We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Beautiful Gardens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens

Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted the Historic Houses Association /Christie's Garden of the Year 2012. Acclaimed by Alan Titchmarsh as "one of the finest Gardens I have ever visited." Regularly featured on TV, most recently for a BBC Gardeners' World feature on camellias, with the excellent Carol Klein and expert Jennifer Trehane, and in James Wong's outstanding episode of the BBC's Great British Garden Revival series, on tropical gardens. Established in 1765.
cutchogue, new york
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

While visiting England and the Abbotsbury Swannery, we took time to also visit the Subtropical Gardens. What a spot! Gorgeous gardens with diverse plantings and foliage, meandering paths and striking outlooks - worth very effort for both serious and amateur garden lovers!!!

Our only regret was that we had only an hour before closing time............

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank newsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    219
    85
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Paradise in Dorset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is an extraordinary, vast and beautiful garden full of fantastic vistas and amazing plants. There is a nice restaurant and a good shop, with a wide selection of plants and tasteful items such as cards and bags: someone with a good eye for their target market is doing the buying here.

The reviews here show some complaints for the cost of entry (around £10 at time of writing) and the lack of a discount for seniors. In reality most of the visitors here are seniors, so the only way a "discount" for seniors would work in my mind would be to charge adults even more. Not every attraction can be available for £6: and this one must require armies of gardeners tending the many acres. This is not a garden where much of the maintenance can be done with a tractor-mounted mower. Well worth the money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James_and_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Okay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Gardens were not well posted; can go through in thirty minutes. Cafe was nice. Gift shop was also nice with a nice selection of items.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eureka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bickington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We arrived at 3.45 and dithered about going in to this attraction as it was £10.95 per person and we were told, in no uncertain terms by the lady who took our money, that it would close at 5.00pm prompt and that the car park would be locked at 5pm and not a minute later! When we asked what would happen if we didn't make it back by 5pm we were told our car would be locked in!! Hardly a friendly greeting.... We decided to go in and the time we spent, although short, was very enjoyable and the gardens are well worth seeing. The plants in the shop were excellent value, we didn't eat as the coffee shop closed at 4pm. This is a lovely place, it's just a shame that on such a beautiful day they close at 5pm when it doesn't get dark until much later. Am not sure why. They also need staff to be far more welcoming and helpful .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnieH141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A beautiful garden with so many mature unusual trees.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

It was peaceful and although busy there were so many different paths it was possible not to meet others. Dogs were allowed on leads, we hadn't taken ours because of also visiting the Swannery where they are not allowed. The plants and trees were wonderful - many not known by me and to see such huge tree specimens is amazing today.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SusannahG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Abbotsbury Subtropical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing