We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class accommodation”
Review of The Abbey House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Abbotsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Abbey House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Abbotsbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First Class accommodation”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An extremely friendly family run B&B offering excellent, comfortable accommodation and excellent breakfast with wonderful views across countryside. Just wished they offered an evening menu as well as their excellent lunch as there is not anywhere anygood within walking distance to dine in the evening. However would recommend the Kings Arms pub for dinner which is just a short drive away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    24
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
84
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Wonderful b&b! Having read glowing reviews we knew it would be special but it was even better than we'd hoped. Amazing location, beautiful room, delicious food and Jonathan and Maureen are the perfect hosts. This is probably the best b&b we've ever stayed at.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherJS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Buryan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A lovely old house in the midst of the ruins of a medieval abbey. Add to that views of sea and hills and an ancient tithe barn! Then add luxurious rooms with ultra-comfortable beds and two comfortable arm chairs ( so often forgotten in B and B's ). Following that add extremely welcoming hosts who create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and you have something very special. I have even forgotten to mention the lovely breakfast, where they offer everything from Full English ( plus a wonderful way of making fried bread ) to kippers and continental options. We will definitely be back and will be recomending the Abbey House to our relatives and friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillisCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This is a must if you are anywhere in the area within a 30 min drive, you won't be disappointed. Being quite an active person myself I find it very easy to enjoy a new experience within a one hour walk or drive every time I go back.

Every food item I have ever eaten from here is incredible (breakfast, lunch, tea room/lawn). Hospitality is appropriate to your party (they can be very professional or extremely personable), the atmosphere and views are quintessential of the English country side.

HUNGRY / TIRED ? The Abbey House is the place to go!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is our second stay here and we suggested to our friends we stay here as it was so nice last time. We were not disappointed as it was another lovely stay. Jonathan and Maureen are a delightful couple and very welcoming. The place is spotless and the food well presented. Our friends were very impressed and will also come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My Daughter and I, stopped here for the first time, despite visiting Abbotsbury on many occasions, for an afternoon tea.
As we approached we felt like we were walking into someone's private garden - but found this to be the garden of The Abbey House. Beautifully kept.
We went inside to enquire as to whether they were open for afternoon tea, as we had noticed everywhere else in Abbotsbury, including the Sub-tropical gardens, to be closed, even on this very sunny afternoon.
We were welcomed by a lovely lady - who kindly seated us in at a window table, over looking the gardens. I had a lovely cream tea, with a warm scone, jam & clotted cream and my Daughter ordered the warm chocolate cake served with clotted cream, that made her eyes light up, and a lemonade.
We enjoyed our little treat - just the two of us, and we commented that the room we sat in was very homely, and welcoming, with family photos.
While we ate, a couple arrived, who were obviously staying overnight and they were also very warmly welcomed.
The gentleman, who served our cake was also extremely friendly. It was a pleasure to be welcomed, when so often these days, people don't seem to care if you eat in their establishment or not!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyDidda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Abbey House scores top marks for everything we look for in a B&B - hospitality, comfort, cleanliness and tranquillity. The fact that it is located on the site of an 11th century abbey gives it added charm and interest. The B&B itself is the old Infirmary, giving great character to the rooms - our son's bathroom used to be a monk's hole! We arrived in the dark but a glance out of the window next morning revealed more mediaeval treasures including the 14th century tithe barn and hilltop chapel.

We stayed in two rooms (St Catherine's and Monks) on the first floor, both nicely decorated and thoughtfully equipped, including efficient wi-fi. St Catherine's is the larger room with a half-tester bed and a nice seating area, but our son was happy in the smaller but comfortable Monks next door. Room prices very reasonable especially out of season.

Host Jonathan is a consummate professional, welcoming and helpful with dining suggestions and advice on the local area. We dined at the KIng's Arms, a very nice pub in the next village with excellent food and service.

Breakfast at Abbey House was as good as expected with ample choice and quality produce. They also have a tea room in season and cater for house parties for special occasions.

Abbey House will be the first place we call when in the Weymouth area - just hope no one else finds out about it;-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbotsbury
0.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
261 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
631 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
459 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey House

Property: The Abbey House
Address: Abbey House Church Street, Abbotsbury, Weymouth DT3 4JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth > Abbotsbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Abbotsbury
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Abbey House Hotel Abbotsbury
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey House Abbotsbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing