We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday- 2nd-9th August '14”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolacombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Coast Holiday Village
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family holiday- 2nd-9th August '14”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Having read the reviews after booking the holiday I was incredibly worried about what we might be walking in to.
We booked a bronze villa as they're pet friendly, there were five of us and two dogs. The down side to getting there was it took us hours from the midlands, I recommend paying for early check in and leaving really early if you have to travel on the m5!!
We took cleaning products just in case and had the resolve that if it needed cleaning we would send the kids for a walk and spend half hour on making it clean, to my great delight this wasn't needed. To say it was a pet friendly accommodation there wasn't any evidence of previous pets having stayed.
The lounge area had a big enough table to seat 6 and probably more of chairs were available, there was a bench outside and a BBQ plate for disposables. Upstairs was carpeted and the curtains looked fairly new and modern. We had no dirt on mattresses like other reviews have mentioned but I will say they were very hard but it's not going to be to everyone preference.
Also the kitchen and bathroom we're clean, not the most modern but the bathroom had no mildrew on the shower curtain and the kitchen and cupboards were to a good clean standard.
Sorry for the lengthy review but I think some have been unfair and made me dread a holiday that was really very good for the money we paid.
We didn't use the entertainment on sight as the weather was gorgeous we were out most the time at the gorgeous beach and the near by town Ilfracombe. The kids used the surf simulator and loved every minute, this was a treat and budgeted for prior to arriving. It's £20 per go but they do deals with other activities so worth a read. The food was fast food what you would expect for grab and go. The old mill pub was very popular so arrive early and the prices were maybe a few pound higher than what we'd pay at home but was good quality, hot and arrived in the estimated time.
We will certainly be back :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful review; I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is also excellent to read that you experienced no problems with your accommodation. We do find TripAdvisor, due to its anonymous nature, can attract sometimes unwarranted negative reviews, and I am so pleased that you felt you received value for money. We can’t wait to welcome you back. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    689
    385
    213
    236
See reviews for
1,575
213
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

i must start by saying that i have been coming here for a long time now, and i am just as impressed every time. the rooms are usually clean and very tidy, and if something isn't quite up to a good standard, then the staff will be happy to assist. the entertainment is great every night and the presenters (Parkstars) are very energetic and engaging. if i had to make any complaints it would be about some of the facilities on offer, i found that places such as the large fishing pond weren't very well maintained, there were a huge number of baby fish and a very small proportion of large fish, as well as an upturned tree in the center of the pond that can prove very snaggy. as well as this although for the most part out home was clean, the bedding seemed quite old and needed replacing badly. it is a very good value for money holiday, and i will be back for sure :)

Room Tip: stay in the lodges, the homes are haunted (at least pine cones 2 was)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It’s wonderful to read that you have had many happy returning visits to Golden Coast, and we hope you are looking forward to many more. Our Entertainment team work very hard to provide excellent family entertainment, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed this. We have noted your comments regarding the fishing lake, and also the bedding. We look forward to having the pleasure of your company again in the future. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I recently stayed at Golden Coast Woolacombe with my grandchildren and have booked to return next year so that's an indication of how much they enjoyed themselves! I would however like to go round their facilities with a clipboard making a list of things they could improve on. Number 1 would be the toilets and changing facilities in the indoor pool, the toilets are horrendous and all because there's no-one going in every hour to sort them out. Number 2 would be to change the 'junk food menu' in the main lounge/entertainment area - Jamie Oliver would have his work cut out here! None of the accommodation is what you'd call cheap but the Bronze caravans need steam cleaning and new carpets, you wouldn't get away with it in a budget hotel so why expect to here? On a good note there's lots to do and all the staff are friendly and helpful, so overall it's about cleaning and catering making it very do-able management initiative.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It’s fantastic to read you have already booked for your 2015 holiday. We have noted the comments you have raised, and value all feedback as we constantly strive to improve our guests experience. We look forward to welcoming you back. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had the opportunity to stay at the Golden Sands recently, the location is amazing, very close to the beach and other tourist sites.
The site is in need of an update, we stayed in the pine lodges which certainly had seen better days. On arrival we had to clean the room and remove rubbish left from the previous occupants, on reporting this to reception they didn't seemed too bothered and when asked for cleaning materials so that we could clean the room, they stated "it wasn't golden sands policy to give cleaning equipment out to guests"!! so at our expense we bought equipment including a hoover! to clean the room before we could enjoy the location.

The site has wonderful facilities, 2 swimming pools and lots of amusement areas. We took up the chance to take part in the toddler swimming session. The 3 members of staff that ran this activity were excellent, they seemed to love their jobs and interacting with the residents.

Room Tip: you get what you pay for. Excellent trip for a budget holiday but don't expect reception custom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I am sorry to read of your disappointment on arrival to your accommodation, and I am sorry that you felt our Receptionists were not interested in your complaint. Customer service is of the utmost importance to us, especially our Reception team, but I will pass your comments on to avoid incidents of this nature in the future. It is against our policy to give out chemicals to guests, however our Reception would have offered a team of Housekeeping to attend and rectify any problems in your accommodation, so I am unsure as to why this was not done for you. I am pleased that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay, and you appreciated our fantastic location next to one of the most beautiful beaches in the UK. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We are a family of 5 with 3 children aged 3, 8 & 11. We visited on 4th July 2014 for 3 nights.
I liked that the park is in a good location. Woolacombe Beach is beautiful.
However the Golden Coast Holiday Village was a complete let down.
The caravan was disgusting, it was so dirty. After a 5 hour drive and a 3 hour wait for our van we just said well what do we expect. I did not want to up my 3 tired and excited children, to lets face it, probably another dirty caravan.(I have since tried to complain but you can't do this by email? I don't want money back or a return visit).
The mattresses had mould on them so did the curtains, the kitchen floor looked like something had previously died on it. There were crushed crisps and food crumbs on the sofa. Dust almost everywhere. The caravan was very worn and needs to be up graded. I do not mind dated if it's clean.
The bar/showroom or whatever it's called smelled of chip fat, constantly. The children's entertainment was a joke. It was of such poor quality. At least national chains have some standard when it comes to children's entertainment. They played a game one night where the kids had to stand in a park star corner and it made no sense and even the park stars seemed confused as to what they were doing.
The outdoor pool was nice enough. I'm quite peeved that the marketing material for the company, it mixes all its parks together so actually it the best bits of each park in the brochure, when you get there the only thing that I saw from the website and a leaflet was the over priced surf experience. I will not be returning to Golden Coast Holiday village if you paid me to.
Hi de Hi !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsG_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I am very disappointed to read your review. It would never be our intention for a guest to experience any Housekeeping issues, and I am sorry that your accommodation did not meet your expectations on arrival. Our feedback procedure is in the terms and conditions of booking, and states that if you wish to receive a response to your feedback, please ensure you send a signed letter as we need to comply with the Data Protection Act 1998. I am sorry to read that our entertainment program was not to your liking. Our entertainers work very hard and our entertainment is usually very popular throughout our guests, however unfortunately it is very difficult for us to suit every single individual taste. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked through the Sun paper, so wasn't expecting too much but was pleasantly surprised.
Chalet type accommodation was nice, clean and even had a washer/dryer which was very useful.
On-site pub was nice for food (although a little costly) and the food within the complex was nice too.
Staff friendly and pools clean and well-kept.
Would definitely come back! X

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joxmartx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am very pleased that your stay surpassed your expectations, and you appreciated the washer dryer in your accommodation. Keep checking our website to find fantastic returning offers, and we look forward to seeing you again. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

In the family there have been about 4 stays at Woolacombe Holiday Parks, within the last 4 years and as we have come to expect facilities are clean, well managed and generally very impressive compared to the expected UK holiday Park Stereotype!!!! The only things that let the site down were the chairs in our accommodation that required pushing back together at every sitting for food..... this would have been rectified if only the Missus would let me comment during our stay!!! and the same goes for the Sofa Bed. We paid for a 8 berth lodge which meant that people had to sleep on the sofa bed but this appears to be a regular occurrence and the sofa bed was EXTREMELY UNCOMFORTABLE and it did require 3 duvets to make it bearable. But having said that all site facilities are great, staff are awesome and if you do not come to one of the 4 sites you are mad!!!!! Love Woolacombe Bay Holiday Camps

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe_Bay, Director of Sales at Golden Coast Holiday Village, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are all so very pleased to read of your excellent return visit. As you have stated, if you advise us of any problems, we can rectify them for you, although I am very pleased that this did not detract from your holiday enjoyment, and we cannot wait to welcome you back. Aidan Glover - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolacombe
1.4 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
798 reviews
1.7 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
4.2 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woolacombe
817 reviews
7.3 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,196 reviews
4.0 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Coast Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Coast Holiday Village

Property: Golden Coast Holiday Village
Address: Station Road, Woolacombe EX34 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Woolacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Woolacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Coast offers a unique holiday experience with something for everyone to enjoy. Situated at the head of a picturesque valley, the Park can be as action-packed or indulgently relaxing as you with with all the facilities you could dream of to keep all ages entertained from dawn to dusk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Coast Holiday Village Hotel Woolacombe
Golden Coast Holiday Village Woolacombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing