We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant find!”
Review of Ossaborough House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ossaborough House
Ranked #14 of 20 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the garden rooms at Ossaborough House at the end of June for six nights after a long search.

We were not disappointed. Trevor and Rosie were great hosts and made us feel very welcome.

The room was very clean and modern and had everything we needed including toiletries and towels. it had the benefits of a B & B with the flexibility of your own space and patio area to sit out on and take in the lovely views. An added bonus was the use of all the facilities of the Woolacombe Bay park close by and the Old Mill pub next door.

The house itself was amazing and so were Rosie's breakfasts.

We would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LinRoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We found Ossaborough House quite by chance after a very long day. We hadn't booked but we were made more than welcome. Our room was well appointed with the luxury of a large sofa to watch television without having to lounge around on the bed. It was exceedingly clean and I loved the age of the house and its setting. Trevor and Rosie certainly do not charge enough, it was the bargain stay of our week. We would certainly return if we visit that area again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The male members of our family were taking part in the marathon run on Sunday last? Ossaborough House was the perfect place to stay. My husband and I stayed in one of the Garden Rooms and my daughter, husband and her daughter stayed in one of the family rooms in the house. It was a room for 2 plus ensuite bathroom with adjoining room off with 2 single beds and this had it's own ensuite too. Everywhere was very clean and tidy and well cared for. Breakfast was great. Somehow or other Rosie manages to cook the bacon and fried egg without it having any trace of grease attached to it.

We arrived late on Friday evening and had bought with us a cold supper and Rosie and Trevor couldn't have been more attentive in allowing us to use the breakfast room to eat our supper in.

The house overlooks a green park with a tennis court and other athletic facilities. There is a very pleasant walk along part of the coastal path down to Woolacombe Bay which takes about 30 mins. The views from the walk are wonderful.

I would recommend this B & B to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceciliamorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have been to Ossaborough House quite a few times over the last 3 or 4 years and we absolutely love it. It is situated about a mile from the beach but the location is very peaceful. Rooms are available in the main building but we always stay in one of the garden rooms, these have the benefit of their own private patio with lovely views out across the countryside (see attached photo). The rooms are a good size and are always spotlessly clean. The breakfast room is very nice and the breakfast itself is always lovely, more than enough to get you through to your evening meal. Trevor and Rosie are great hosts and are always on hand if you require anything. If you are looking for a nice peaceful setting then you can't go far wrong with Ossaborough House, we will certainly be staying here again when we next visit Woolacombe.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have the benefit of their own private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Went to Ossaborough House for my girlfriend's birthday. We stayed 2 nights & will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Woolacombe. Our room was very cosy, clean & well maintained. We were a stones throw away from tennis courts, an outdoor & indoor pool, which we took advantage of, and a nice little pub next door! The icing on the cake were Rosie & Trevor who made sure our stay was as good as it could've been. We'll look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I were looking to have a break during which we intended to do stages of the South West Coastal Path walk. The weather was against us, unfortunately, but Ossaborough House and its owners more than made up for the disappointment. Both Trevor and Rosie could not do enough to make our stay more enjoyable, we felt very much at home and thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts. We had a first floor room at the front of the house, which afforded lovely views, and everything was kept very clean and tidy. There was no problem with parking, and we would unreservedly recommend this location for a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frednobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Both myself and my partner really enjoyed our stay at this B&B. We stayed in one of the garden rooms which were just like the pictures. Very clean convenient parking and the owners were lovely. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooper16ki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woolacombe hotels
1.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
873 reviews
1.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
907 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunnymeade Country House
Sunnymeade Country House
#8 of 20 in Woolacombe
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marine House
Marine House
#10 of 20 in Woolacombe
19 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#10 of 15 in Woolacombe
33 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ossaborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ossaborough House

Address: Ossaborough Lane, Woolacombe EX34 7HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Price Range: £33 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ossaborough House bed & breakfast is a 17th century home from home, family run guest house, with panoramic views overlooking an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The golden sands of Woolacombe Bay, a beautiful Blue Flag beach are but a mile away with the wonders of Exmoor just a further short drive. We have a golf course for the keen golfer and the Tarka trail for cyclists, both within four hundred yards. If you do not feel so active why not enjoy the scenery in full, when choosing one of our newer “garden rooms”. Relax on your own patio whilst sipping your wine, (glasses and corkscrew provided) or if you prefer, move inside to your comfy sofa with the view still to be appreciated. As an alternative, within the house we have rooms with an “older feel”. All are en-suite, have spacious seating areas with comfy sofas. The public areas abound with the “olde world” charms of beams, thick cob walls, gleaming copper and brass. Rosie’s succulent breakfasts are always freshly cooked to order with use of local produce wherever possible, including free range eggs direct from our neighbour’s farm. We serve breakfast in our cosy breakfast room, which boasts a log burner for the colder, winter months. Our guests have always been in raptures over the breakfasts at Ossaborough as can be seen by the ecstatic comments in the guest book. For romantic and other special occasions we can arrange for Flowers, Champagne and Chocolates to be provided as a surprise for your loved one, on your arrival. Over the fourteen very rewarding years that we have been at Ossaborough House we have made many friends with the people who have stayed with us, many of whom return year after year. We have added enjoyment to their holidays and we would love the chance to add enjoyment to yours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ossaborough House Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing