We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - Out of my price range but great wooden items”
Review of Dansel Gallery

Dansel Gallery
Ranked #7 of 10 things to do in Abbotsbury
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: gallery and tea shop Open 10 to 5.30 everyday of the week
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow - Out of my price range but great wooden items”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Beautiful items, crafted from a wide variety of woods.Well worth a visit if you want to see how good wood can be. But almost 7 grand for a cupboard is way out of my range - but it looked fantastic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Inspirational Woodcrafts”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

An amazing wood craft shop with hundreds of unique designs. Called in here whilst driving along the wonderful Dorset coastline.
Everything from simple wooden bookmarks to amazing furniture valued at several thousand pounds. Whatever your budget, this is well worth a visit. There are many very original designs to suit all tastes. There are some items for younger shoppers but it's not the best place for your kids unless you have calm nerves or have them well controlled.
A small car park is available and a small cafe area (which was very quiet when we were there. More just for a cup of tea rather than a meal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Abbotsbury & Dansel Gallery”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I was staying in Portland and Abbotsbury and the Dansel Gallery were recommended to me, so off I trotted. The village is absolutely lovely it is a real chocolate box street of thatched cottages all of which are really well kept. There are a couple of places to eat and have a drink. Also worth a visit is the Dansel Gallery that has fabulous things made of wood I think from all over the UK. There are smaller things like keyrings, light pulls, bookmarks and kitchen bits like chopping boards up to pieces of lovely furniture.
They have a small car park but if you need to park elsewhere the only place that is obvious is a car park just by the Swan Inn pub this is on your left as you enter the village from Weymouth. Dansel is further down the street on the right.

There are public toilets further down the street from Dansel around the corner at the end of the street.

I believe the Swannery is worth a visit and you will need to drive further on to see that. I arrived after 5pm - the last entry was 5 and also the heavens opened so I turned the car around and drove on!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TiggyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful hand crafted wood furniture and gifts”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The products on sale in this Gallery are very high quality and may be heirlooms in the future. You may need a reasonably deep pocket but it's worth a browse.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poynton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wood”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

For anyone interested in working with wood or buying items made from wood then this is a must place to visit. Everything in the gallery is made from wood whether it,s small items such as earrings or household items such as furniture its all there. There are carved birds, animals, bowls etc.
There is also a small cafe as part of the gallery serving tea, coffee and small bites.
I highly recommend a visit if you are in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dansel Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Dansel Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing