We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Visited as a 12 strong family birthday bash,had a fab weekend at this lovely hotel,food and staff were both excellent and having read some of your customer reviews,we were all very surprised at the poor reviews,we all enjoyed our three night stay ,our ages ranged from 2 to 70,therefore quite an across the boatd opinion,we will most definately return in the not too distsnt future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    218
    185
    122
    166
See reviews for
203
316
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for two nights but felt we had to leave after 1. Sadly the hotel is falling apart, paint coming off the walls, the balcony floor is sinking, floorboards giving way and the shower had no temp control at all. Staff has no people skills, apart from the going lady on checkout. In short the hotel is old but there is no excuse for the lack of a lick of paint and smile.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank rjsanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Woolacombe hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Went for four nights in March 2014. Room clean and tidy, bathroom a bit dated but lots of hot water and the shower worked well. Very good food. Excellent value for the price. Friendly staff and lovely warm swimming pool. Will be going back next year!

Lots of negative reviews but we enjoyed our stay. If people book a 2 star hotel, they cannot expect 5 star accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room at the front of the hotel for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We took a 3 day quick break , its a coach party venue so hotel is well used.
The rooms are shabby, beds most uncomfortable, although it was clean.
Food was ok not a lot of choice for breakfast, we didn't have evening dinner.
The reception staff were not very polite it seemed a jobs worth and a smile and good morning would not have taken much.
Its a shame as its in a good position for lovely walks along the beach and around the National Trust Cliffs, scenery is lovely.

Room Tip: The pictures of the rooms on the net are not the same as you get maybe there are different ones for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam-seaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

went here on a skittles weekend in march, on arrival we were quite suprised at how rude the manager David was to us he was very ubrupt and down ride rude to us all including the elder ones the hotel itself was very dated and could do with a lick of paint and some new wallpaper but suprisingly it was quite clean,the food was very nice buffet style 3 course meal you could have as much as you wanted but we didn't bother after the sly nasty comments made by a certain person DAVID in regards to one of the ladies who put a few extra chips on her plate, she was very upset by this and complained to other management only to be told " well we got to work with him" the staffs ( except cleaners who were lovely) whole attitude was really what let the break down they have no people skills bad attitude and need to go on a customer service course A S A P, i will never go there again and highly recommend you dont bother!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kelly t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in room 306
We went to this hotel for a long weekend for my wife's birthday.
When we got there we wasn't shown to our room nor around the hotel.
The room was in very poor condition, the patio door locks were about as useful as a chocolate fire guard.
The bathroom floor was falling apart. The bath has chips in it.
Then there is the balcony railings that are not secure for the room.
The plumbing for the shower was absolutely atrocious, my wife went to have a shower and all she could get out of the shower was HOT WATER through the hot tap and the cold tap as well.
We found algae under the knob of the sink taps.
The balcony railings are not secured down so my wife would not go out onto the balcony.
the room cleaning was very poor, carpets not hovered, bed not made, we found rubbish in our bed after the cleaners had so called cleaned, the wind howled through all the gaps in the patio doors,
Then we went for breakfast............ that was fun!!!!!!!! ONE HOUR for breakfast and ONE HOUR for dinner in the evening,
The entertainment was so out dated we left half way though it.
The carpets in the hallways were held together with black duct tape, plaster missing of the walls, paint peeling of the walls as well as missing .
Then we come to the swimming pool......
Well I am sorry to say that their is absolutely no facilities for disabled people in the pool area, condensation constantly dripping from the ceiling, no hand rails to get in and out of the pool, tiles broken around the pool and the changing rooms we could not even get down to them as the
steps were to steep and slippery for my wife. I even had to take pictures to post on the web site so people would believe this to be true.
However on the plus side the reception staff were happy and talkative and we were close to the beach.

Room Tip: Go To A Different HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

went with skittle ladies.wasnt expecting much as it is a budget hotel.would never go there again dowdy,outdated,musty smell as furniture so old.not that clean either.miserable staff.but i will say,food was nice and sheets were clean.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshbrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.2 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 Bedroom budget hotel, overlooking the beautiful village of Woolacombe. Ideal base for exploring North Devon or just spend time relaxing on the award winning beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing