We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Recommended!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abbotsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wheelwrights Cottage
Ranked #1 of 6 Abbotsbury B&B and Inns
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely Recommended!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

What a fantastic stay... away from all the hustle and bustle! ... the best night sleep for a long time! The heavy duvets are made to snuggle up and 'forget the world outside'. Breakfast plentiful and the variety was outstanding....everything you wished for. Good base (the breakfast) for a long day walking around the coast. I was personally drawn to St. Catherine's Chapel and the views are outstanding. Hosts are very interesting/knowledgeable people and help you wherever they can, providing you with books and magazines - don't be shy to ask!
Tall people beware - old buildings have low ceilings and door frames (:-)!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uschi-Ursula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malleville, Owner at Wheelwrights Cottage, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Many thanks for your generous comments. Hope to see you here again some time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Sue and Nigel Melville made us very welcome at Wheelwrights, starting with a delicious cream tea when we arrived - and they are such interesting people. The cottage is attached to their home and stands, in effect, in their garden. It is a stone cottage with a thatched roof and is charming. You are about a mile or so from Abbotsbury Sub-tropical Gardens and Abbotsbury Swannery, with Chesil Beach a few minutes' further. Off-street parking is provided at the top of their garden, so is very convenient. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty. A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonFleet_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malleville, Owner at Wheelwrights Cottage, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay - and many thanks for your recommendation ! Best wishes, Sue and Nigel M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Best B&B we have ever stayed in by a mile. Great hosts, comfortable room with all the amenities you need, terrific cream tea on arrival, private parking (harder than you might think in Abbotsbury) and breakfast to rival Gordon Ramsay. Strongly recommended with no qualifications.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malleville, Owner at Wheelwrights Cottage, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Many thanks for your review: glad you enjoyed being with us and rated the breakfast so well !

Sue and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights but wished we could have stayed much longer. The welcome we recieved was outstanding, and very friendly. We were invited in for the most delicious cream tea before being shown to our accomodation, which was a very luxurious self contained space with an extremely comfortable bed.The drink making facility had a lovely selection of teas. Breakfast was very tastey and was of a very high quality. We would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Booked Wheelwrights after reading other reviews & it is a real gem of a place to stay. Sue & Nigel welcomed us with a delicious cream tea & then took us to our accommodation - this was very comfortable & had everything needed for an enjoyable stay - also had it's own entrance. Had the weather been a bit better we could have enjoyed a cup of tea in their gardens. Breakfast is served at a time to suit you - a lovely touch, the full english was excellent. Abbotsbury is lovely with many places to visit, including the Sub-Tropical Gardens & Sue & Nigel are so interesting & knowledgeable about the area. We loved staying here & were made so welcome, we shall certainly be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiteparish
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I determined to stay at Wheelwrights after reading the earlier reviews, and can only say that all the earlier plaudits are well earned by Nigel and Sue. The welcome could not be more friendly and the room lived up to expectations as well. It was an unalloyed pleasure to stay for two days. Just a shame the weather was not as welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithWhiteparish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here to spend a few days with friends who had booked a week in a self-catered holiday cottage. Upon arrival we were offered cream tea which was such a welcome treat. The room itself is on the groud floor with its own entrance and is equipped with everything that you need. You also have access to the gardens which are laid out as separate little rooms as an extension to the tea rooms. A full English Breakfast is served at a time to suit you and sets you up for the day ahead. Nigel and Sue are such an interesting couple, giving us lots of tips about places to visit in the locality. Abbotsbury is a beautiful village to visit, lying as it does between rolling hills and chisel beach, and Wheelwrights Cottage is ideally located close to the centre of the village.

Room Tip: There is only one room - grab it while its available! And if it's not, then pop in for a cream t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustJane63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbotsbury
0.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
48 reviews
3.8 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in West Bexington
235 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
774 reviews
11.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelwrights Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelwrights Cottage

Property: Wheelwrights Cottage
Address: 14 Rodden Row | Abbotsbury, Abbotsbury, Weymouth DT3 4JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth > Abbotsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Abbotsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Wheelwrights Cottage Abbotsbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing