We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We visited the hotel for a Christmas party organised by my husbands company. We arrived at 1.30 and our room was ready. We stayed in a suite (151) which was outside on the balcony area. This would have been fine in the summer but as it was raining we got wet! Maybe reception could of offered us an umbrella :)
The room its self was absolutely stunning and very modern. Everything was clean and immaculately presented. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and gave a good nights sleep. Once settled in we went down the Haven Spa and booked massages for later on in the day. These come at a very reasonable rate for the 2 of us and were a fantastic extra to treat ourselves to. The swimming pool was also gorgeous and had a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi to use.
The food at the evenings party was presented beautifully and tasted gorgeous. Considering they had alot of people to cater for everything came out hot.
The morning breakfast was buffet style although we were shown to our table and placed orders for toast. You could also make other requests to the waitress if you wanted poached eggs etc. The breakfast was hot and replenished frequently and tasted fantastic. I couldn't fault our stay here and would highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebraEwing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Debra, thank you for your kind comments about our hotel.
It is fabulous that you took advantage of the facilities we have on offer and that you enjoyed the food that was served at the Christmas do.
Your feedback on umbrellas for the three suites which are accessed via the outside atrium have been noted and will be addressed! We will look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Just to say thank you to all the staff that helped to make the Xmas party we attended on Saturday night go brilliantly. Considering the number being catered for the food was cooked nicely, served hot and presented well. A great time was had by us all as we danced the night away. For those that stayed the rooms were very clean and nicely presented. Happy Christmas.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank HeleValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Hele Valley - it was a pleasure to have you all with us for your Christmas party and we are really pleased that you had a great night. Look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Really lovely hotel...it has had a face lift since I was last there and it has bought it right up to date...if I was being picky the I only thing I could have a little moan about was the fact the wifi didn't work...3 generations of my family were there and we all had a great time! Looking forward to the next time!

Room Tip: For families we had room 302, a fab room with plenty of space for everyone and amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisapayne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and have good news regarding our wifi... in the New Year we are having a dedicated wifi area created and we are also having boosters in our rooms which we hope will dramatically increase the wifi signal. We will look forward to seeing you again soon at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Visited for one night b&b to celebrate a special birthday. I booked a superior double for one night b&b at £190 and expected something special. I can only say that I am glad I did not book a standard room. Ours (208) was very basic, small with no style or flair. The furniture was mismatched and tired and the hair dryer cable was not long enough to use in front of the mirror. It was impossible to open a window as they whistled alarmingly. We were faced with a choice of peace and quiet in stifling heat or fresh air and whining windows! Dinner in the Brasserie was lovely but Breakfast in Doyle's was lukewarm. Unfortunately the bar seems to have been designed by a manic depressive being uncomfortably dark with hard chairs and little atmosphere. The saving grace of our visit was the staff who were unfailingly polite, attentive and eager to please. Sadly this is not enough for us to either return or recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 715JAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Mrs B, thank you for taking the time to write a review - we are also very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your time with us. I can see that you booked online, and we always encourage our guests to call us direct as all of our rooms are very different. On the night you stayed with us we did have several luxury, individually styled rooms available and had we known that you didn't like the four poster you were in we would have moved you straight away.
When we know that the stay is for a special occasion, we always like to add that personal touch and do something a little special, so perhaps the next time you are planning to go away you will think of us and give us the chance to amend your views. With kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

If this hotel was half the price and didn’t claim to be an AA 4 star, then I probably wouldn’t be writing this. I can only say that Fawlty Towers springs to mind!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel entrance is quite grand when you walk in, but that is where it stops!
We requested a sea view room, which we were given, though a tad on the small side. As for the sea view ……… well yes and no. The view depends entirely on how you stand, either bent over or standing on tip toes….. why? Well some bright spark designed the upvc windows with the sash at eye level, so as you enter your hotel room the beach and sea are not visible, unless you are either very short or very tall. I guess if one squatted this would be good for toning the thighs and also standing on tip toes would be good for the calves, so maybe I’m being a little hasty here!
As for the most memorable part of the stay and not in a good way…. We had booked the 4 course dinner in Doyle’s dining room the night of arrival, though I was concerned that I wouldn’t be able to manage four course, how wrong was I? Each course was bordering on nouveau cuisine, the second course being a sorbet and that won’t fill you. I might add at this point that before we booked at the Woolacombe Bay hotel, we had narrowed our choice of hotels down to two. The deciding factor when we looked at each hotel’s menu was that I am an avid soufflé fan, whether savoury or sweet. The Woolacome hotel were offering a smoked cheese soufflé, with a coulis so that did it for me. I was really looking forward to this. We sat in the dining room in anticipation of the smoked cheese soufflé and suddenly there it was in front of me, well I nearly fell off my chair! I had been presented with what looked like a flattened omelette which wasn’t even in a dish and dried coulis (I think) on the side. My jaw dropped and I think the expression on my face said it all. The waitress apologised and said that it had looked fine 30 seconds before!!!! Faulty towers could not have beaten this. She offered to take it back but I was so shocked and couldn’t be bothered to wait again I numbly said, no it’s fine ( I can’t believe I said that). I continued to sit there, staring from my flattened omelette then to my husband and back to my omelette. Never in all my omelette, I mean soufflé days have I ever been presented with an excuse of an soufflé masquerading as an omelette. The waitress then returned, again apologising profusely and asked for me to choose something else. This time I did and chose a fish dish. It arrived almost immediately, so I can only gather that some poor guest was having to wait for his fish dish. This leads me onto portion size, all I can say is that we left the dining room still hungry! During our dinner (if you can call it that) that waitress returned again, still apologizing and said that the manager was very sorry about the omelette, oops I mean soufflé and would like to offer us a cheese board….. what? We declined. A little later the waitress returned again and this time the manager had said there would be no charge for our bottle of wine. We felt very sorry for the waitress as she had been left to deal with the omelette fiasco, at no time did the manager or the chef come out to us and apologize themselves. The soufflé/omelette should never, ever have left the kitchen! What is laughable is that in the menu there is a piece written by the chef who has supposedly worked there for 10 years, so it’s not like he doesn’t have the experience. So sadly the dinner we had been looking forward to was a huge disappointment, though we do laugh about it now, as you couldn’t have made this up if you tried. We have nicknamed this ‘soufflegate’ and has become quite a joke amongst our friends!
Breakfast was a reasonable choice. sadly the eggs are precooked and left to turn hard in a tray under a lamp, though kippers, smoked haddock, poached or boiled eggs can be ordered separately, but this is not offered by the waitresses and we only realized when we looked through the menu. In fact the second morning when realizing there are other choices I ordered the smoked haddock and although good, was 3 times the size of the fish I’d had at dinner the previous evening!
The dining room which is used for evening dinner and breakfast was not full of guests by any means, yet each time we were all herded and crammed to one end of the room. This was particularly annoying at breakfast, as clearly this is done for ease of staff and not paying guests. In between serving guests they are getting the empty tables ready for lunch. So what is written in their menu, that the hotel want their guest’s breakfast to be ‘a relaxed affair’, couldn’t be further from the truth, when guests have to put up with the rattling of crockery and cutlery when staff laying the other tables.
Bathrobes are not in the room but are available on request. This took two requests before I could get one.
The second most memorable fiasco was trying to find the swimming pool and lack of towels, soap and shampoo in the changing rooms. The corridors are poorly sign posted and trying to find the indoor swimming pool was certainly a challenge! Found other guests also trying to find the pool. After a number of aborted attempts the pool was eventually found. Upon finding the said swimming pool, there weren’t any towels and found that I needed a coin for the locker, neither of which I had, as I thought leaving money in my room would be the most sensible decision so off back to the room I went, trying to retrace steps and at least the room numbers were signposted. I decided to get changed in our room, this meant I had to walk through the hotel corridors in my hotel bathrobe trying to find the pool again. By the way bathrobes are not in the room, you have to ask for one, so after two attempts at calling housekeeping, two eventually arrived, better late than never I guess. Yet again trying to find the pool I went the wrong way and nearly gave up, then recognized some stairs and carried on. Eventually made it to the pool….. realized I had forgotten my towel, but couldn’t be bothered to go back to the room for a third time, so resigned myself to going back wet in my bathrobe, once showered in the changingroom, I looked in the shower, no toiletries, no shower gel, shampoo, soap, nothing! I thought of giving up on the idea of having a swim, but then thought that it had taken so much effort to get this far, I would just have to shower back in the room. Not ideal, but I was having to go back wet either way, so swim I did. I must say at this point, that the photo of the pool on their website makes the pool much larger than it actually is. I counted 15 strokes from one end to the other (length ways). I then spotted a therapist from the spa walking along the poolside and asked if she knew where I could get a towel from and also shower gel/shampoo. She came back with a towel and a sachet of something, so I carried on swimming. Thought I would finish off the swim with a session in the jacuzzi. Didn’t realize that they closed the Jacuzzi at 8pm and found it to be covered. However I had started my swim before then and didn’t see anyone closing the Jacuzzi, so clearly had been covered over much earlier! Thinking I might get my shower in the changing room after all, I then looked at the satchet the therapist had given me and it was body polish, so that wasn’t going to do anything for my hair, so back to my room for a shower, dripping all the way back to our room – delightful!
Other irritating points are - mobile phone and wi-fi signals inconsistent, very poor. Took ages to find a spot, sitting outside on the balcony, was the best. Apparently the best spot is next to reception, now what a surprise!! Irritating omissions….. no shower cap in room, thankfully I had taken my own, only a conditioning shampoo, no conditioner.
Radiator didn’t work in the bathroom. I reported this and was told they would send someone to fix it, this didn’t happen.
The first night we were there we went to the Information desk which is adjacent to the Reception desk, asked if they had any local information of things to see and do. We were told they only 3 leaflets but were not local to the area and would cost £1 each! What!! We had wanted to plan our next day that evening but couldn’t, as the Information desk doesn’t hold any useful information whatsoever. So we had to visit the Tourist Information the following morning, who I might add, were absolutely delightful and so very helpful.
The TV is a good size, but only 10 channels! There was a decent sized mirror which was opposite the pseudo ‘sea/beach view’ (if you duck) window. However, as the sun goes with the reflection from the mirror you get blinded both ways, so best to wear sunglasses in the room, or close the curtains, which defeats the object of the sea/beach view (if you duck) when squatting or standing on tip toes, or face the walls at right angles to the beach/sea view window or mirrored wall.
On the plus side, there were tea/coffee making supplies, hairdryer, iron, small ironing board and small safe at least. However would we stay at the Woolacombe Bay Hotel again? Well that’s a resounding - NEVER!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

It is a shame that you have not returned our call since you wrote this damaging review so we could have discussed it personally.
We agree that your souffle should never have left the kitchen.
We do not agree that the pool is hard to find - had you asked at reception, one of our porters would have shown you the way.
We do have bathrobes in our luxury rooms.
We do not charge £1 for leaflets.
We absolutely agree with your final sentence.......
Good luck in finding a better sea view than we have here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at the bay for 3nights for the other halfs 50th birthday ,had a sea view room with balcony,which was superb with great views.breakfast was faultless and service was just the same.As a family of 3 the hotel had everything we needed!!!!really is a lovely hotel which woolacombe should be proud of.As been coming to woolacombe for years and never stayed here,does not disappoint.!!---andy f...worcestershire

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Andy F, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that your wife's birthday celebrations went well. Thank you also for pointing out our sea view balcony rooms have great views! We will look forward to welcoming you again soon at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at the Woolacombe bay hotel for two nights to celebrate our wedding with our two young children! The service, the detail, the friendliness of the staff and the child friendliness of the hotel led to the best possible wedding we could have ever wished for! Initially thinking we would not be able to afford a hotel like this as our venue, the staff were happy to work with us to accommodate our budget but still delivered 100% on quality. Every member of staff could not do enough for us, helping to make our special day perfect in every way! The details for the children were second to none and having a play area available whilst eating our wedding breakfast was an absolute treat! The bistro food was delicious and the accommodation was beautiful with stunning views across the bay! Thank you so much xxx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeahPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Leah, we are so pleased that you had a fabulous wedding with us and that you enjoyed the day just as much as you should have. We are always happy to work to budgets, and provide the best entertainment for the children we can so that you can enjoy some well deserved adult time! We will look forward to seeing you next year on your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
897 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,823 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range: £157 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing