We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
48
32
31
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
32
31
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parsnips dogs welcome dogs are allowed dog owners golden coast holiday woolacombe beach holiday park carvery carveries toddler devon
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Been to this pub many times over the years whilst holidaying in Woolacombe.

We decided to go here for late lunch/early tea as the food previously had been excellent.

But this time I am not sure what went wrong but, the pub had no atmosphere. It was freezing cold and the s absolutely no service from the staff what so ever.

We ordered from the main menu at the bar. Our food order consisted of 4 meals:

2 x Half Roast Chicken Meals
1 x Ham, Egg & Chips
1 x Gammon, Egg & Chips

There was a considerable wait for the food, when it came the chicken looked pale and was exceptionally dry!!
The Ham looked was all dried up.
The only half decent meal was the Gammon which my husband had.

No one came over to ask if the food was OK.
With the amount of food that was left on our plates when they were collected from the table you would of thought it would of at least made the staff ask if there was anything wrong.

All in all it was a complete waste of money. £37.50 not wisely spent.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert c, Owner at The Fortescue Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We are sorry to hear your meal experience was not a good one, we take all customer reviews very seriously, as you can see many of our customer reviews are very complimentory. Our home cooked ham glazed with mustard 2 eggs and chips for £7.95 is normally a great hit with customers. If you return to John's Woolacombs sands again please visit us again and I will make amends, Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

All my family 25 of us were looking for somewhere for dinner, what a fab welcome from the owner, told us to come back between 3-4 pm and he would sort the tables for us, we turned up to be told give them a couple of minutes and the tables would be ready, this did happen, the food was excellent and we were served by lovely friendly people who couldn't do enough for us, it made it a pleasurable visit as finding somewhere for 25 people is a nightmare.

We will definitely be visiting this restaurant next year as our family annual holiday.

Thank you for very much for a lovely service.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazbo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stumbled upon here and we had a fantastic carvery, the staff including the chef were friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble. We went back as we enjoyed the food so much so well worth a visit and great value for money.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a meal here, I wouldn't say it was awful but I won't be returning.
If you like frozen peas undercooked chips and chipped plates then this is the place for you. You can get better quality food at many places nearby. On a positive note the manager/owner was very friendly, we obviously had a new waiter who was dashing around like Manuel from Fawlty Towers. It is a shame the food isn't better as it is a huge building and could cater for the many tourists in the area. I suspect the reason it may be busy is that it is full of people visiting for the first time thinking its a good place to eat, I am sure there are not many returning customers

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank craftysurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Table for 4 ........ told a 15 minute wait........ with no one else waiting? Clearly a move to make you part with some extra money and buy more drinks, then the bombshell. No this, no that. A pub with little choice of available beers on a Sunday afternoon is inexcusable. Little or no soft drinks. The carvery lacks any atmosphere, but then the price is cheap. The waitress didn't have a clue. We wont be back. Have been to Woolacombe over the last 35 years and this pub has gone down hill.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GezzerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert c, Owner at The Fortescue Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your eating experience with us, when people arrive we take peoples names ask them to get a drink and we normally seat them within 15 minutes while we clear and clean tables for the next customers. On a Sunday in May we average in excess of 250 customers eating with us and a high percentage of customers are complimentory of the carvery. Drinks wise I am confused on the little choice of drinks, we always have a real ale, a cream flow ale, 3 draft lagers, 2 x draft ciders, 2 x bottled ciders, guiness, a choice of soft drinks including 3 x j20's, frobisher orange and apple juice, fruit shoots, cranberry, bitter lemon, diet tonic, pineapple,tomato juices, ginger beer, draft coke, diet coke and lemonade and bottled waters. We appologise again for your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews