We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Mill

The Old Mill
Ranked #16 of 43 Restaurants in Woolacombe
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We visited as a couple while my parents looked after our son. We ordered 2 steak and chips, a diet coke and a pint of beer which came to about £30 which in my opinion is pretty average. The pub itself is pretty, excellent location on the park where we stayed and has a lovely play area with lots of outside seating.
The food wasn't bad, it was all cooked well enough but standard pub grub which for the price is exactly what id expect. Good choice of food on the menu my only criticism would be lack of healthy choices but again traditional pub, traditional food so cant complain. Bar staff were friendly and polite, food was delivered fairly quickly and again the server was polite and friendly.
If you're on the site id recommend eating here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mindfulfawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    93
    57
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Says home cooked food but i was unsure if it was home cooked.
The staff were friendly but the food was average with not a lot of taste.
They even catered for a dog who the owner had ordered cheesy chips.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Estorial7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The building of The Old Mill is very pretty as is the approach and the location of the Pub. I think the pub must take advantage of these qualities because the food really isn't good at all. 5 of us had Sunday lunch there and all of us decided to have the roast. Well first of all we had to climb stairs to go to what I can only describe as an institutionalised kitchen, rather like that found in some schools. There was no finesse about the room or the equipment at all. The choice of meats were roast chicken (or was it turkey) and ham. I have to say that the flavour of the meat was good but it was spoilt by being carved into very ungainly thick slices. The roast potatoes were tasty, but only because they were dripping in unhealthy fat. The vegetables were awful, really awful.

I would not eat here again, ever. What a shame, such a lovely location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ceciliamorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Poor quality food, small portions at expensive prices!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We were away for the weekend stating in an apartment on the holiday park. It was my cousins birthday so we decided to go here on the Saturday night as it was near by. We went to the bar ordered our food, I ordered a Greek salad at £9.50 when it arrived the tomatoes still had their ends in so had to pull them off and the portion was so small , there was barley any olives or feta, I was still very hungry afterwards! The others had the hunters chicken which was a bit better but the portions varies massively from each other. There was no service from any staff and this place probably only survives due to the holiday park!! Need to review the quality and portions!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nattavp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“usual family pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

we ate at the old mill while staying at woolacombe bay holiday park, it was fine for one visit - fresh fish battered was really greasy but fresh. staff were helpful enough, no tabs allowed - normal for this type of place. good play area to keep kids entertained for an hour or so although difficult to keep an eye on them as there were trees between park and seating. although advertised everywhere saying ring to book your table, when we did we were told they did not book tables? overall an ok place

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Mill also viewed

Mortehoe, Woolacombe
 

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing