We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunnymeade Country House
Ranked #8 of 20 Woolacombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2014

we had a Fabulous weekend at the Sunnymeade, great breakfasts, lovely clean room, relaxing garden, good value and lovely, friendly hosts. Location ideal for Ilfracombe or Woolecombe. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rjewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just had a 6 night break at Sunnymeade, what an ideallic place to stay Our hosts Tim and Lisa were so friendly and made you so welcome, it was if we had known them for years.

Our room was very homely and the bed was so comfortable that we have never slept so well.

We awoke to find a lovely breakfast awaiting us, and Time and Lisa would come out and have a chat to all the guests before we parted for our day out.

I would highly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Drove to Devon to spend 4 days of sightseeing. I travel a lot and Sunnymeade is up there with the very best of them!! Tim and Lisa are so very helpful and welcoming they really made our visit special. The room was fresh, clean and airy with a sensational view of the surrounding countryside. Comfortable beds and a lovely hot shower - couldn't ask for more. Good job we were doing a lot of walking as Tim's hearty English breakfasts are delicious.
We thoroughly recommend this delightful Guest House. 'Don't drive past. Stop and stay.' You won't regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 47Kensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break at Sunnymeade which we enjoyed in its entirety. We received a very warm welcome by the owners, Tim and Lisa, and were shown to a very lovely double en suite room which had an extremely comfortable bed. My husband and I slept peacefully both nights. Tim cooked a scrumptious breakfast using local produce, the bacon, sausage and black pudding were so tasty. We made good use of the visitor's lounge and cosy bar chatting about our days to other holiday makers and Tim and Lisa. The atmosphere felt like home from home only we didn't have to do a thing. Lisa ensures the guests are well looked after with every need catered for in a calm and friendly manner. Our dog was also welcomed and he played happily with the families new puppy who is just too cute not to post a picture of. Tim and Lisa, we will be back to have the wonderful cream teas you mentioned you might start doing.

Room Tip: This venue caters for people with all kinds of needs including gluten free and physical disabilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gogetter47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

What can we say? As a teacher with a young family, we look for great places that are toddler friendly and not a million miles away. We are so glad we found this little gem! Set in some wonderful landscape, the drive in gets you in the relaxed mood quickly!

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the owners who helped with bags, showed us to our rooms and offered hot chocolates! Immediately felt at ease, welcomed and the place has such a homely feel - it's lovely. Lots of parking available.

The room itself was adequately sized with everything you needed, it was bright, clean and smelt fresh. The bathroom was MASSIVE. The decor is traditional but again, comfortable enough as it's a base to explore the amazing local beaches! The shower needs a bit more oomph but it sufficed.

The next morning breakfast was served piping hot, again every need catered for. Nothing seemed too much to ask and the food was delightful, love the fact it's local produce! A range of drinks and cereals on offer too.

Location wise it's idyllic, main route but quiet, rolling green hills, excellent mobile coverage and wifi! Highlight for us (though so much more to explore next time) Woolacombe beach - stunningly beautiful, soft sand for miles and perfect for families. Wow. Only downside here was parking charges at the beach (find a side street or something!)

In the evening at the guest house, Tim and Lisa (the owners) opened up the bar and lit the log fire, illuminating the area with soft lights - a little thing but made it all the more cosy, enjoying good quality drinks and chatted with the owners.

This place is quite simply a treasure. It really is value for money and you will not be sorry - we are literally counting the days until we can return there again and explore more of the surrounding beaches, but needing a great place to stay, you will do no wrong visiting Tim and Lisa at Sunnymeade.

Thanks so much guys, we WILL be back. Awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark32uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A second stay at the lovely Sunnymeade confirmed my opinion of what a cracking Guest House this is. Not only in the right place for Ilfracombe , Woolacome , Coombe Martin etc but the new management team Tim and Lisa are superb hosts . Good clean room , Great breakfast to start off the day and such a helpful and friendly manner I have no hesitation in forwarding my recommendation for the place.......again !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank t h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed one night at the Sunnymeade with a very friendly welcome. clean rooms and lovely food. Tim and Lisa made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. They provided gluton free food for 1 of our party who said it was delicious. We look forward to returning sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wheatlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
3.3 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
845 reviews
3.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
879 reviews
3.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,796 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnymeade Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnymeade Country House

Address: Dean Close Dean Cross | West Down, Woolacombe EX34 8NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Woolacombe
Price Range: £81 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Sunnymeade you will get much more than just a bed & a breakfast.We take a holistic style to providing for you and aim to live up to our tag line “Relax, Refresh, Revive”We treat every guest as an individual, taking a personal approach to ensure you enjoy the best the surrounding area has to offer. You may enter as a stranger, but you will leave as a friend.Sunnymeade is a dog friendly guest house with a large enclosed garden near Woolacombe, Devon. With disabled friendly accommodation, we can cater for all guests in comfort. Award winning home cooked food using fresh local produce wherever possible is served in our dining room. Special diets can be catered for and there is always a vegetarian choice on the menu. We also have a licensed bar.Of the twelve rooms available, ten are en-suit, four of these are on the ground floor with total wheelchair access and wheel-in showers and grab rails. You will find a purpose-built sloped entrance with an automatic door that is fully wheelchair accessible. All our rooms are well appointed and have freesat televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunnymeade Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnymeade Country Woolacombe
Hotel Sunnymeade Country
Sunnymeade Country House Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing