We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Watersmeet Hotel(Woolacombe)
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$368
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fortescue Arms(Woolacombe)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Westwell Hall(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveller rating
99
232
197
129
181
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
232
197
129
181
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach tripsnooker roomtea and coffeebit datedenjoyable staybed and breakfastgreat weekendnorth devonevening entertainmentfantastic views
Filter
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 838 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

After reading some of the reviews on here, if im honest was a little worried about our weekend away. Well how wrong could I be. Yes maybe it is a little dated and maybe a little tlc wouldnt be missed but that is part of the character. The room was nice with a sea view. The staff were friendly and efficient. Tje food in the restaurant for 12 quid for 3 courses cant go wrong. The entertainment on fri night was a great female singer. All I can say is that for the money spent it was a great value for money weekend away. Not 5☆ but then if you want that go and pay there prices. Will be back

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Went to the royal hotel for the New Year with friends on a coach trip organised by David Urquart.
What a super few days it was. The food at the hotel was excellent as was the entertainment in the evenings, with different entertainers on each of the three nights we were there. The rooms we had were family rooms so quite large. The decor was okay (not fantastic) but the beds were comfortable. The drinks in the hotel bar a bit pricey but that was our only complaint. The hotel is on the hill out of Woolacombe and so is a short walk down to the glorious beach and shops. Would I do it again, most definitely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

the staff food and entertainment were very good cannot fault it. We went in a group and had a great new years eve. Our room was extremely spacious clean and warm with a large comfy bed only downfall is the hotel is in desperate need of updating the bedrooms and bathrooms are very tired shower was a bit of a nightmare. However it has not put me off staying again in the future because the price we paid was of good value

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loulou6521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at this North Devon hotel for 3 nights as part of a New Years Eve coach trip. It was the first time my wife and I have done anything like this over the Christmas period and we thoroughly enjoyed it, as did our friends who we went with. The hotel is on a hill a short 5 minute walk to the magnificent Woolacombe beach so be prepared for the walk back.The boys and girls in the dining room, the reception staff and the bar staff were all excellent. The food was great, full English breakfast, cereals etc, lunch and dinner with 3 or 4 choices (including a vegetarian choice) and salads if you didn’t fancy the vegetables etc. A huge, and I mean huge, selection of fruit and sweets were always available at the reception. Entertainment (3 different acts) were laid on for the 3 nights in the Tudor bar with dancing and was very good though the real ale was a little expensive but tasty and well kept.
If you’re looking for 5* this isn’t the hotel for you. You get what you pay for. However, the reception area, quiet rooms, Tudor bar and dining room are fine, clean, and well presented. As far as the rooms go, I can only quote the ground floor rooms; they are a little tired with squeaky floorboards and sound insulation is not great. However, the rooms were warm and clean. So, if you are going for a fun time this is the place to go.

Room Tip: I can only quote first floor. Even number rooms have a balcony and sea views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tonyandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just back from our coach break here, we a large front facing room which had a side sea view on the second floor with a balcony, but due to the weather we did not use, the room was warm and comfortable with tea & coffee making faclilties and a very large double bed (king size) which was very comforable for a good nights sleep, and also a single bed.

The Hotel it's self stands on an exposed elevated position a few hundred yards from Woolacombe Beach and is subject to some very bad weather conditions (sea spray and winds from over the sea) which is probably why some of the reviews here say that this hotel looks run down, with the wind and rain that we experienced whilst we were here, no wonder!!.it certainly takes a battering.

We found the public areas here clean and nicely decorated, the restruarant is of self service nature for breakfast & evening meals with a nice selection of cereals, fruit juice,tea, coffee eggs bacon susages etc etc for breakfast, and for dinner again a selection of dishes to suit all tastes

The entertaiment in the evening is quite good here with a game of Bingo one night and guest singers to keep you entertained in the evening, there is a well stocked bar as well. Newspapers are on sale every morning, so do'nt go rushing down to the local shops in the mornings, it's quite a climb back up to the hotel

We had a couple of days out, all day to Lynmouth and via Porlock Hill to Minehead and half a day to Ilfacombe, as there is not much in Woolacombe expect a huge sandy beach, lovely on a nice summers day, but not in the middle of winter

Would we return to this location the answer is yes

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jontey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews