We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B - wonderful food, wonderful hosts, wonderful building!”
Review of The Abbey House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Abbotsbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Abbey House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Abbotsbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights and the standard of everything was just great. The hosts are very helpful, and even managed to get us a table at a resaurant for an evening meal. Just so relaxing. Breakfast is superb - try the homemade muesli! We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay. The hosts are charming and couldn't be more helpful. Our room was very pretty and comfortable with a range of drinks available (coffee, herbal teas, breakfast tea, hot chocolate etc.) There were even little Belgian chocolates left on our bedside tables each day! All the food is locally sourced and of a high quality. We had delicious breakfasts every day. Home cooked lunches and afternoon teas are also available.

The setting is beautiful with spacious well kept grounds and a lawn stretching down to the mediaeval tithe barn belonging to the old monastery. Guests are made extremely welcome and I would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bach1Warwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

All I can say about this place is that I cannot recommend it more heartily! Everything we experienced there was wonderful, ranging from our beautiful, romantic room to the amazing food served to us. The hosts could not have been more accommodating to us (a couple of rather stinky hikers!). Staying there was like a little bit of heaven.
It is in a beautiful location, lots to see if you are hiking like we were....we knew Abbey House was going to be pretty good, but everything about it blew us away. Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Lovely building, lovely location and lovely breakfast.. enough said.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whooshtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Stayed for 4 nights whilst walking coast path. Owners couldn't have done more to make our stay any better. Fabulous breakfasts, packed lunches, cream teas - all in an idyllic location. Views from our rooms over fabulous garden, Abbey ruins, countryside and sea. Plenty to do and see in the pretty village too. WONDERFUL !!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

This Bed and Breakfast is really cosy and admirable. It has a lovely garden where you an eat breakfast, and the children can play. The rooms are creatively furnished, and very practical. There is a nice drawing room downstairs as well. The beds are very comfortable and it is obvious the owner has pride about his home. The breakfast is a full english breakfast. I would recommend eating on the lawn.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MR1234Hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Found this place by searching on the Internet - and were delighted with our one night stay. The hosts were very welcoming, the room well furnished and comfortable. There was everything we could wish for, including an excellent range of food on offer at breakfast. The location is fantastic, too. Would love to return in summer and have that breakfast in the garden.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sunseeker53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbotsbury
0.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
292 reviews
3.7 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
7.5 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
506 reviews
12 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey House

Address: Abbey House Church Street, Abbotsbury, Weymouth DT3 4JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth > Abbotsbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Abbotsbury
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Abbey House Hotel Abbotsbury
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey House Abbotsbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing