We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!”
Review of The Fortescue Arms

The Fortescue Arms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fortescue Arms
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awful!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Been to this pub many times over the years whilst holidaying in Woolacombe.

We decided to go here for late lunch/early tea as the food previously had been excellent.

But this time I am not sure what went wrong but, the pub had no atmosphere. It was freezing cold and the s absolutely no service from the staff what so ever.

We ordered from the main menu at the bar. Our food order consisted of 4 meals:

2 x Half Roast Chicken Meals
1 x Ham, Egg & Chips
1 x Gammon, Egg & Chips

There was a considerable wait for the food, when it came the chicken looked pale and was exceptionally dry!!
The Ham looked was all dried up.
The only half decent meal was the Gammon which my husband had.

No one came over to ask if the food was OK.
With the amount of food that was left on our plates when they were collected from the table you would of thought it would of at least made the staff ask if there was anything wrong.

All in all it was a complete waste of money. £37.50 not wisely spent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert c, Owner at The Fortescue Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are sorry to hear your meal experience was not a good one, we take all customer reviews very seriously, as you can see many of our customer reviews are very complimentory. Our home cooked ham glazed with mustard 2 eggs and chips for £7.95 is normally a great hit with customers. If you return to John's Woolacombs sands again please visit us again and I will make amends, Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    27
    19
    11
    13
See reviews for
51
35
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

All my family 25 of us were looking for somewhere for dinner, what a fab welcome from the owner, told us to come back between 3-4 pm and he would sort the tables for us, we turned up to be told give them a couple of minutes and the tables would be ready, this did happen, the food was excellent and we were served by lovely friendly people who couldn't do enough for us, it made it a pleasurable visit as finding somewhere for 25 people is a nightmare.

We will definitely be visiting this restaurant next year as our family annual holiday.

Thank you for very much for a lovely service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazbo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon here and we had a fantastic carvery, the staff including the chef were friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble. We went back as we enjoyed the food so much so well worth a visit and great value for money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We had a meal here, I wouldn't say it was awful but I won't be returning.
If you like frozen peas undercooked chips and chipped plates then this is the place for you. You can get better quality food at many places nearby. On a positive note the manager/owner was very friendly, we obviously had a new waiter who was dashing around like Manuel from Fawlty Towers. It is a shame the food isn't better as it is a huge building and could cater for the many tourists in the area. I suspect the reason it may be busy is that it is full of people visiting for the first time thinking its a good place to eat, I am sure there are not many returning customers

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank craftysurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Woolacombe hotels

Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Table for 4 ........ told a 15 minute wait........ with no one else waiting? Clearly a move to make you part with some extra money and buy more drinks, then the bombshell. No this, no that. A pub with little choice of available beers on a Sunday afternoon is inexcusable. Little or no soft drinks. The carvery lacks any atmosphere, but then the price is cheap. The waitress didn't have a clue. We wont be back. Have been to Woolacombe over the last 35 years and this pub has gone down hill.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GezzerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert c, Owner at The Fortescue Arms, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your eating experience with us, when people arrive we take peoples names ask them to get a drink and we normally seat them within 15 minutes while we clear and clean tables for the next customers. On a Sunday in May we average in excess of 250 customers eating with us and a high percentage of customers are complimentory of the carvery. Drinks wise I am confused on the little choice of drinks, we always have a real ale, a cream flow ale, 3 draft lagers, 2 x draft ciders, 2 x bottled ciders, guiness, a choice of soft drinks including 3 x j20's, frobisher orange and apple juice, fruit shoots, cranberry, bitter lemon, diet tonic, pineapple,tomato juices, ginger beer, draft coke, diet coke and lemonade and bottled waters. We appologise again for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at a holiday park just down the road and had got fed up of chips with everything so ventured out and came across this lovely bar and restaurant.
The staff were warm, friendly and welcoming. Especial the man who served the Carvery.
We loved it so much we returned 4 nights in a row and on our last night they made sure that they had our familt favourite pudding in; Apple Pie.
All the food was excellent, cooked to a high standard and the portion size was magnificent.
We were impressed by the fact that as a family of 7 we could eat out and have a main and a pudding each for under £100. (very rare these days).
If you are in the Woolacombe area we would recommend this restaurant as a must.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyjay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We were made very welcome at The Fortescue. Run by lovely people, very accomodating for ourlast minute table of 8. The waitress was really nice and nothing was too much trouble. Really good atmosphere and would highly recommend. Good choice of food, came piping hot and all at once. Definately going again next time we are in Devon :)

Room Tip: Didn't stay the night just ate. Good priced menu
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
1.6 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
816 reviews
1.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
843 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,764 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortescue Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortescue Arms

Property: The Fortescue Arms
Address: Woolacombe Station Road, Woolacombe EX34 7HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Fortescue Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortescue Arms Woolacombe
The Fortescue Arms Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing