We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devon holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel which has been refurbished to a high standard. We were very lucky to have scorching weather so our third floor room was a bit hot - but the sea view was lovely.
We ate in Doyles and also the Brasserie - perfectly good but the choice was a bit limited with no big distinction between menus. We also ate in a numbering of local places so there was plenty of choice.
The garden and pool area was fabulous and close to the beach via a private oath. We enjoyed fantastic service and Anna was lovely brining us food and drink whilst we enjoyed the sun in the garden. This is an idyllic place for families with lots of simple pleasures to be enjoyed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Carolf46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel has a wonderful location and substantial grounds.Our reservation was for 2 weeks and we asked for a luxury room with balcony,The room did not live up to our expectations,old furniture wooden floor and austere feel.The restaurant has a set menu each evening with a special option but as we stayed for 14 days it became very repetitive.However staff were fantastic although very slow service.Overall a good hotel but let down by the restaurant and our bedroom which i had to ask for it to be cleaned thoroughly after 10 days and it wasn't so I endured the last few days and cleaned it myself. However the linen was spotless and bed was changed often.It is a shame about our stay as the location is perfect and the beach amazing.we are not sure whether to return but it is a shame as the staff were attentive and courteous .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the WBH last week and the service was second to none. Every single member of staff was friendly and helpful. The Bistro is great, location perfect, rooms well appointed (though a proper laptop friendly safe in the room and fridge would be welcome). Outdoor pool, indoor pool, tennis, pitch and put, table tennis, squash, spa - what more could you ask for? Its not cheap, but it is very good!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We recently stayed in a lovely see view, balcony room and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean, spacious, lovely bathroom and a very comfy large bed. Breakfast was lovely, great service and a good choice of food. Nice indoor pool. Shame the weather wasn't better as we didn't get to use the outdoor pool. Great service and helpful staff. We ate in the brasserie and the food was good, service excellent. We have stayed before and ate in the restaurant and really enjoyed it.

I am usually quite critical but I couldn't fault the room!! Pricey but well worth it for a luxury stay. My three year old also had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We picked this hotel at Woolacombe bay because of its proximity to the beach as well as the fact that there's an outdoor and indoor pool. We weren't disappointed. Its situated a short walk to the beach and the outdoor pool is excellent. We booked last minute and as a result needed to change rooms after the first night to move into a suite which was our preference. The Lundy suite was a little basic in terms of decor but had everything we needed. The breakfast was great and there were enough options for all and the staff are very relaxed about catering to children (there's also a kids meal time in the restaurant between 5-5:30).

The only negatives I would comment on are the very limited room service menu (one reason to book a suite is to be able to order room service while the kids are sleeping), rooms don't have air-conditioning which means you need windows open so not great on a Saturday night if you are facing the street like we were, and as someone mentioned before no bar fridges in the room so if you need this with small children best to organise in advance.

But otherwise, it's a good place to stay and we'd not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 days last week with my family. We had a family room (room 200) which was perfect for us and it had the main room with our double bed, tv, tea coffee etc and then a room with bunk beds and a single bed then the good sized bathroom. This room has clearly been refurbished recently, as has much of the hotel and grounds, and we had no complaints at all. One small downside is that if the Great British weather surprises you and actually provides fantastic sunshine, as it did for us, then the room can get a bit warm. The hotel quickly brought up two portable fans for us when we asked.
As I mentioned, the hotel has clearly had some considerable money spent on refurbishment in recent months; the excellent outdoor pool is beautifully clean and is maintained throughout the day by attentive staff, the pool bar could offer a wider range of drinks but the staff are happy to deliver from the Bar / Brasserie. We didn't make use of the indoor pool or Spa but these also looked very smart and clean.
The hotel has lots to offer with complimentary pitch & putt golf, tennis courts, indoor and outdoor pools, spa and two squash courts but the best thing about this hotel is the staff. Joanna & Hannah on reception were both excellent along with one other whose name I did not get but also Tom in the bar. All the staff are friendly and efficient, polite and helpful. At no point did I ever feel that any of the staff had anything other than the interests of the guests at heart.
You might want to get to the pool early as it can be hard to get a sunbed later in the morning.
If you are planning a stay in Woolacombe then I cant imagine anywhere better than The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, it isn't cheap but it is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christhewino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I visited the WBH last weekend, £160.00 per night but the room was not available until 4pm and we had to vacate by 11 am, not even 24 hours. when I asked why the receptionist shrugged her shoulders, not sure if I caught her on a bad day but I was not impressed by this. No fridge in the room. We ate at the hotel and I must say the food does not match the hotel. The quality was poor, food was cold and not good value for money, although the food was not charged to our room due to our complaint this was still a big disappointment. There is a nice ambience at the hotel it's just a shame that the food and front of house staff do not match. I wouldn't choose to stay here again purely because of the staff's attitude and quality of food, it needs to come as a package and unfortunately it didn't.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Ladymalpas1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
906 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,870 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
123 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
9.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range: £158 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing