We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 day break”
Review of Ossaborough House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ossaborough House
Ranked #14 of 21 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“2 day break”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

excellent 10 out of 10, hosts trevor and rosie very welcoming, everything spotless, excellent cooked breakfast. stayed in garden room with lovely views. parking at front and off road at rear. pub 50 yards away for meals. will visit again.

Maureen and robert

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor D, Owner at Ossaborough House, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Many thanks for the great review, we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Garden Rooms are very popular & when the sun is shining what better way is there to enjoy a glass of wine (or two) on you patio, overlooking the lovely views.

Many of our guests also love having the Old Mill pub nearby so no worries about having to drive home after a night out.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Ossaborough House offers a very good B & B facility, it has an excellent location, is clewan and tidy and very friendly. An observation would be that it would benefit from a slightly more relaxed time frame; 0830 to 0900 for breakfast when folk are on holiday is questionable.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are most pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor D, Owner at Ossaborough House, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay with us.
We are really pleased to hear that you had a good time.

Regarding the breakfast times, we have looked at the possibility of extending the times but only being a small B&B with no other staff to help, we decided to keep it to a time which seems to be the most popular with the majority of our guests. 8.15-9.00am.

We hope that you can appreciate that if we have someone who would like breakfast at 7am & someone else that would prefer it at 8.30am & someone else at 10am it would not be practical.
However, if any of our guests were really unhappy with the times we would do our utmost to try to accommodate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

had a 1 night stay recently and enjoyed the location and price. be back again when im next on my travells. breakfast was yummy too! very clean room and shower. parking is on the main road but if you hunt around you should find a decent space.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brightonkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor D, Owner at Ossaborough House, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Ossaborough House. We are pleased that you had a good stay here and hope that you will be able come back to Woolacombe and stay with us again.

We would just like to point out that we do have "off road" parking to accommodate all of our guests and that we are situated in a lane and not on a main road.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Tucked away from the main road at the top of the hill with a lovely view of the valley this B&B is everything i was looking for. Comfortable bed, good shower, warm spacious room, delicious breakfast and very friendly and accommodating hosts. I called up at 8pm at the end of the Easter weekend for a room on the same night and they were really welcoming. This B&B offers excellent value money. I will certainly be going back and recommending to friends and family. Look no further, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank RobinLongworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor D, Owner at Ossaborough House, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of Ossaborough House.

We are glad that you found us, in spite of being tucked away off of the main road & are pleased that we were able to help you with your accommodation.

We like to be able to welcome our guests at any time of the day or evening and are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Booked at very late notice, and they managed to fit us in. Were both very welcoming, stayed in a rather large room with adequate en suite, was comfy and cosy with a huge sofa and big comfy bed. Breakfast was large and extensive menu, and local good ingredients. Would recommend highly. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our fifth, or sixth visit over the years. Consistently clean and comfortable. Warm welcome, quiet location and great breakfast. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are our favourite but there is a steep but short slope to walk up and down to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at Ossaborough House for 4 nights during April and had a wonderful time, we have previously stayed at the Sandunes Guesthouse which was beautiful but the owners (Clive & Jill) recently sold the property which left us looking for an alternative. We chose Ossaborough House due to it’s close proximity to the ‘Golden Coast Holiday Village’, we had family staying on the site and wanted to be as close as possible. Ossaborough House is in a lovely location and although close to ‘Golden Coast’ you wouldn’t really know it as it is very peaceful. It is about a mile drive down to Woolacombe beach and there is a pub (the Old Mill) barely 50 metres away .
There are 7 rooms available (4 rooms in the main house, and 3 garden rooms which have a private patio area and are positioned just behind the main building. There is plenty of free parking available, we were able to park right next to our room. The room itself was spotlessly clean and was of a decent size with a sofa, small flatscreen tv, and en-suite bathroom consisting of a toilet, washbasin and shower unit. The patio would be great during the summer and the view across the surrounding fields was lovely (see photo). It was great being separate from the main building as we could come and go as we pleased.
The owners, Trevor and Rosie were very nice and made us feel very welcome without being overbearing. The Breakfast was taken in a very quant room in the main building and was also very nice with everything cooked fresh to order. We usually visit Woolacombe a couple of times a year and when we found out that ‘Sandunes’ was closing we feared that we would never find anywhere as nice again, we needn’t have worried, Ossaborough House is absolutely lovely and we can’t wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are worth the small extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
1.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Sunnymeade Country House
Sunnymeade Country House
#9 of 21 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ossaborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ossaborough House

Property: Ossaborough House
Address: Ossaborough Lane, Woolacombe EX34 7HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ossaborough House bed & breakfast is a 17th century home from home, family run guest house, with panoramic views overlooking an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The golden sands of Woolacombe Bay, a beautiful Blue Flag beach are but a mile away with the wonders of Exmoor just a further short drive. We have a golf course for the keen golfer and the Tarka trail for cyclists, both within four hundred yards. If you do not feel so active why not enjoy the scenery in full, when choosing one of our newer “garden rooms”. Relax on your own patio whilst sipping your wine, (glasses and corkscrew provided) or if you prefer, move inside to your comfy sofa with the view still to be appreciated. As an alternative, within the house we have rooms with an “older feel”. All are en-suite, have spacious seating areas with comfy sofas. The public areas abound with the “olde world” charms of beams, thick cob walls, gleaming copper and brass. Rosie’s succulent breakfasts are always freshly cooked to order with use of local produce wherever possible, including free range eggs direct from our neighbour’s farm. We serve breakfast in our cosy breakfast room, which boasts a log burner for the colder, winter months. Our guests have always been in raptures over the breakfasts at Ossaborough as can be seen by the ecstatic comments in the guest book. For romantic and other special occasions we can arrange for Flowers, Champagne and Chocolates to be provided as a surprise for your loved one, on your arrival. Over the fourteen very rewarding years that we have been at Ossaborough House we have made many friends with the people who have stayed with us, many of whom return year after year. We have added enjoyment to their holidays and we would love the chance to add enjoyment to yours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ossaborough House Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing