We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very welcoming B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wheelwrights Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abbotsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wheelwrights Cottage
Ranked #1 of 6 Abbotsbury B&B and Inns
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very welcoming B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just chatting to Nigel on the phone when arranging our booking, we suspected that this was going to be a really good place to stay ..... and so it turned out. We were welcomed with a cream tea in the garden and shown to our delightful room in the thatched extension. An excellent nights sleep ahead of a long days walking on the Jurassic Coast. Breakfast was superb and Nigel and Sue were so interesting and informative about the area. A delightful place to return to, both Abbotsbury and Wheelwrights.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 173RobG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malleville, Owner at Wheelwrights Cottage, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Many thanks for your review - it's always good to hear that people not only enjoyed staying with us, but took the trouble to go public over that !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a joy, such friendly, warm welcome with delicious cream tea. Great accommodation, first class furnishing & fittings. Electric blanket, blankets and central heating that works, every comfort catered for. Fantastic breakfast and such lovely interesting people. Nigel & Sue were just perfect hosts, nothing too much trouble but not over the top. Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden room, didn't see any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malleville, Owner at Wheelwrights Cottage, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Many thanks for your generous review ! Hope the archery went well, and we're looking forward to seeing you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Sue and Nigel were extremely welcoming and helpful from my first email enquiry- prompt responses and plenty of handy tips throughout. They even sent me some leaflets on the local area, as well as a map to help me find them as there is some work going on in the village which has limited access via the main road.
I was only staying for one night as I was a guest at a wedding nearby- having reviewed other accommodation options in the area, Wheelwrights sounded like the nicest one and I wasn't disappointed! Despite arriving earlier than I had planned (driving from Southampton airport), Sue and Nigel were extremely hospitable and showed me to my room straight away. The room was comfortable, ideal temperature with blankets if it got chilly in the night (which it didn't), hairdryer, TV, and tea/coffee facilities- everything you could need. The bathroom was also great, strong, hot shower and plenty of soaps/shower gels to choose from. Having the separate entrance to the room was ideal for me as I knew I'd be returning quite late from the wedding so it meant I didn't have to worry about disturbing anyone. It was also great to have private parking as it seems that this isn't the case in all B&Bs in the area.
The breakfast the next morning was plentiful and delicious and my only regret is that it was such a short visit. The location is ideal for exploring the Jurassic coast and I hope to return with my husband so we can explore this area of the country more and, if it's available, I would certainly stay at Wheelwright's again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephgrace979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malleville, Owner at Wheelwrights Cottage, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi.
Many thanks for your generous review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you made Bristol Airport in time for your flight home. Looking forward to welcoming you back some time, with your husband !

Sue and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

What a fantastic stay... away from all the hustle and bustle! ... the best night sleep for a long time! The heavy duvets are made to snuggle up and 'forget the world outside'. Breakfast plentiful and the variety was outstanding....everything you wished for. Good base (the breakfast) for a long day walking around the coast. I was personally drawn to St. Catherine's Chapel and the views are outstanding. Hosts are very interesting/knowledgeable people and help you wherever they can, providing you with books and magazines - don't be shy to ask!
Tall people beware - old buildings have low ceilings and door frames (:-)!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uschi-Ursula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malleville, Owner at Wheelwrights Cottage, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Many thanks for your generous comments. Hope to see you here again some time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Sue and Nigel Melville made us very welcome at Wheelwrights, starting with a delicious cream tea when we arrived - and they are such interesting people. The cottage is attached to their home and stands, in effect, in their garden. It is a stone cottage with a thatched roof and is charming. You are about a mile or so from Abbotsbury Sub-tropical Gardens and Abbotsbury Swannery, with Chesil Beach a few minutes' further. Off-street parking is provided at the top of their garden, so is very convenient. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty. A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonFleet_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malleville, Owner at Wheelwrights Cottage, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay - and many thanks for your recommendation ! Best wishes, Sue and Nigel M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Best B&B we have ever stayed in by a mile. Great hosts, comfortable room with all the amenities you need, terrific cream tea on arrival, private parking (harder than you might think in Abbotsbury) and breakfast to rival Gordon Ramsay. Strongly recommended with no qualifications.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malleville, Owner at Wheelwrights Cottage, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Many thanks for your review: glad you enjoyed being with us and rated the breakfast so well !

Sue and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights but wished we could have stayed much longer. The welcome we recieved was outstanding, and very friendly. We were invited in for the most delicious cream tea before being shown to our accomodation, which was a very luxurious self contained space with an extremely comfortable bed.The drink making facility had a lovely selection of teas. Breakfast was very tastey and was of a very high quality. We would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbotsbury
0.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in West Bexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
18.0 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
7.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelwrights Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelwrights Cottage

Property: Wheelwrights Cottage
Address: 14 Rodden Row | Abbotsbury, Abbotsbury, Weymouth DT3 4JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth > Abbotsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Abbotsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Wheelwrights Cottage Abbotsbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing