We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over 10 stays to date and still excellent value & service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Over 10 stays to date and still excellent value & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just returned from a long weekend break at the Woolacombe Bay Hotel. I have stayed here more than 10 times over the last 8 years and I still really look forward to returning to this super venue.

Normally we are a family enjoying either the hotel or one of their apartments set 100yds or so behind the main building. But this visit was as a single enjoying a relaxing break to re-charge. I love the friendly and relaxed atmosphere of the place and what is very noticeable is the constant re-investment in upgrading the rooms, public areas and adding new facilities. Both the hotel and it's grounds are kept very well and the level of service is efficient but not in your face which I like.

I think it suits all types of visitors, families, couples, solos or small groups wanting to enjoy the lovely setting and atmosphere of Woolacombe, and of course it's expansive and fabulous beach less than 100mtrs away. It also makes for a super venue for a wedding or special family occasion.

There's a choice of venues for eating providing a wide selection of quality food and an ample hot and cold buffet for breakfast.

We certainly will be returning again and can only suggest you give it a try and see for yourself.

Room Tip: Would always suggest you pay a little extra for a sea view. A few of the balcony rooms are above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    217
    92
    38
    19
See reviews for
277
290
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is located right on the beach. The rooms overlook the beach and ocean and at night you go to sleep lulled by the waves and in the morning wake to the sound of seagulls. Pure magic. There is so much to see and do from walking on the beach, playing pitch and putt to relaxing by the pool or being pampered in the spa.
Perfect holiday in the perfect location

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbieBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just come back from a lovely week in woolacombe weather couldn't have been better sunshine every day. We stayed in self catering pickwick house( near the hotel).First of all,Hannah from the reception desk was very helpful and polite.We did arrive early but kindly let us park the car and able to used the outside pool which is excellent .The brasserie is amazing set up and it's staff were very polite served the food with a smile nothing to much trouble.
We did used the inside swimming pool and sauna which again is excellent and clean.The location of the hotel is superb with the mini golf course and tennis court nearby.The wonderful sandy beach is only few minutes walk and allowed to take the dogs(left hand side of the beach) all year round.
Highly recommended and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our daughter's wedding ceremony, wedding breakfast, and evening 'do' was made so special by all at the hotel. Adrian, Sharon and staff could not have been more helpful, and went the extra mile to ensure that everything ran smoothly. We stayed at the hotel from Friday to Sunday and from our initial meeting with Adrian, to checking out, everything was spot on. The staff are friendly and efficient, the atmosphere is wonderful and the decor is pristine. The Bride/Groom and ourselves were guided seamlessly through the whole process, and the staff were in the background constantly to ensure help was there if needed. The food.... was incredible, and the guests kept asking what the sauce was on the chicken because it was so lush! The portion sizes were more than generous, and the presentation was second to none, I can't praise the food enough. The evening food was Hog roast, and there was more than enough for all the guest to pile their plates high, superb.

When we told people where the wedding was to be held, most assumed it was overly expensive, but what we found was that you get what you pay for and more, and there are no sneaky 'extras' added on, which is what we found happened at other wedding venues. I can't recommend the Woolacombe Bay highly enough for a wedding. Have a chat with Adrian, and you'll see it's worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tez17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked last minute after my husband was signed off this week following a major op & my son finished his exams & we got the last room in the hotel. Our room was a suite - a double & twin with a shared bathroom & a small sitting room. Personally I would have preferred the small sitting room to have been a second bathroom, as we didn't use it to sit in, as it felt quite cramped & dark. Unfortunately our rooms were on the side of the hotel that is adjacent to the road, with a couple of bars & takeaways on it. It was a very warm evening so we had to have all the bedroom windows open & we hadn't anticipated the constant noise from the bars & smell of takeaways. I convinced myself that come midnight, all would be quiet. Sadly I was wrong & the shouting & loud conversations beneath our bedrooms (we were on the first floor) kept us awake until just before 4am, when folk finally decided it was time for bed. We mentioned this to the manager when we checked out, who sympathised but said this was out of their control. My husband suggested air conditioning for the affected rooms would be a good idea, so windows could be kept shut, but was told this would be too expensive. This was a real shame as the setting is superb, the food in the brasserie excellent, staff very friendly, hotel clean & despite being fully booked didn't feel crowded. Our teenage boys thoroughly enjoyed the lido & the "fresh-air gym" and having the beach just a stones throw away was the icing on the cake. We would hope to come again but not if it means staying on that side of the hotel. The suite was £272 for the one night bed & breakfast & when everyone's awake most of the night due to noise, that make's it an expensive breakfast! I feel the price of the suite should reflect it's position in the hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure if it's just the suites on the side of the hotel, with the road, so check when you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenbear5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Woolacombe Bay Hotel for three nights from 15 th to the 18 June and the location of the hotel and the views must rank as some of the best in the UK. The staff were polite, efficient and made you feel a valued customer. The food in both restaurants was very good and reasonably priced.
I would have ranked this hotel higher but for two problems. The hotel had a wonderful lawned area with excellent seats but service from the hotel in this area was non existent.
Additionally we booked a sea view room and whilst the view from half the window was superb the other half was blocked by the overhang from adjacent rooms which were further forward.

Room Tip: If you book a sea view room do not have room 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John886809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We held our wedding reception here on the 10th May and couldn't have been happier with how the day unfolded. Everything ran so smoothly, even changes made during the day due to the weather, which wasn’t the kindest. I'm sure the main reason for this was the brilliant Events Manager, Adrian. Having booked the venue over a year ago we had already got to know Adrian well and his friendly nature, hard working ethic and attention to detail at previous meetings gave us great confidence that everything was in hand for our big day. Any problems that occurred on the day, we weren’t aware of, which is exactly how it should be on your wedding day.

All the staff over the weekend were so welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. Must also give a special mention to Sharon & Sam

(office) for all their hard work in the lead up to our wedding and the Master of ceremonies 'Ray' who as well as lending encouraging comments to the speech makers, worked tirelessly to ensure all guests were feed, watered and in the right place at the right time.

The food was delicious and there was plenty of it. We opted for the gala buffet for our wedding breakfast, of which there was a lot of choice. We had a buffet in the evening, of which all was eaten. Everyone commented how much they enjoyed it.

The Lancaster Suite is a beautiful ballroom that does its job best when there is a lot of people to cater for. We had two big families coming together so it was perfect for us, both for the day and evening. The room upstairs from the suite, before the lounge, is perfect for the guests who prefer it a bit quieter, and like to look on at what is going on.

All in all our experience of using Woolacombe Bay Hotel is a hugely positive and memorable one. We haven’t even mentioned the rooms, breakfast and our evening meal on the Sunday at the Brasserie. All of which were first class.

In recommending the hotel to an engaged couple, whether local or not, I would not hesitate to recommend the Bay. It really is a true credit to North Devon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
3.3 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Property: The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing