We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in a delightful village”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abbotsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wheelwrights Cottage
Ranked #2 of 6 Abbotsbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed for one night in lovely detached annexe. Greeted with cream tea on arrival. Warm and cosy with good shower and plenty of tea etc. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly hosts. Would definitely revisit if in the area.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

My partner and I stumbled across this tea room (and b&b) in Abbotsbury while on a trip out from our home in Weymouth.There are quite a few tea rooms in this village but this was the ONLY one open on a Monday! (yes this is the 21st century). But how lucky we were... the cream teas we had at Wheelwrights were absolutely wonderful and delicious. I am not normally someone who raves about cream teas not being a big scone lover as a rule...but I can honestly say the fruit scones here have converted me...the best I've ever eaten . Coupled with a generous supply of clotted cream and lovely raspberry jam...we left very full and very happy!
Can only recommend this place to anyone who visits the area and to try the scones even if they don't normally like them!
The couple who run the place seem very nice too.

Room Tip: We didn;t stay at the b&b on this occasion just for the cream teas, but the room did look lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachersbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I was inspired to walk the South Dorset Ridgeway having seen the Time Team archaeological program on the area on TV towards the end of 2012. Looking for someone to stay for the two days given to the walk, I happily came across Wheelwrights! On arrival my wife (my logistical backup) and I were given afternoon tea by Sue and Nigel in their house (what delicious home made scones!) and our whole stay was superb - excellent full English breakfasts, warm and cosy accommodation with shower room, knowledgable and extremely friendly hosts all stand out in the memory. We can thoroughly recommend this B&B and will return ourselves and, yes, I finished the walk!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaRon65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We go to an event in Abbotsbury every year in July which was cancelled due to the excessive rain at the time. Towards the end of the year we realised we had missed our yearly visit and decided to book a couple of days just prior to Christmas which also happened to be my birthday. We felt optimistic that even though it was winter it couldn't be as wet as July...., it was. We still had a lovely break and this was in no small part due to our good fortune in booking Wheelwrights. We concur with everything else that has been said before. Sue and Nigel treated us like relatives or friends and welcomed us into their home with a home made cream scones and freshly brewed tea and coffee. The B&B itself was great, a little thatched cottage attached to their home, spacious and spotless with a super shower. It is well suited to winter breaks too with good heating in both the bedroom and the bathroom. Sue and Nigel go the extra mile by supplying torches as it is very dark if you go out and night and also an electric blanket on the bed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginny54WestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We had a wonderful post Christmas break at Wheelwrights cottage. Sue and Nigel are very friendly and welcoming and have made Wheelwrights a really special place to stay. They are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area and make delicious cakes too! The room was perfect,clean and spacious yet cozy and the perfect place to come back to after a day out in the great British weather! The bed is huge and very comfortable and having our own door gave it the feel of a cottage rather than a room. We are hoping to revisit and we'd highly recommend a stay at the wheelwrights!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Sue and Nigel were warm and welcoming. The homemade scones upon arrival were wonderful. The room was clean, warm and well appointed. Nigel and Sue were very helpful in steering us toward the things we wanted to see. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast and would definitely stay there again if in that area of the U.K.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QTorch1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Our hosts welcomed us with their ready smiles and a delicious cream tea. There were several books in our room written by Nigel about the village which were useful. Our little thatched room was very comfortable and warm and also gave us the freedom to come and go as we pleased. We also enjoyed the delicious breakfasts. Sue and Nigel are, without a doubt, the best hosts we have experienced and we have no hesitation in recommending a stay at their B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbotsbury
0.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
47 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in West Bexington
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
663 reviews
7.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
515 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbotsbury Tea Rooms
Abbotsbury Tea Rooms
#1 of 6 in Abbotsbury
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelwrights Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelwrights Cottage

Address: 14 Rodden Row | Abbotsbury, Abbotsbury, Weymouth DT3 4JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth > Abbotsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Abbotsbury
Price Range: £65 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in a thatched en-suite bedroom at the back of a cottage, with independent entrance and off-street parking. Monsoon shower, TV, free wi-fi, tea and coffee-making facilities. Full English breakfast in the cottage: dietary preferences catered for. Free cream tea on arrival - in our garden if weather allows. Easy walking distance of local inns and restaurants for evening meals. On the South West Coast Path and the X53 bus service to Weymouth or Bridport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheelwrights Cottage Abbotsbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing