We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing supermarket grub”
Review of Sophias' Bistro - CLOSED

Sophias' Bistro
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: We DO NOT sell nor have ever claimed to sell authentic Spanish Tapas Dishes!
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing supermarket grub”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I went here with my husband for a birthday meal. (the reason i didn't complain).
I had the same Tesco multipack water that i paid £1.50 for, the food itself was extremely disappointing and I'm afraid tasted awful to the point where I couldn't eat it beyond a few mouthfuls.
It all seems to be bought and microwaved from Tesco in ifracombe, even the garlic bread, which was burnt! (one of the easiest things to make!)
Woolacombe has some lovely places to eat, i would avoid this place like the plague.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 293Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    7
    3
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff - Average Food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Staff were friendly and experience was good just a shame the food didn't live up to expectations, very average food at best, price was reasonable

Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love it - a favourite”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Gorgeous food, great selection and fun to try lots of different flavours. Good selection of drinks too. Nice atmosphere too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SKF1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over priced rubbish from tesco!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I was open minded and looking forward to dinner after visiting Woolacombe for the past 5 years but not eating here. I wish I hadn't bothered. The menu was poor and not at all authentic Spanish tapas. My girlfriend and I had a vegetarian sharing platter which was basically a meze starter and certainly not the amount of food I would expect for £23. Olives tasted cheap, vine leaves (very Spanish! ) were poor and bread was stale.
Drinks looked reasonably priced until you realised that the £1.50 still mineral water was in fact a bottle from a tesco multipack complete with label. 6 bottles for under £2! Our friends fared no better with large plates of chilli nachos (more crisps than chilli), chorizo in red wine (mainly cheap greasy bacon) and bbq chicken (dry and over priced).
Would I go back? Only for a refund! Save your money and head to an actual restaurant.

Helpful?
2 Thank Andy_Nash1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good family run restaurant in Woolacombe”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We ate at Sophia's on Saturday 5th April and enjoyed a lovely, reasonably priced meal. I ordered the stuffed vine leaves and greek salad and both were fresh and tasty. Hubby and son shared a £17 sharing platter which with a bread basket was plenty of food for two hungry males. The owners couldn't do enough for you and I would recommend to anyone visiting Woolacombe. The art work was great to look at whilst eating too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sophias' Bistro also viewed

 
Mortehoe, Woolacombe
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing