We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
47
32
30
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
32
30
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lumpy bumpy cake dogs welcome fantastic carvery breakfast included stayed here for one night dogs are allowed dog owners golden coast holiday woolacombe beach north devon carveries toffee toddler pubs
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at a holiday park just down the road and had got fed up of chips with everything so ventured out and came across this lovely bar and restaurant.
The staff were warm, friendly and welcoming. Especial the man who served the Carvery.
We loved it so much we returned 4 nights in a row and on our last night they made sure that they had our familt favourite pudding in; Apple Pie.
All the food was excellent, cooked to a high standard and the portion size was magnificent.
We were impressed by the fact that as a family of 7 we could eat out and have a main and a pudding each for under £100. (very rare these days).
If you are in the Woolacombe area we would recommend this restaurant as a must.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammyjay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We were made very welcome at The Fortescue. Run by lovely people, very accomodating for ourlast minute table of 8. The waitress was really nice and nothing was too much trouble. Really good atmosphere and would highly recommend. Good choice of food, came piping hot and all at once. Definately going again next time we are in Devon :)

Room Tip: Didn't stay the night just ate. Good priced menu
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

we went there for a meal a couple of times the staff were very friendlyand the food wasnt bad.
it wasnt very busy in there as we went out of season. most of the hotel was closed down.
we went for drinks a few times as we were staying across the road from the place and got very friendly with the owner and his son.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roni52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here for a carvery as we were told it was good. Excellent is more like it. The young chap behind the server was very nice and helpful and you could go back for more veg! Tasty roast potatoes too. Some of the waiters just seemed to loiter around not getting much done but they were all friendly and helpful so can't complained! Will defiantly come back here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirinderk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Took our booking very last minute even with the dogs, we were greeted at the bar and shown to a lovely clean room, with ensuite and lovely high ceilings. It's fairly old school in it's style, and the bathroom was a bit old fashioned, but it was all clean, it had lovely hot water and was quiet in the night despite being above the bar.
Don't go expecting a five star modern hotel resort, but if you want a good night sleep, a lovely breakfast (even provided some meat for the dogs) and a nice clean room within a short hop of the sea, you can't go wrong.
We felt guilty not having dinner there as we had an event to attend, but the restaurant area was clearly well looked after and if the breakfast is any indication of the quality, it ought to be good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews