We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abbotsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elworth Farmhouse Cottages
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

If you are looking for a cosy bolt hole in Dorset you will find it here. Perfectly situated for exploring the gorgeous local area, it is well equipped for two, even three, people and the owner tries hard to make sure you have all you need. Plenty to do on the doorstep including the wonderful coast, local gardens and the Swannery. Didn't use pool or hot tub as weather was not too good when we were visiting (end Oct) but loved the garden and the peaceful setting and would happily return. Thanks Chris. X

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bopeep1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Beautiful cosy cottage, lovely period feel and very well equipped - how nice to have pretty bone china! We enjoyed the hot tub - even on a chilly October evening it was wonderfully warm and relaxing. Cottage is toasty warm and nicely furnished. Shower is perfectly adequate (despite other reviewers' comments) just a little old fashioned, which is fine in a property like this. Lovely meat and eggs from the farm. Chris was very welcoming and informative with loads of local knowledge, and the dog is cute! Definitely be going back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACTherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, Nederland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at Elworth Farmhouse cottage for almost THREE weeks!
The cottage is good equipped and felt cosy. The kitchen has everything you need.
Location of the cottage is really good for investigating the sights and countryside of beautiful Dorset and the Jurrassic Coast. Abbotsbury is a 5 minutes drive.
We were very lucky, because the weather was great for the time we spent in the Farmhouse cottage! The swimming pool and jacuzzi make it all very special. The setting with the beautiful garden makes it unique and a lovely and peaceful place to be. The scenery is superb!!

The shower/bath could do with a little bit of modernizing; take out the bath and have a walk-in shower!

Chris was very helpful, kind and close by! We really enjoyed our stay and we will try to return to the cottage some time. There's so much to see and do!

We wish everyone who will choose to stay at the farmhouse cottage a superb time, just like we had!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had an excellent weeks stay at this wonderful accommodation. The cottage is very spacious yet homely, very clean and tidy, with everything you could require plus more still!! In a good location, extremely close to Abbotsbury and the attractions there, Weymouth only 20 minutes away and Lyme Regis only 35 minutes. Chris, the owner was extremely helpful and on hand if needed. Would highly recommend to couples and families alike, our group ranged from 7 to 82 years and more than exceeded our expectations!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikepandsarahj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Poppys cottage. The cottage was extremely well equipped, especially for children, where everything we needed was available. The cottage was spotlessly clean and the owner was always on hand to answer any questions. A great week had by all, made even greater knowing that each evening we were returning back to such a lovely cottage!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie_Grocott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed a relaxing week's stay at Elworth Farmhouse cottage. The weather was good and we went in the lovely swimming pool and hot tub nearly everyday.

It is a historic thatched cottage furnished very tastefully in keeping with the age and style of the property. It is very comfortable, well equipped with beautiful gardens and surrounded by wonderful countryside.

We enjoyed the eggs, sausages and sirloin steak which we bought from West Elworth Farm next door.

Chris, the owner, is very helpful and informative; she made us feel very welcome. The picturesque walk into Abbotsbury from the cottage, along the ridge and coastal footpath was one of the many walks we enjoyed in the area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our stay in this charming thatched cottage with its many historic features was highlighted by the beautiful garden, swimming pool and hot tub. The cottage is wonderfully equipped with everything you could possibly need and far more facilities than expected. Free use of the WiFi being an added bonus. Chris, the owner, was always on hand to offer advice on where to go and what to do although most of the time we were content to enjoy the lovely gardens and laze by pool and thoroughly relax. All in all a hidden gem that certainly deserves its 4 star gold award. We hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abbotsbury hotels
0.0 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbotsbury Tea Rooms
Abbotsbury Tea Rooms
#1 of 6 in Abbotsbury
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elworth Farmhouse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elworth Farmhouse Cottages

Property: Elworth Farmhouse Cottages
Address: Abbotsbury, Weymouth, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth > Abbotsbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Abbotsbury
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Elworth Farmhouse Cottages Abbotsbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing