We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family run park :)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great family run park :)”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have been to this for 4 years on the trot now. I can honestly say that the guys who run this site really do make you feel welcome . We took our own tent and we just love the stunning sea views we wake up to and beautiful green surroundings. We really do just feel like we can relax here as we know if there was any problems they would be sorted . We stayed this year the first week in August and just know we will be back next year. From staff on reception, to the wonderful bar staff, kitchen staff , entertainment team (all of them ) and obviously the wonderful family who run it we have a great holiday. We love the walk to the beach too , very handy indeed

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarecox72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you Claire for such a lovely review.

We were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your camping stay in Avenue 10 again this year - and we were glad you decided to stay on a little longer!

We love welcoming you and your family, you are a pleasure to know.

We look forward to welcoming you again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    164
    43
    17
    5
See reviews for
582
130
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Second time we have visited and it just gets better the more familiar you are with the site.
As ever, the staff are very pleasant and easy to deal with, the Waney edge chalets are superb and the evening entertainment keeps the kids happy until bedtime.
I wouldn't hesitate to visit again and I'm sure things would be just as good next time.
10/10, Wooly!

Room Tip: Waney Edge chalets are excellent and the couple of hundred yard walk is easy and welcome excercise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review.

We were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the Waney Edge Chalets again Cliff, and how much you enjoy the short walk through the valley from the chalets to the main facilities.

We love our loyal customers here at Woolacombe Sands, hence the loyalty scheme discount cards, and we look forward to welcoming you in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

beautiful site, lovely sea views.
We camped and the pitces were well marked and easy to find. Nice quiet spot but plenty going on if you want it. Great to be able to walk to the beach (about 20 mins)
Well stocked shop
The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
We all had a lovely time.
would recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how you enjoyed our facilities and the walk to the beach.

We look forward to welcoming you in the very near future, and thank you for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed 9th August until 18th August in No;2 Waney Edge.
Family goup of Mum Dad kids aged 16,13,9 and Dog
Facilities second to none.Chalet or should i say Cottage well equipped and spotlessly clean.Furniture and Beds comfortable, views to die for.
Most dog friendly site i have ever been on, but as not to upset non-dog owners. Fantastic dog walk, dog friendly club and dog friendly staff.
Woolacombe a superb place. Clean beach and clean village. Nice walk from site to village and beach.
Only a couple of negatives.
Walk from Waney edge chalets to main holiday park a nightmare.
Option one is along a drive uphill, then down a grass slope, then go through a bit of a dumping area for old stuff from the site, down a gravelly, rubble track into the main site. I recommend at night you are equipped with a good torch.
Option two is to walk along the road which has no footpath or lighting on a very busy road.
Perhaps the site could equip the accommodation with rechargeable torches or install lighting along with half decent paths on the through park route.
Other negative was the lack of dog waste bins, unless in Devon dog waste is encouraged in normal waste bins
A big thanks to all the staff at woolacombe sands,and we will be back because there is so much to do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how much you enjoyed the Waney Edge Chalets again.

Thank you for your comments regarding the walk. We have now added torches to all the Waney Edge Chalets, and check the batteries each week. The area you have walked through is a cut through. To avoid this, you can walk through the valley. However, this area has been tidied now.

The dog waste bins are situated in the dog walk areas exercise areas, but we will look to add more.

We look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our pitch was good,we set up our tent etc, then we began to tour the site to see where different places were located like shops, swimming pool, the clubhouse etc. on the site there was plenty to do , a nice walk down to Woolacombe. The staff were friendly and very helpful,the entertainment staff were pleasing and did a good job. Bar staff were very helpful too . Overall our stay was better than expected. Prices were a bit steep though for food and alcohol .

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how clean and tidy you found our facilities at such a busy time of year.

Our prices are in line with all our competitors and locals bars and restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Upon booking woolicombe sands me and my bestfriends were most excited. We had spend a small fortune on camping gear to ensure we had the best items for the trip!
We traveled a long 6 hour journey in convoy only to turn up and our pitches were ready streight away which we were most pleased about!
The swiming pool was amazing with stunning veiws overlooking the countryside and cows which was nice to look at whilst worshiping the sun in the glorious weather. Although there was a slight niggle i would of found a small bar and snack hut sutiable for this area as i was parched and peckish at times whilst playingwith the kids. The night time entertainment was really good me and my besty especially enjoyed dancing to wooy bears song and playing bingo ! The bar was a little pricy especially for us young drinkers wanting a good time and a night feuled with booze !
Geoff was amazing he did a micheal bubble act and me snd my besty danced the night away with geoff ha !!
The shower blocks were brilliant they blasted the sand right off you when we had been bodyboarding at the beach always making us feel fresh and clean ! Overall a brilliant holiday in july and we will look forward to booking again next summer! Especially if it is to travel all that way for a cherry bakewell which were bad boy from the onsite shop.
Thank you woolicombe sands

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how clean and tidy you found our facilities at such a busy time of year.

We look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My boyfriend and I took his youngest two children to the site for 5 days between 12-16 August 2013. I have to say, I was a little apprehensive about the caravan we had booked, as there was very limited availability as we booked late and had to have a silver ocean view pet-friendly caravan. I took an unlimited supply of air and fabric freshener as I didn’t fancy putting up with the smell of damp dog all week. I needn’t have worried though, as the caravan did not smell of pets at all. It was in fact very nice and extremely well equipped. We particularly liked the fact that the shower was separate from the toilet, great when there are four of you. There were one or two tiny bits of damage, but most of that comes from people who don’t have any respect for things and have the mentality if they don’t own it, why should they take care of it. The carpet in the seated area of the caravan was rather tatty and could have done replacing, but I suspect it may have been covering a very well-worn laminate floor underneath. On the whole though, the caravan was perfectly fine, clean and comfortable. The site is kept spotless and it has a well-equipped shop and the evening entertainment was perfectly acceptable. The entertainments team certainly put their heart and soul in to what they do and the magician was very good also.

It was lovely to be able to walk down to the beach through the fields, but be warned there is no way you can walk back up there in the dark, you would certainly be taking your life in your hands as the path is a little uneven in parts and pitch black. We made that mistake one night and had to get a taxi, but it was only £4.00.

If you want to eat out in the evening and don’t mind a half hour drive, we can recommend The Thatch in Croyde. It does get busy, so you may have to wait for a table and it isn’t the cheapest place, but the food was excellent. Mortehoe also has some nice pubs and the food in the Old Mill just around the corner from the site also does good pub grub.

If you fancy a great day out, go to the Milky Way. We had a fun day and the family who own it have certainly got the right attitude when it comes to pricing. Get the voucher from the site Reception and you will get £1.50 off the price of each ticket - normally £12.50, which is a real bargain when you consider the price of most places. Everything is free once you pay your entrance fee, apart from the archery, but even that wasn’t over-priced. If you take your own food, there are places you can sit and eat inside and out as well.

It was a great holiday and Woolacombe and it’s wonderful beach are as nice as ever. We would definitely return to Woolacombe Sands, as it is in a beautiful position and there are plenty of things to do within easy reach. Obviously, we were lucky and the weather was on the whole very good, which is a bonus.

Room Tip: This very much depends on how much you are willing to pay and we all know, British seaside holidays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watty34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSHP, Owner at Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review, we were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay & how clean and tidy you found our facilities at such a busy time of year.

We look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
780 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
802 reviews
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
806 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
3.5 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park

Property: Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park
Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park offers you everything you could wish for from a Self-Catering family holiday. Set in the beautiful rolling coastal countryside with spectacular views overlooking the sea and Woolacombe's fabulous golden sands - one of the few beaches to achieve both the Blue Flag and Premier Resort awards - it's fun for all the family & we are the closest holiday park to the beach! Enjoy our indoor & outdoor heated swimming pools, or club with daily & nightly live entertainment, crazy golf, new children's park, football & basketball pitch, footpath to the beach & much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Hotel Woolacombe
Woolacombe Sands Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing