We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to return!”

Abbotsbury Childrens Farm
Attraction details
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We have visited the children's farm and gardens for a few years now and also a few special events and my children love this place! I have a 9 and 3 year old and there is always plenty to keep them busy, finally somewhere that keeps us all entertained all day long! The staff are really friendly and take the time to answer every question my daughter throws at them. The new tractors are a favourite with lots of places for mum and dad to rest their legs. The gardens gave us a great afternoon walk with lots of exploring for the children and a bit of peace for us! Can't wait to go back again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lkelly61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    73
    43
    47
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place for kids and not too big”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was a lovely afternoon out in early June (2014) on the last day of our holiday and only a few miles from our rented residence at Osmington, near to Weymouth beach resort.
It was a beautiful sunny day-the breeze kept the heat off- and well worth the trip although we did not realise the Swannery, which we intended to visit initially (baby swan - cygnet- hatching time) was a separately paid visitor centre with a free car park, down the lane from here. -We missed it because we were having so much fun with our 3 year old twin grandchildren. The four month old was a little too young to join in! We paid in the visitor shop to get into the farm and they give a sticker for your coat/jumper/shirt etc.
The animals appeared healthy and well and were in pens which were clean and tidy. The first thing we saw was a clay model cow, quite large, sitting on a green clay hill and it had squeezable udders so the children could have a go at milking the cow, but with water coming out into a bowl underneath. I thought the clay hill the cow stood on was a bit steep and dangerous as our grandson kept falling off it, better to keep it flat or find a better way of displaying it. But fun all the same! There were goats, -which jumped up the fence of the pen so we stood back a bit here, lambs, sheep, Shetland ponies and guinea pigs (cavies) the guinea pigs were in a pen which children could walk into and sit down, providing they were supervised by an adult and with a member of staff and the children were holding them if they wanted to. There was hand sanitizing equipment (as in hospitals) on the side to cleanse your hands afterwards. There were also fully grown horses in stables (two) and two pigs which were sunning themselves in an open pen. There was a play park for kiddies with sit on toys and a boating lake which you could play with toy boats from the side, -not sure if this was an extra cost- as we did not use it. There was a long tithe barn with some history of the Abbey estate to whom the farm belonged, painted on the wall and some inside childrens activities, a ball pool -which we adults joined in- a huge bouncy castle with slide and a separate climbing frame arrangement made with ropes -we didn't use that part! We then made our way to the café, it was 3.55 pm and they closed at four, but the lady in there was lovely, they all were, accommodating our noisy crowd of 6 adults the very tired 3 years old twins and a sleeping baby. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they stayed open for us without making us feel as if we were a nuisance. I think the lady's name was Elme. She was a complete delight and took great interest in the children. It made all the difference to our day. A note to potential visitors, we purchased three cream teas with cappuccino's or lattes at £5.25 each, two hot Cornish pasties and one sandwich, crisps and other drinks in all, we spent about £45.00. Very reasonable we thought. We then set off for the Swannery but as previously said, the last entry ticket was 4 pm as they closed at 5 pm sharp, so after a 10-15 minute walk down the lane, we missed out. The men walked back to get the cars from our paid car park at the top (£3 per car after 3 pm-we arrived at 3.05pm)
and drove down to pick us all up. It was a fantastic afternoon but a shame we missed the Swannery. Maybe next time. - A note to potential visitors at the farm, the toilets were clean and presentable and everyone was very helpful and happy to talk to you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best day out in a long time!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had the pleasure of taking our 4 year old nephew here for a day out. All being very excited about our day out together we headed to the Swannery car park then took a short walk back to the farm. The sun was shining and the day was perfect! Cheaper than we expected to pay and much more fun than we anticipated! Lovely being able to feed the lambs and guinea pigs not forgetting the £2 pony ride for the children! We will definitely be back :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good day out when combined with the swannery”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Visited 10th june. 2 adults and 2 kids (4 &14). Ok so lets deal with the 2 big complaints I have seen on here. 1 the price it is a little over priced we paid about 40.00 for the multi pass. 2 the size yes the farm is small but as a family we loved it. We arrived via the X53 from weymouth and undertook the adventure that is walking to the park the signage needs improving, for a reasonably active family the walk was fine once we found our way. We arrived just before the 10am opening thats busses for you. We found all the staff to be friendly and inviting. We could have rushed round and seen the whole park in the 15 minutes mentioned in other reviews but as we pretty much had the farm to ourselves for about 45 minutes we took our time. The kids loved the quoites boards even the 14 year old. The water play was fun and they had to think about what they were doing. The animals were well kept and happy. Both children and my wife enjoyed feeding the guinea pigs would have liked to have seen at least a couple of adult chairs though, also couldnt the rabbits have been brought into the feeding area for a little more hands on. The lamb racing was fun with all the visitors cheering them on. The bottle feeding was well organised as was the walk a lamb afterwards. The slide seemed to be missing from the hay arera. My 4yo loved the peddle tractors and the whole family loved the seesaw swing thing. We didnt do the horse ride but it did seem a little short for the 2.00 extra charge. The indoor play area was well kept and both children enjoyed while I entertained myself with the interesting smugglers info boards. We took a packed lunch with us as we always do but still ordered a couple of teas, the prices were a little high for the restaurant and my wife was upset when she was informed that the loose leaf tea we saw on the menu was no longer avalible. The shop was well stocked and some items well priced other were quite expensive. I would have liked a few more information boards on each of the animals including information in general such as you get with a zoo and more biography on each animal there was some back story forna couple of animals such as the donkeys. I feel that the ride length for the horse ride should be longer or the rosette which is an additional 2.75 or so should be included. All points taken into consideration me and my family will definitely be back in the future and have already recommended the trip. Remember to save some energy for the walk out as it is a little steep could be problematic for buggies and crutch users.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilchester
2 reviews
“Very welcoming and fun for young ones!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely afternoon at the farm today. My son had a great time and would have stayed longer if I'd let him!
They were so welcoming to military families which was a lovely surprise! Pony ride was sweet and my son was thrilled to cuddle some of the animals.
Very impressed with all the bouncy castles, ride ons, indoor play area, etc.
We'll be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaaraGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbotsbury Childrens Farm also viewed

 

Been to Abbotsbury Childrens Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing