We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful sun trap garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Abbey House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Abbotsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Abbey House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Abbotsbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Beautiful sun trap garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

My pot of tea was reasonably priced, my ginger beer was cold. The man serving was very helpful, recommending a safer and more picturesque route to wak to nearby Portesham and also where to eat there (handily, in my b and b). The cream teas looked great. Lovely view frm the garden if the village barn and church in the hill. I bet the rooms here are gorgeous too (I have nothing at all to back up this opinion)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansieryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    22
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
77
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Came in for a late lunch one day and loved it so much I booked a table for my mothers 80th birthday last Monday lunchtime, it was fabulous, my elderly parents can be very picky but they couldn't find fault with anything. So well done have been recommending you to friends and we will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

a charming garden with views of tithe barn and countryside with local Portland crab sandwiches on offer generously filled- fantastic local fare! Good service without being obtrusive-
summary lovely setting with lots of good looking food on offer

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Just can't stop coming back to the tea room here. The location is fabulous, the welcome is second to none and the food is wonderful. What more can you ask? Whenever we plan a get together with friends or family the Abbey House is always first choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week and it was spot on for a relaxing few days. Truly wonderful location, quiet, superb setting in the grounds of an old abbey. About as "picture postcard" as it gets. Great friendly hosts, afternoon tea on the lawn, top class breakfast with plenty of choice. We stayed in the Monk's room - not ensuite but has its own private bathroom adjacent - perfectly ok and don't let this put you off if all other rooms are full !! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed here for the long weekend at the end of March with my girlfriend so this review is well overdue. From the moment we stepped in we were impressed by the friendly atmosphere and cosy nature of The Abbey House. Jonathan and Maureen were charming hosts and only too willing to help in any way possible.

The breakfasts were tasty and the house and garden beuatifully presented. I would heartily recommend it to anyone.

Philip

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aust, Qld
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

England countryside at its most authentic and beautiful. The Abbey House is elegant but yet great value for money. We paid 75GBP for bed and breakfast and it was the best ever. home made muesli and croissants and a full choice of cooked breakfasts. Wonderful afternoon teas on the lawn. Our room had a separate bathroom, private, not shared, but this did not concern us at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EerwahVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbotsbury
0.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
7.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey House

Property: The Abbey House
Address: Abbey House Church Street, Abbotsbury, Weymouth DT3 4JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth > Abbotsbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Abbotsbury
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Abbey House Hotel Abbotsbury
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey House Abbotsbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing