We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay”
Review of The Old Mill

The Old Mill
Ranked #20 of 43 Restaurants in Woolacombe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“okay”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Says home cooked food but i was unsure if it was home cooked.
The staff were friendly but the food was average with not a lot of taste.
They even catered for a dog who the owner had ordered cheesy chips.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Estorial7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    98
    63
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The building of The Old Mill is very pretty as is the approach and the location of the Pub. I think the pub must take advantage of these qualities because the food really isn't good at all. 5 of us had Sunday lunch there and all of us decided to have the roast. Well first of all we had to climb stairs to go to what I can only describe as an institutionalised kitchen, rather like that found in some schools. There was no finesse about the room or the equipment at all. The choice of meats were roast chicken (or was it turkey) and ham. I have to say that the flavour of the meat was good but it was spoilt by being carved into very ungainly thick slices. The roast potatoes were tasty, but only because they were dripping in unhealthy fat. The vegetables were awful, really awful.

I would not eat here again, ever. What a shame, such a lovely location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ceciliamorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Poor quality food, small portions at expensive prices!!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We were away for the weekend stating in an apartment on the holiday park. It was my cousins birthday so we decided to go here on the Saturday night as it was near by. We went to the bar ordered our food, I ordered a Greek salad at £9.50 when it arrived the tomatoes still had their ends in so had to pull them off and the portion was so small , there was barley any olives or feta, I was still very hungry afterwards! The others had the hunters chicken which was a bit better but the portions varies massively from each other. There was no service from any staff and this place probably only survives due to the holiday park!! Need to review the quality and portions!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nattavp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“usual family pub”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

we ate at the old mill while staying at woolacombe bay holiday park, it was fine for one visit - fresh fish battered was really greasy but fresh. staff were helpful enough, no tabs allowed - normal for this type of place. good play area to keep kids entertained for an hour or so although difficult to keep an eye on them as there were trees between park and seating. although advertised everywhere saying ring to book your table, when we did we were told they did not book tables? overall an ok place

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor quality and over priced”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Lovely looking pub, friendly staff but the food was extremely disappointing!

Bog standard and un appetising, my fiancé who eats everything didn't finish a single meal, we weren't asked if the meal was ok by the staff, which was probably a good thing as I feel for the waiter as he would have got both barrels!

Please review your menu and quality of food as it's a huge let down to such a lovely looking pub

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holibobs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Mill also viewed

Mortehoe, Woolacombe
Woolacombe, Devon
 

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing