome us and showed us to our spotless, lovely, comfortable room. Steve and Shirley are both brilliant hosts, very approachable and they sure to cook a tasty breakfast (cooked to order on hot plates!). This guest house is superb value for money and in the best location with woolacombe beach a pleasant 10-15 minutes stroll away. We are gutted we did not book a longer stay, can't wait to go back again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annabellio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevewain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

So glad we made a nice contribution to your first wedding anniversary. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future and thank you for such a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have been staying with Steve and Shirley for more years than we can remember, but it gets better every time. Great hosts, lovely breakfast and very easy reach of Woolacombe village. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Have recommended many times and will continue to do so.

Nick & B Fryer

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevewain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Nick & B, always a pleasure welcoming you to Surf View, see you September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at the Surf View from 27th - 30th June 2014. I had a friendly greeting by the hotel owner Steve and his wife. The room was immaculate and furnished at a high standard - the bathroom was huge!

The hotel is located about 15 - 20 minutes from Woolacombe if you're on foot, which I recommend as the footpath takes you through wonderful hill and meadows with cows and horses - great for children.

It will take 3 minutes by car - what more could you ask!

I stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfasts were cooked to order. The hotel is lovely, with outside eating space, adequate shade and parking. The breakfast room looks out on to the sea and fields and certainly gets you off to a great start for the day.

The owners are great. They didn't scowl once, when we arrived without keys for the second time! I shall definately be back to Surf View when I return to Woolacombe, they made my stay magical, thank you!

Room Tip: All rooms are well proportioned and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanabeagalavanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevewain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your review, so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. Looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After travelling over 5 hours to get too our accommodation, what a delight fantastic views over the bay and the hills a lovely friendly welcome from Steve and two delightful twin rooms "5&6" on the ground floor ideal for me as my mobility is limited. The rooms were spotless and the bathrooms and we all slept like logs.Breakfast was freshly cooked and the variety was lovely nothing was too much trouble for Shirley. We arrived as guests and felt we left as friends.

Room Tip: If you are of limited mobility ask for rooms 5 or 6 as they are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadsac27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevewain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Surf View, always appreciated.
Pleased to read that everything was to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Surf View is a fabulous B&B in beautiful Woolacombe. The views over the hills and bay are stunning. We stayed in room 5, which had it's own entrance and was spacious, clean and modern throughout. There was so much attention to detail, including the fresh milk in the silent fridge, water and glasses and clean, fluffy towels. The rooms were spotless and the bed was out of this world, comfortable is not the word! The hospitality of the owners is first class, they are friendly, attentive and thoughtful. The breakfast was fantastic and they were easily able to accommodate our 15 month old in a highchair. We had an amazing time staying at this amazing B&B and very much look forward to returning to Surf View next year. A definite 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevewain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks Jo, for taking the time to review, so glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you both again next year, and little Elora of course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Returned two weeks ago from a smashing 3 day break at Surf View. On arrival two things just strike you, the first is the stupendous views of the hills at one side and in front the whole bay of Woolacombe, with the sun shining you could have been in the Med! The second is the smiling Steve opening the door to a tasteful spotless house, we were taken to our room, a double (room 1) on the ground floor. The View from this window covered the whole of the bay with countryside and horses leading down to the sea. Steve then showed us the breakfast room with individual tables again with super views overlooking the hills. In the garden seated by the hills and looking down to the Bay was something special for a coffee or a glass of wine. Our room really did have a silent fridge and a good size T.V. The en-suite was on the small side but spotless. Larger rooms are available we understand but we booked at short notice and went for a smaller room with sea views. And very glad we did. Breakfast was freshly cooked and as a veggie I was well catered for, there is a spotless large lounge and TV but we didn't use it.
A path from the house leads to the Bay, takes about 10 mins. a short slope could be a little effort for the less able,on the return. Well done to Steve and Shirley for a lovely guest house, would we return?...You bet!!...Dave and Maureen

Room Tip: Rooms to the front for sea views others have good views of hills and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_S187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevewain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Hi Dave & Maureen, we were really pleased when we read your assesment of Surf View, it makes all tof our work worthwile when we read such things. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the not to distant future and once again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Could not have asked for more. The warm welcome, clean room, huge bed and outstanding breakfast. The location is great (quiet but close enough to walk to the beach) and the views of the bay stunning. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevewain, Owner at Surf View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us even down to the bed:-)
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
855 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
895 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
4.5 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
447 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Smugglers Rest
The Smugglers Rest
#2 of 4 in Mortehoe
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf View Guest House

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Price Range: £68 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf View Guest House is family-run and situated in a lovely location overlooking Woolacombe's award-winning Blue Flag Beach with views across to Lundy Island. Just a 12 to 14 min walk through to the village and main beach. Why not visit our facebook page for further details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf View Guest House Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing