We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Daughter had wedding reception here 10 May and we could not have made a better choice for our venue. The day went like clockwork, minor issues were sorted in a flash, and Adrian and his staff were brilliant throughout, from planning to execution. Would highly recommend. We stayed at the hotel both the Saturday and Sunday night, as did many of our guests. The rooms and breakfast were of excellent quality as was the meal we had in the Brasserie on the Sunday night. If you are looking for a class act in a beautiful location and excellent customer service then look no further. Brian & Mandy Hockin.

Room Tip: We had superior sea facing rooms which were excellent but all guests commented on the good quality o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianhockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Hockin,
Thank you for your great review regarding your daughters wedding - we are over the moon that the day and weekend was enjoyed by all and that you also had the opportunity to eat with us in our Brasserie during your time with us.
We will look forward to seeing you again, and also welcoming your daughter and son-in-law back for their anniversary next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Came down to Woolacombe looking for somewhere to stay after being in Ilfracombe for a few days, could not have asked for anything better. Great staff, wonderful room (202) overlooking the sea and lots of great facilities to use. The only disappointment was not being able to use the lido which does not open until the end of the month, which also looked wonderful. Great food including breakfast and also at the bistro which is less formal than evening dining in the hotel. Also had a treatment at the spa, which was wonderful and again staff very helpful. A special mention to Brian and Elsie who run the kiosk for the pitch and putt, a great couple. Look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute after deciding in the morning to drive down to Devon from South Wales .
I called the hotel and although they were almost fully booked , one room left.
Very friendly reception on arrival. Room very clean and modern, everything we needed in the room and a great big bath. Evening meal we had the taster menu and it was delicious .
What a beautiful setting right on the beach, lovely ground and the pool was very clean .
We can't wait to visit again when the weather is better and USA the lovely looking outdoor pool.
We would highly recommend a visit to breathe in the sea air and relax at a great hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bessywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just spent five nights at this beautiful hotel to celebrate my partners fiftieth birthday. We had book purely based on the website. We were not disappointed. Lovely view from room 102 amazed by number of people surfing dispute chilly weather. Room lovely food and service and staff great. An ideal location for visiting North Devon. Already looking at booking for next year.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Although only staying one night for a wedding we had a really nice time. The room at £100 wasn't sea facing but it was big enough, with large windows and a comfy bed. The bathroom was well decorated with a decent shower, fluffy towels and free toiletries. There was a tea and coffee tray including hot chocolate and cafetiere coffee but no biscuits!!
Breakfast the next morning was excellent - a good selection of cereals, pastries, youghurts, ham and cheese, fruit juices and a hot breakfast buffet that was replenished frequently with butchers sausages, delicious scarmbled eggs and even pancakes!
The service was excellent and the check in and check out a slick operation.
Even though very close to us I would be very tempted to go back for a spa break as there is a spa, indoor and outdoor swimming pool.
The only downside was the rooms and corridors were a little hot and the place is a bit of a rabbit warren with lots of stairs and corridors - fine for most people but a pregnant lady carrying a suitcase got a bit puffed out and it took the slightly tipsy other half quite a while to navigate his way back to our room after the party had ended.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on the road side. It was very windy the night we were there and the flag poles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank averillj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just got back from having a lovely Wedding reception and the staff and Hotel was amazing.Food great, views brilliant and will be going back again.I would recommend this Hotel to everyone. Thanks again for a great stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have just spent the bank holiday -7th in a classic Sea view room. I have to say when it comes to hotels I'm very fussy, I have enjoyed staying at several hotels in Dubai and thought not many would live up to my expectations BUT OH MY GOD - Woolacombe Bay Hotel is Stunning! Inside and very beautiful outside too - Great location!

The Staff were VERY friendly and helpful. Always greeted with a smile.

The Hotel inside is beautiful and nice refurbishment (although I think the childrens room could do with a little more colour) - other than that I think everything was PERFECT!

We enjoyed eating in both restaurants but preferred the brasserie as it's a bit less formal and not 'overly posh'. Breakfasts, spa was very relaxing and very well kept we loved all the facilities, just could not get enough.

Will most certainly be coming back again! :D

Room Tip: Balcony room's are WELL WORTH IT - room 307 is slightly noisy, birds in roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Umarzai F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
903 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,834 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,631 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
640 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range: £157 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, HRS, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing