We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outdated and old”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Reviewed 24 March 2014

went with skittle ladies.wasnt expecting much as it is a budget hotel.would never go there again dowdy,outdated,musty smell as furniture so old.not that clean either.miserable staff.but i will say,food was nice and sheets were clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshbrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Travelled with friends as a single person and following E Mail request for adjacent rooms with sea view if possible was pleasantly surprised on arrival to find request had been fulfilled.

My single room was adequate,and much better than some I had experienced,but others had been an improvement on this, but for the price paid on a package with Urquart it met my expectations,as water was hot,bed comfortable,and tea/coffee provided.

The food was varied,as described on menu's, and quality,and quantity via the buffet service,with hot plates, as good as any UK coach holiday breaks I have experienced,however there was a downside!

The hotel is relatively isolated from civilisation,and therefore residents,particularly at this time of year,rely on the provision of nightly entertainment,which was quite acceptable,but the price charged for drinks was unreasonable,bordering on outrageous, because no competition was available-on excursions we found that to purchase the same drinks in comparable inns/hotels they were usually at least £1.00 cheaper,and much greater if lucky enough to find a Wetherspoons.

Why is it necessary for hotels to carry out such practises that only alienate further repeat custom,as I probably would not visit again for this reason?

This was a view shared by the majority of guests I had spoken to,so it was not in isolation.

Other reviewers have mentioned reception staff attitudes,and I must agree the male staff in attendance could have benefited from a few PR lesson.

The hotel is fairly old so the squeaky floors,and antiquated furniture were to be expected to a degree,as were the endless corridors and steep stairs that had to be negotiated in order to reach my room.

Room Tip: Ask to avoid stairs if elderly,or for rooms accessible by the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cojoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the weekend, and really wish we would of booked somewhere else ! The place is very dated, very dirty and wouldn't put a dog in there ! The man on reception was extremely rude and tried charging us for breakfast when we booked it already online ! I recommend people do not stay here as you will only be disappointed ! I thought I was at the Adams family house and that's no lie !

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I first stayed here last summer during a trip with David Urquhart travel for a week, and although the place is dated and shabby in areas , its ok for what i paid for the weeks trip.
This time i was in a room with a balcony, has lovely views, so that was nice. However the balcony door and windows are very old wood, haven't been painted for a while and the wood has swelled over time as each time i went to go out on the balcony you had to kick the door to open it and it was very tight, and to shut really give a good slam ! Most of the work needed is a rub down and a lick of paint.

The place itself is clean enough, had music on 3 of the 4 nights, all of the people signing were pretty good. Beer quite expensive, bottle of bud was £3.70 i think, pint of san miguel £4.00.

Think they have some cutbacks on the food because when i went last time at meal times you could go up for seconds as it is a buffet help yourself style service. I remember before i went up 3 or 4 times some evenings. This time however, I didn't have a starter or a main meal, just helped myself to the buffet and when i went back up the woman sort of snapped "you've been up once haven't you ? you can't have anymore !" Then this other older miserable looking bloke came over too, got a bit funny i was up again , rolled his eyes at me, to which i said to him, do that again, and he walked away. If i had know this i would have taken more to start with, i said i hadn't had the main meal and only wanted a bowl of chips, but they wouldn't have it. So for the rest of the week i filled my plate sky high, some falling off, knowing i would not eat it all, but making sure i had enough there. Some was left each time, and that ended up in the bin im sure, so they lost out at the end of it all by wasting the food. To hell with them !
Food itself was nice enough though, plenty to choose from each day.

If you are on one of these cheap coach trips, this is a decent enough place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatesy150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night break to this hotel.

We knew it wouldn't be top class as we paid a remarkably low price, in fact we do not know how they do it for the money.

General The good bits first.

Food delicious and varied, well presented in nice clean dinning room
Entertainment of an evening very good

Our room the good bits first

Shower worked well
Hot water
Toilet had good powerful flush
Room huge, we had 2 singles and 1 double just for the two of us
Beds comfortable and clean
We had a balcony over looking the bay such a lovely view
Heating worked well

The not so good bits in the room

Floor boards squeaked and one bit of the floor dipped alarmingly
TV very old only 5 stations plus you couldn't turn up sound much
Patio door hard to shut
Bathroom floor had bits of lino missing
Bathroom needed ripping out and replacing
Handle coming off of wardrobe door
Draws not fitting properly
All in need or decoration

Despite these things it would not put me off going again as it was such good value. We booked with David Urquhart Travel and the whole package including coach travel from a station in London, trips out each day, half board and entertainment in the evening cost only £60 per night for two of us.

Room Tip: Others paid extra for balcony but we got one anyway and didn't pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doilikeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here with a David Urquhart coach trip and found it most enjoyable. The food was excellent , piping hot as were the plates. The selection of dishes varied each one being pleasantly served, just cannot fault it. The staff in the dining room were pleasant and a pleasure to watch them seemingly happy about their work collecting used dishes etc after they had been used The rooms were spacious but yes I agree about the furniture being old but at the same time being adequate for what they were used for, perhaps more storage cupboards would have been handy, entertainment was good, bar prices a little high but it is a hotel. Will visit again if in the area even if its only to have a meal there Great swimming pool it needs a bit of upgrading but still is worth a visit

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonn_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night to break up the drive from Newquay in Cornwall home. Woolacombe is lovely. The beach, even though it was mid-February, was great and the town is very quaint.
This hotel is ok. It's a little way up the hill out of town, but it is pretty easy to walk in and back up. The hotel is very dated: there is wallpaper peeling from the walls and overall it is in dire need of an update. The main issue for us was the mattress. It was very uncomfortable, and, given this seems to be a hotel for older people, I wonder how someone of an age would even sleep on it.
Saying this, the breakfast was fine, and if you are not going to spend much time in the hotel, I guess it doesn't really matter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
844 reviews
0.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,795 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range: £59 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 Bedroom budget hotel, overlooking the beautiful village of Woolacombe. Ideal base for exploring North Devon or just spend time relaxing on the award winning beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing