We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bitterly disappointed”
Review of Woolacombe Fryer

Woolacombe Fryer
Ranked #20 of 43 Restaurants in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: At the Woolacombe Fryer we pride ourselves in the Quality and Freshness of our products. We serve some of the finest Traditional Fish and Chips in North Devon
Restaurant details
Description: At the Woolacombe Fryer we pride ourselves in the Quality and Freshness of our products. We serve some of the finest Traditional Fish and Chips in North Devon
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bitterly disappointed”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Please note this review is in no way a reflection on the food served there as by the other reviews you can tell it's brilliant

However we recently went yo visit and was told that it would be shut between 2:30-5 and that they wouldn't be putting in anymore fish (we got in there about 2:10-2:15)

It says in the sign that it only stays open throughout in the full season. However we visited mid May and the sun was blaring and the day beautiful and we were very disappointed to not get our fish and chips on such a lovely day

Surely the owners would have known that on this particular day the demand would most certainly be there throughout?

As I said before the food is excellent but out recent experience because of the above circumstances left is disappointed

Helpful?
1 Thank Boshologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoseidonCaterersLTD, Owner at Woolacombe Fryer, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoy our product, but saddened that you were disappointed that we were not open. Without going into too much detail, it is not always possible to stay open during quiet times. Yes the sun was out but sadly not the volume of customers to match. Whilst we would love to stay open all day everyday to serve our customers, we just cant justify staying open to serve a handful of customers during these quite times. If you do decide to visit us in the future, may we suggest that you telephone us to ensure that we will be open on the day of your visit. Our website also has information regarding our opening times. Thanks, the team @ The Woolacombe Fryer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    70
    22
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rednal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant chip shop”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was looking forward to going to this chip shop after looking at previous reviews and I was not dissapointed.The Cod was delicious and a good portion of tasty chips looking forward to the next time

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank blueboyRednal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“worth queing”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Visited twice in the week whilst on holiday, we had cod once, haddock once both were freshly cooked and they tasted fantastic, the chips were lovely, we also bought pies and sausage from here and we had to queue for 45mins, it stretched out the door and up the street, it is obviously worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank barrie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply the best fish and chips ! ”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I have never had such good fish - light crispy batter and fresh chunky fillets of cod. The chips were really good too but I couldn't finish mine, too many with such large fish but not too much on their own. Woolacombe is now a must when in North Devon , crazy golf & woolacombe fryer!!

Helpful?
2 Thank pierremad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The BEST fish and chips EVER!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We visit Woolacombe regularly and just wanted to say that The Woolacombe Fryer serves the BEST fish and chips!!!!! The fish is sooooo fresh and the chips and light and fluffy. Always packed out with a queue...but well worth the wait!!!! I only wish we lived nearer as when I'm back home I can't eat fish and chips anywhere else...as nothing compares. Keep up the good work.

Helpful?
2 Thank shelley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woolacombe Fryer also viewed

 

Been to Woolacombe Fryer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing