We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Abbotsbury
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights when going to the Steve Knightley and Friends festival at Abbotsbury Gardens. We had a lovely welcome and the food really was top quality. An imaginative menu that delivered on all counts. The rooms are, as they make clear, basic, but were clean and had all we needed. We would definitely return. It would be a good base for a longer stay as there are lots of lovely walks from here - the sub-tropical gardens are beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debby890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello debby890

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Especially as it's still such early days for the business.

We're very much looking forward to being able to renovate the rooms, but in the meantime they seem to be proving popular which is great! Providing excellent food and friendly, efficient service is a strong priority for us, and the teams are all really falling into place.

There are certainly plenty of amazing walks to enjoy surrounding The Ilchester Arms, so we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Best wishes from everyone at The Ilchester Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    63
    31
    25
    15
See reviews for
61
129
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Called here for lunch after walking round the charming village of Abbotsbury and the surrounding area. Ate in the lovely beer garden on a glorious summers day and were impressed with both the food and friendly staff.Will return again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilbert12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Wilbert12

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. As a new family business this feedback is much appreciated! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the garden and were impressed by both the food and service, plus of course being able to soak up the charms of Abbotsbury village.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Best wishes from the Harrison family and everyone at The Ilchester Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We would thoroughly recommend this little gem of a pub/B&B. We booked last minute because we had planned on camping and the weather forecast was awful, so we booked this place because it was really reasonable, due to out of date bedrooms. When we got there we weren't expecting much, but our Four Poster Bedroom was immaculate, big, clean and delightful. The owners have really put some thought into this place, it's lovely and a great place to spend the evening/night. Everyone was very welcoming, the dinner we selected was delicious, an extensive wine list, friendly crowd watching the World Cup (which didn't interfere with our evening). The breakfast service was slow, but if you can accept that you will be drinking tea and reading the paper for a while, when it arrived it was delicious. We would like to come back and visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pea-person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Pea-person

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we haven't yet tackled the bedrooms they are proving really popular which is fantastic. We had an extremely busy weekend when you stayed so apologies for any wait that you had on the breakfast. We're glad that you were able to enjoy the papers and tea!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best wishes from the Harrison family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A friend and I visited the Ilchester Arms for lunch during a weekend break to Dorset. I had the mussels with chorizo as a main and my friend had the fish pie. Food was absolutely delicious and prepared to a very high standard - much better than you might expect from a village pub. The very lovely head chef Sean brought our food to the table and took the time to chat to us about the ingredients in both our meals - good to know it was all local and very fresh. He came back when we'd finished to see if we enjoyed it, which we found to be nice and attentive without being invasive. We also had the pleasure of meeting the owners Geoff and Cathy too - they went out of their way to make us (and all the other customers) feel extremely welcome and looked after.

The decor and atmosphere were spot on too. I'm not sure what the place looked like before it had been renovated but I loved how it looks now - it was stylish but with a real rustic charm. The attention to detail on everything from the presentation of the food, to the decor and how clean and fresh everything felt was fab.

Would highly recommend visiting if you're anywhere near beautiful Abbotsbury. We loved it and will definitely be back. Oh and don't forget to check out the wonderful view of St Catherine's Chapel out the back - proper picture postcard stuff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snellster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Owner at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Snellster

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and managed to meet so many of the team! We hope that you're able to come back and visit us again soon. Best wishes from everyone at The llchester Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed at the Ilchester Arms last Bank Holiday weekend and had a great time. Everyone was very friendly and made both my dog and I very welcome. Amazing walks in all directions either down to the coast or up onto the Downs. The food was great and the pub was always busy even though it had only recently reopened. Looking forward very much to returning next month.

Room Tip: As others have noted, the rooms are in the process of upgrading. They are perfectly adequate as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaharris19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello Lisaharris19

Thank you for your lovely review. It means a lot to have such positive feedback, so we're delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next month!

Best wishes from everyone at The Ilchester Arms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were in abbottsbury for 2 days and stayed here for 1 nite. The staff are amazing and work really to make sure everything you are completely satisfied, nothing is to much trouble. The food is lovely and the Sunday roast is a MUST. We will definitely be back. Well done to all and keep up the great work.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Owner at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello Debbie C, thank you so much for taking to time to leave us such a lovely review. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit - and our roasts are proving extremely popular so we'll ensure that we keep them on the menu!

Please do come and visit us again in the future.

Best wishes from everyone at The Ilchester Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We turned up looking like the bunch of hippies we are and were treated with deference and respect throughout. The service was matchless, the food outstanding. The milkshakes are to die for. Trust me...it was by consensus. Not overly pricy, and we loved the availability of a wide range of boardgames and books in the lounge bar. The kids meals were more than just sausage & chips. Much more. Absolutely worth a visit. Great atmosphere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pikewithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Owner at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello pikewithy, thank you so much for taking to time to leave such a lovely review. We aim to be welcoming to all guests, so we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

We're all putting an enormous amount of time and energy into creating a comfortable ambience and fantastic food, so we really appreciate receiving such positive feedback from our guests. We'd love to welcome you back again in the future.

Best wishes from everyone at The Ilchester Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbotsbury
7.2 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
47 reviews
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
609 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
451 reviews
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ilchester Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ilchester Arms Hotel

Property: The Ilchester Arms Hotel
Address: 9 Market Street, Abbotsbury, Weymouth DT3 4JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth > Abbotsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Abbotsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ilchester Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ilchester Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ilchester Arms Hotel Abbotsbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing