We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Coast Holiday Village
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A large site catering for the higher price bracket. Caravans were situated at the bottom of the site, 400m from the entertainment block, at least it was quite at night, but not suitable for the lesser abled as the slope was quite steep and vans close together. The newer flats/chalets looked a little better but still a bit Butlins 1960 ish. Entertainment block was quite suitable although designed to rid us of our pensions quite quickly, a pint of fizzy beer and a lemonade & lime over £6.00, captive audience if you wanted entertainment.
Our caravan was very dirty and dusty, carpet filthy, sofa smelling of age and in need of some tlc, dried boiled on food in saucepan, no covers to the mattresses, and so on. When complaining was asked if we would like the faults rectified!!. but could not clean carpet or seatee as this would require a proper cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your recent stay at Golden Coast. I have noted your comments regarding the Housekeeping problems you experienced, and have notified our Accommodation Manager. Had you spoken with our Reception team, they could have seen if there was any accommodation in a more suitable location for you had you wished. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    673
    378
    209
    235
See reviews for
1,531
204
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

this is a lovely holiday resort for all the family , children of all ages have a great time at the holiday village , we have been going back for many years now , and still enjoy our stay just as much as the first holiday . Woolacombe beach is second to none , so with a great surfing beach and a lovely holiday village you will not go wrong having your hols here .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback, your kind words are much appreciated. I am very pleased that, as a returning guest, you have enjoyed many holidays here, and I do hope you continue in the future. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Went to Woolacombe at the end of May on 29th. Weather was great and had a great time. Illfracombe has more to do that Woolacombe but Woolacombe does have a lovely beach. Loads to do on the park itself as well as great facilities. Indoor pool was lovely and warm. Would definitely visit golden coast again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lhar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and explored our fantastic local area. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we appreciate your feedback. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Golden Coast is situated in a very pleasant area . There was everything you needed for a short holiday break. Unfortunately, it is very hilly - up and down everywhere on the site. This did not make for a good holiday when you are disabled and have difficulty walking. We had to use the car just to get to the swimming pool - only to find it did not have steps to enable us to get in to it without further help. We were situated at the farthest point to the reception, club house and shop, which was very inconvenient. Fortunately we had good weather all week, which helped us to enjoy the break.

Room Tip: Request accommodation at the top end of the resort - otherwise you are a long way from amenities. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TheWilkies2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry to read that the location of your accommodation did not suit your party’s requirements; had you advised our Receptionists, they would have done their utmost to ensure a more suitable accommodation was found for you. Being situated in beautiful North Devon means that our natural local area is very hilly, and whilst we are fortunate to be one of the flattest Parks locally, we cannot escape a few hills around site. I am pleased that this did not detract from your holiday, and you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have disabled accommodation available, and if you are looking to return to Golden Coast, our Sales Centre will be able to advise on which accommodation may be most suitable for you. We do hope to welcome you back. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in a Gold Apartment which was a mixture of modern and new ( bathrooms) and slightly chintzy furnishings ( bedrooms) try increasing the size of the bed to at least normal size!. It was spacious enough and providing a barbecue is a nice touch. The kids loved the park (bowling, wave machine, trampolines, evening disco, outdoor pool with slides). The kids thought the extras for everything a bit rich, granted the swimming pool is free, only thing I think!.
The bar could try and offer something other than Carlsberg, probably one of the worst lagers out there. We found the Seahorse beside the beach in Ilfracombe offering great beers, pint and a half of Stella for under £5. kids orange squashes 30p, and some cheap nice snacks for the kids to keep them happy. Would agree that a trip to Tesco is worth the effort though. Yes, shame about the weather, but this is England!.

Room Tip: check the bed size, ours was a 3/4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank srithong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I am pleased you found your Gold Lodge to be spacious. Our beds are of standard single and double size, however I am sorry if you found these to be small. We offer many free facilities on site with your Entertainment and Facilities passes, including tennis, table tennis, 5 indoor and outdoor pools, 2 saunas, snooker, pitch and putt, crazy golf, fishing, a cinema and soft play area amongst others. I am sorry you did not find our Bar to be varied enough and I have noted your comments. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just come back from the golden coast after a short weekend stay in a silver lodge. I can't imagine what the other accommodation is like if when our lodge was so poor. We have three young children so thought it would be a nice weekend away for them. There is nowhere for small kids to play ie a park! The lodge was very basic to say the least and the entertainment was poor. Now to the bad bits. The indoor pool was dreadful with only four or five small changing rooms which reeked of piss. No lockers there so your belongings had to be left by a table. The pool was very small and not very clean either. The food on the camp is awful and overpriced and the beer nasty at 4.10 a pint. Honestly I can go on and on. Never ever ever go to this place it is crap. I'll be going back to haven devon cliffs next year, 20 times better than this dump. Seriously stay away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I am extremely disappointed to read your review, it would never be our intention for a guest to leave feeling so disappointed. I do hope you reported your dissatisfaction to our Duty Manager before departing. It is difficult to ascertain which areas of your accommodation did not meet your expectations as your statement is quite general, but your comments have been noted.

We have several play parks on site - we have an indoor soft play area with an under 5’s area, an outdoor adventure park in front of the Old Mill Pub, a climbing pirate ship in the EX34 area, a swing in our Pine Cones area and a slide in our Cleavewood area. We also have other play areas in front of our Sales Centre, as well as an extensive choice at our sister Parks which are free for you to use, although I apologise if you did not feel you could make use of any of the play areas we offer.

Again, as your review does not go into any details of which aspects of the Entertainment you found to be “poor”, it is very difficult to comment, and although our team do their utmost to cater for all individual preferences, sometimes we may not succeed, and I apologise if our entertainment was not to your particular liking.

I am sorry to read the indoor swimming pool did not meet your expectations. It is cleaned regularly throughout the day by our Public Area cleaner, and I do hope you reported any issues with cleanliness immediately upon discovery so we could ensure this was tended to before the next scheduled clean. I am surprised to read that you could not find the lockers - we actually have 2 sets of lockers in the swimming pool and our Reception team could have advised you of their location if they were not clearly visible to you.

I am sorry you did not find the food or drink on site to your individual taste, and do hope you have enjoyable holidays elsewhere in the future.

Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Its a great place for kids with lots to keep them entertained. The park provides a bus daily to the beach for a few pounds. We are a young couple without kids so we found it a great base to venture out from to the surrounding towns and beaches. We booked it through sun holidays so cheap, but definitely recommend upgrading to atleast silver accommodation. Caravans have the best views and they're in a quiet end of the park. We were very happy with our accomodation it was clean, had all the home comforts and great views of the coast. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday at Golden Coast and made the most of our fantastic location, nestled into the beautiful North Devon countryside. Our caravans are situated in the Cleavewood area of our Park, set in luscious paddocks with the woodland walk and trim trail on your doorstep. It’s great to read you enjoyed our Woolacombe shuttle bus, great value for going to the beach and visiting our sister Parks. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
1.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
782 reviews
1.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
804 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,746 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fortescue Arms
The Fortescue Arms
#3 of 4 in Woolacombe
105 reviews
4.0 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Coast Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Coast Holiday Village

Property: Golden Coast Holiday Village
Address: Station Road, Woolacombe EX34 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Coast offers a unique holiday experience with something for everyone to enjoy. Situated at the head of a picturesque valley, the Park can be as action-packed or indulgently relaxing as you with with all the facilities you could dream of to keep all ages entertained from dawn to dusk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Coast Holiday Village Hotel Woolacombe
Golden Coast Holiday Village Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing