We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

this is a fantastic hotel whose staff all smile and are genuinely happy to be there ,the food in the bar is excellent the service was what you would expect from a hotel of this standard ,rooms are just fab and comfy, bathrooms have showers to BE PROUD OF ,all lovely and warm cosy and welcoming.
breakfast served in the stunning dining room with style to grace any resort lovely fresh food made by professionals
this is my 3rd visit all have been wonderful

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Kevin thank you for your great review - our staff are all happy to be here and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the team and we will look forward to seeing you again at the hotel - maybe next time on pleasure so you have a chance to enjoy the rest of the facilities we have on offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just returned from The Woolacombe bay hotel for the 5th time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The Staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. There is plenty to do and have never not been able to use any of the facilities. The childrens play ground could do with a bit of updating and some swings for the toddlers. The rooms are large, clean and the double bed is big enough to get lost in. The pitch and putt is good fun and you can play as many times as you like for free! The location is superb with a 5 minute walk to the beach and beautiful views looking over the sea and over the Devon countryside. We can not wait to return to The Woolacombe bay hotel. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWalker45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel - we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to welcoming you here for your sixth visit!
In the meantime just to let you know the children's playground area is being completely refurbished within the next few weeks, just in time for the glorious summer months ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at the Woolacombe bay in November when we attended a family wedding at the hotel. We had a 2 night stay from the Friday afternoon through to the Sunday afternoon.

The hotel itself was very nice. It was the perfect place to host a large wedding. The downstairs areas were nicely decorated and of a high quality. There were two lounge areas with plenty of seating and have views out towards the sea. We drank in the bar which had open fires and was reasonably priced. We ate in the brasserie on the Friday evening which again was reasonably priced and the food was nice. Breakfast was taken in the main restaurant and was table service for coffee, tea and toast and a buffet style hot and continental breakfast. The breakfast was delicious and again the views from the restaurant were wonderful!

The rooms appeared to be of a mixed review. Obviously being in a large party of wedding goers the rooms were mainly booked out for the wedding party. The loft which is the bridal suite is absolutely beautiful! It appears that rooms were being updated as some rooms were modern and fabulous however some were slightly outdated though clean and comfortable. Our room was an inter linking family room which was very large. There was a lot of room and we did not feel cramped at all. We had an large and modern bathroom and the beds were very comfortable. Our room was one of the more out dated rooms and we did feel that it was a little over priced for the style.
On site there is a swimming pool and spa. There is a beautiful outdoor pool though it was closed in November. We did use the pool and I managed to fit in a Swedish massage which was wonderfully relaxing. The spa is most definitely worth a visit.

In all a lovely hotel with a perfect location which when completely updated will be well worth the money for the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursess79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is great that you enjoyed the wedding and had the time to eat in our Bay Brasserie.
We agree that all of our rooms are very different - many have been refurbished which include the majority of our Luxury Sea Views, some Sea Views and some Classics also which is why we always ask guests to call us when booking so that we can put them in the best rooms for their budget. We will look forward to seeing you again at the hotel - hopefully when the outdoor pool is open in the summer months!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Traditional and excellent, many visits all good. Nice restaurant, nice bar, good facilities inside and out. Friendly, consistent (I have been 7 times) and a firm favourite. Quiet in spring and autumn, buzzing in summer

Room Tip: you want a front balcony room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Many thanks Martin for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoy the facilities that we have here will look forward to seeing you for your eighth visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have stayed here many times on family holidays with my parents and have now returned with my own family some years on! Customer service was great resolving an issue moving us to a different room & allowing us to have the most enjoyable break with great memories. I booked a treatment in the spa which was great again the staff were very helpful and the pool & changing rooms were always clean and warm! The Brasserie & Doyles staff could not have been more helpful or friendly and really made our stay extra special for both us and our 2 year old. We will be returning again & again. Just looking to book again which reminded me to recommend this great family hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your great review - it is always good to hear that any issues were resolved straight away and that you enjoyed your time with us.
We will pass on your comments to our therapists and would like to say how proud we are of them - always getting great feedback on the treatments they provide.
We will look forward to seeing you and your family again soon at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Christmas and New Year at 'The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 2013, was a truly wonderful experience.
The elegance and style of the hotel never fails to impress and at Christmas time it was transformed into a rich chocolate box of festive delights. The party atmosphere on Christmas Eve and New Years Eve was enjoyed by the youngest and the eldest guests alike, making it a warm and welcoming place to bring all the family at this very special time of year.
It is very difficult to describe the atmosphere in the hotel but we believe the attentive, friendly staff and beautiful location were key to making it a very special place to stay. As a growing family of five, with three very active boys, we are never disappointed but we all agree that Christmas and New Year held a special kind of magic that will bring us back again and again.
The facilities inside the hotel allowed the children to be as active as they wished making full use of the swimming pool, table tennis and pool table, while my husband and I took some time out in the well equipped adult gym and the luxurious health spa. The hotel overlooked the magnificent beach of Woolacombe set in beautiful gardens and providing a pitch and putt golf course as well as an adventure playground for the children - perfect for all the family to enjoy the great outdoors.
When we managed to tear ourselves away form the hotel we explored the rugged coast line making our own great adventures on the beach and in the extensive woodlands.
Our only regret is that time passed so quickly when we were there and we felt very sad when it was time to say goodbye to all the staff and friends that we have made over the years. We always promise the boys that we will return soon and look forward to our next visit with excitement.

Room Tip: Having stayed in double rooms and family rooms throughout the hotel we can say with confidence that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth-runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Ruth - we are truly lost for words and can only express our gratitude for your amazing review. This is exactly what we strive for at the Woolacombe Bay and when we get feedback like yours it makes all of our efforts and hard work worthwhile!
We will very much look forward to seeing you and your boys again soon - perhaps for a summer stay so that you can enjoy our fantastic beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Woolacombe Bay Appts for a 4 night Xmas break, which was lovely. The appt was nice and clean and lovely and warm on arrival. We had Xmas Eve dinner and Xmas Day lunch in the hotel, which was very good, excellent entertainment on Xmas Eve, (the singing waiters), brill, you need to book them for next year! Food and staff all excellent, it has been extensively refurbished since we were last there, and looks absolutely lovely. Real credit to them. Plus we can now take our dogs into the bay brasserie for a coffee and cream tea, which is excellent, as it has a stone floor (which is underfloor heated), which impressed our 2 dogs, they promptly fell asleep under the table. Weather not good, but what can you expect at this time of year I guess. All in all an excellent Xmas break, well done everyone.

Room Tip: Woolacombe Court Appts very comfortable, especially the ones with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Joy, thank you for taking the time to write a review on your Christmas break with us in our apartments. We are very happy that you enjoyed the entertainment we had on - the singing waiters were very popular as we have nothing but compliments!
We are very pleased that your furry friends took advantage of the underfloor heating in the Brasserie and will look forward to welcoming you all again soon. Apologies for the weather - maybe you could find the time to come back and see us in the Spring when the sun is shining!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range: £158 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing