We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden Coast, poor sleep”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Coast Holiday Village
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Golden Coast, poor sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Golden coast is in a good location , the caravan we booked was a Beach retreat and was ok but bedrooms were very tight on space with very poor mattress.
All other amnesties provided were adequate with continuous hot water and very efficient fridge.
We chose not to pay for a pass to the onsite club so can't comment.
Loads to do for children on site , including Pitch & Putt /Tennis/ in & out door swimming .
Good onsite Convenience store along with the Old Mill pub doing traditional pub food at reasonable prices.


  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banksy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your recent holiday. I am pleased that you found Golden Coast to be in a good location, and I hope despite finding the bedrooms small, that you enjoyed your caravan accommodation. It’s great to read you enjoyed your meals at the Old Mill Pub on site, with traditional pub food and specials. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    652
    363
    203
    232
See reviews for
1,476
191
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great place, lots to do for kids, lots to do in the local area, buses between parks and beach pay once for whole duration of holiday, also on normal bus route however food is expensive and very basic take your own or eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the wide variety of facilities we offer, whilst also exploring our fantastic location, and local attractions. I’m disappointed to read that you found the food basic; we offer several eateries on site, and I do hope you were able to find a menu that you could enjoy. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My family and I stayed in one of the static caravans in cleavewood. It was clean and tidy with everything we needed for the week. The accommodation was just right for our needs and as we expected. The swimming pools were clean along with the changing rooms. I found the staff friendly and helpful. Overall a great place to stay for the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I am very pleased to read that your accommodation met your expectations, and you found it to be clean and well equipped for your requirements. It’s great that you felt you received value for money, this is very important to us at Golden Coast. Keep checking the internet for fantastic returning offers. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great holiday, fifth year on the trot. Cannot fault. Counting down the days till we go again next year! Never enough time in the day to fit in the beach and all the activities at the park. Enough variety to keep all ages entertained. Love it.

Room Tip: We stayed in an exclusive caravan, the only fault was that the single beds are a bit small for adult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback, your kind words are much appreciated. I am very pleased that, as a returning guest, you have enjoyed many holidays here, and we cannot wait to welcome you back next year. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stunning location. We stayed in a 'Silver Lodge'. The bedrooms & Bathroom especially were very tired and dated. The Lodge was dirty on our arrival, and was told off for cleaning it myself by reception (afraid my children's health & safety rate much higher than Golden Coasts policies. The radiators were in desperate need of bleeding, and the beds were so hard we couldn't sleep and woke up with back aches. Only positive was the beautiful location. Hotel next time! You're gonna have to do more to temp people to holiday in the UK!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floss67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I am very sorry to read of your disappointment during your stay at Golden Coast. We have an ongoing refurbishment program in which we invest heavily, and have successfully refurbished many areas of the Park, however I have noted your comments regarding the bedrooms and bathroom in the Silver Lodges. I apologise if you feel you were “told off” by our Reception team; we normally ask you to report any problems you may encounter immediately so we can rectify them for you, but it would never be our intention to make you feel this way. The mattresses in the Silver Lodges were all brand new for the recent season, and we do our utmost to cater for as many individual preferences as we can, however I am sorry we did not succeed in this case. I am pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location, and I do hope you reconsider your decision not to return in the future. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Place is fantastic the bus service to the beach is definitely worth doing. The only downside was the mattress was like sleeping on a board. The evening entertainment was good fun. The kids entertainment is great fun and they get the adults involved to.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martine2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our Woolacombe shuttle bus, a very popular additional facility. I am sorry to read your mattress was uncomfortable, we have replaced many mattresses throughout the Park and do our utmost to ensure our guests comfort, however it is difficult to cater for each and every individual preference, but I do hope this did not detract from your holiday enjoyment. It’s wonderful to read you enjoyed the evening entertainment, and I will ensure your kind words are passed on. Keep checking the internet for excellent returning offers. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

A large site catering for the higher price bracket. Caravans were situated at the bottom of the site, 400m from the entertainment block, at least it was quite at night, but not suitable for the lesser abled as the slope was quite steep and vans close together. The newer flats/chalets looked a little better but still a bit Butlins 1960 ish. Entertainment block was quite suitable although designed to rid us of our pensions quite quickly, a pint of fizzy beer and a lemonade & lime over £6.00, captive audience if you wanted entertainment.
Our caravan was very dirty and dusty, carpet filthy, sofa smelling of age and in need of some tlc, dried boiled on food in saucepan, no covers to the mattresses, and so on. When complaining was asked if we would like the faults rectified!!. but could not clean carpet or seatee as this would require a proper cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your recent stay at Golden Coast. I have noted your comments regarding the Housekeeping problems you experienced, and have notified our Accommodation Manager. Had you spoken with our Reception team, they could have seen if there was any accommodation in a more suitable location for you had you wished. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
1.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
15.0 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
6.1 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Combe Martin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Coast Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Coast Holiday Village

Property: Golden Coast Holiday Village
Address: Station Road, Woolacombe EX34 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Coast offers a unique holiday experience with something for everyone to enjoy. Situated at the head of a picturesque valley, the Park can be as action-packed or indulgently relaxing as you with with all the facilities you could dream of to keep all ages entertained from dawn to dusk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Coast Holiday Village Hotel Woolacombe
Golden Coast Holiday Village Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing