We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This hotel offers great accommodation, food and facilities. The staff were all very polite and attentive, and reception helpful at all times. The hotel has an array of things to do- table tennis, pool, pitch and putt, indoor and outdoor swimming, hot tub and steam room. We ate in both restaurants and had very good food in both. Doyles was quieter and more relaxed than the Brasserie.
We could find no fault in this hotel at all- a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The road down the side of the hotel is noisy with delivery vans in the morning. I would suggest a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank caroline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location. However i was disappointed with the customer service. We paid £600 for a 2 night stay. There was no fridge in the room so my partner asked at the bar for some ice and they said there was a £2.00 charge for ice. I thought this was ridicouls after the amount we had paid to stay there !!!! There is a lovely outside pool however this was full of children so we ended up going in the inside pool which was a shame as it was a lovely day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Metoyou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is a difficult hotel to review.
It is just 3-4 minutes to one of the best beaches in the UK, at the end of a huge lawn that incorporates a 9 hole pitch and put course. Has a modern outdoor lido with pool and jacuzzi. Also an indoor pool and games. Two restaurants, big public rooms and a very nice English breakfast - though a poor continental one. Has a daily children's programme (at least in August) and is popular with families.
The negative is the bedroom. We had a room with balcony and sea view. Unfortunately, the room itself was poor. Clean, modern yet quite small. No bedside lights - not even outlets to accommodate such lights. Thank goodness for the balcony.
Expected more for over £200 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jeturner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoolacombeBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Jeturner, thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our location and facilities but are obviously concerned that you were disappointed with your sea view balcony room. These are indeed average sized doubles and rather than having bedside lamps they have spotlights in the ceiling which are operated by switches on the bedside tables.
We have taken recent guest feedback on board and have decided that in 2015 our sea view balcony rooms will be in the same price bracket as our sea view rooms.
As you know we were full when you were here and therefore unable to move you to a different room, for which we apologise. We hope that this will not prevent you coming back to the hotel again so that we can allocate a more suitable room for your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband booked a very expensive sea view room for my birthday for 2 nights and it was a massive let down. Looking at their website and given the budget busting cost of over £450 for 2 nights, you'd forgive anyone for thinking they were going to have a luxurious weekend. The rooms were basic at best. 90's decor, beige bath room suite, no fridge, small double bed, small room, cheap looking furniture. We could hear the room above us and next door very clearly. I have to admit it was a huge let down.

I can see that this is probably a great place for families, lots of facilities to keep eveyone entertained, For couples looking for a romantic get away....not so good.

Having said that, the view was stunning, the staff very friendly and the food very good.

But....we don't plan on going back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The luxury sea view room was a good choice for our special anniversary break although rather expensive. Friendly staff, good breakfast and convenient parking. Would recommend Doyle's for fantastic food.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my wife in may. Fantastic service, lovely room and breakfast to die for!! We used the pool facilities which are great. With it bei g in the heart of Woolacombe its location is perfect. Wish icould stay here more often!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank gwarme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My fiancé and I spent four days in the hotels newly refurbished loft. It was decorated to a high standard and had a huge oak bed, which was placed in front of the French doors that opened on to a balcony with a fabulous view. The service and the food are top class, it should have five stars. I phoned up and explained that we had just had to cancel a holiday to Italy. Sarah took my call and was so professional as well as being sympathetic and kind. Sarah helped me arrange this stay at short notice as my fiancé Ange was very ill, Ange absolutely loved it. I will be forever grateful as she has now after a long illness passed away and it made her so so happy. I highly recommend this hotel and the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,795 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
2.5 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolacombe Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

Address: South Street, Woolacombe EX34 7BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range: £158 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much of the Hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated into the existing Woolacombe accommodation. We place high value on our staff. Trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Woolacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolacombe Bay Hotel
Bay Woolacombe
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing