We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Booked this without looking at any reviews first. We knew from the website pictures that the ho tel was dated but does that really matter ? We were looking for somewhere close to the sea at short notice.
Yes its very dated but the hotel was clean and comfortable. There was no sign of any disrepair in room 207.
Usual tea making facilities,clean towels and ample storage.Entertainment was that which was expected of this type of hotel.
Breakfast was self serve and plentiful .
We have paid triple the amount to stay in branded hotels but to be fair there was not a lot of difference in comfort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alikavner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    225
    192
    127
    176
See reviews for
215
325
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

me and my wife just arrived home and thought we would write a quick review regarding our stay at the royal hotel in woolacoombe.
whilst this hotel is not what you may expect from a modern hotel, me and my wife both felt it was a breath of fresh air. when my wife awoke after the first night she said she felt like she was not in a hotel and more like she was a guest in someones home. the staff were all polite and friendly and the room was clean.
this was our first visit to woolacoombe and we hope to go again and we would definitely stay in the royal hotel if we can, it was very busy and we heard that it was fully booked, this is a big hotel for a small seaside village. the value for money was very good and included a tasty, hot breakfast each morning, also you can cancel with 24 hours notice with no charge.
so all in all a very good hotel, fantastic surroundings and with genuine friendly people we really enjoyed our weekend away all i could say after reading some of the reviews here is that im glad i don't go on holiday with the people that write them, this is devon not dubai !!

Room Tip: try and get a room with a view as they are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The royal hotel is so far from be royal.on arrival the receptionist was very pleasant. The surroundings were OK on a first glance.how ever on being handed the keys to room 210 we headed of up a well worn corridor.I imeadiatly felt nervous.we entered the room the be faced with torn carpets and a very 70s style decor which was well worn.the balcony was in a very unsafe state and the timber above the balcony was held together with gaffer tape.I had to laugh otherwise I would have spolit a lovely holiday I had just had in north Cornwall.
The hotel is not far from being demolished due to the amount of money required to bring it up to a fit standard.
Don't, expect a quite holiday as you defiantly won,t get it at this hotel.
I would say the collasped floor board in our room did not help.
I would say HMP offer better accommodation.
I am still reeling over the money I paid for our 1 night stay.we checked out and Headed of home.
DON,T be TEMPTED to part with your well earned cash.
The staff I met were fine but I would say they are keeping a brave face

Room Tip: Don't stay in any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Woolacombe hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great food, good price, nice people, swimming, entertainment. great time value for money for a short break and woolacombe beach best there is. We have been going back since the 1963 the hotel has changed a lot but the goods things about the hotel remain would recommend anyone wanting a hotel at a great price

Room Tip: sea view extra money but the view is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterHopkins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Having read a number of reviews before booking, I knew pretty much what we would be walking into. This hotel appears to have had no improvements since the early 1970s and standards are really poor. The entertainment, facilities and menu haven't changed in decades either. But the staff are well meaning, there is a (highly chlorinated) indoor pool, entertainment, a bar, big family rooms with (dodgy) balconies, the view is great, a lovely beach is a short walk down the hill and in high season it costs more to stay in a caravan further out of town. In most places, you get what you pay for. This is a budget hotel from a bygone age. If you can't deal with that, stay elsewhere. We had fun :-)

Room Tip: Our family room was effectively a twin room and a double room divided by a partition. A great size f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Issyreally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Having booked very late (day before arrival) at a very reasonable price. Arrived to find the hotel very dated and very tired. The reception staff were very polite and helpful. The bedroom had a balcony which had the most wonderful views. But the chairs seemed well worn and could do with a good clean The room was very clean with clean bedding plenty of hot water but oh so tired and old. The pool was exactly the same, paint peeling, plaster flaking. Breakfast next morning was very good and plentiful .staff were very polite. It is such a shame as with a big makeover the royal would a wonderful wedding venue. But at the end of the day, the only use would be to knock down and use the grounds for apartments

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockey190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It saddens me to read all the negative reviews regarding this old but grand hotel. Yes, its in urgent need of renovating and yes, its old and dated BUT give the staff/owners and the hotel a chance! My friends and I have been staying at this hotel twice a year for many years now..and our visits just get better and better each and every time. We ask (and are given) the same 3 rooms in June and December and we know to expect the floorboards to be creaky and the rooms to be in need of updating, but the bedding is always spotless and fresh, the staff extremely polite and helpful and the food delicious with plenty of choice. We have never complained about our visits to this hotel because we accept it as it is...and love it. Its set in a beautiful spot within walking distance down to the beach and shops and a bus stop right outside the hotel. If people read the previous reviews and go with an open mind and laid back attitude then I can guarantee they will enjoy their stay at The Royal...if they go with an uptight attitude, ready to pull it to pieces and with an upturned nose....then good times will not be had! Our gang of seven would not wish to stay anywhere but here and hope to do so for many years to come :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hottoetapping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
0.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
3.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
400 reviews
3.5 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Beach Road, Woolacombe EX34 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 Bedroom budget hotel, overlooking the beautiful village of Woolacombe. Ideal base for exploring North Devon or just spend time relaxing on the award winning beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing