We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Dorset Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East Farm House B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Abbotsbury
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Dorset Home”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

OUR DORSET HOME
Our favourite place to stay - East Farm House. It suits us perfectly. In fact, we've visited so often over the past 10 years that it's almost like having a second home; so much so that we forget to sign the visitor's book! Our last stay was in March this year 2014 and we've just booked another 3 nights in September.
East Farm House is warm, inviting, clean and homely - a proper home not a hotel. We have stayed in many B & B's over the past 30 years - some we'd not return to for various reasons - location, lack of facilities, sometimes just not the right ambience. We wouldn't consider wasting time writing comments about those places. We are true belivers in positive praise or none at all. We thoroughly enjoy staying in Abbotsbury - everyone's so friendly. It's a little oasis of old English charm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    9
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Iver, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our room was full of very dusty artificial flower arrangements, dolls and teddies, and there were cobwebs everywhere. The dining room was really smelly and dark and again littered with dolls, cuddly toys, dried flowers and other oddities. I just wanted to give the place a good clean, de-clutter and remove the cracked tea cups that we were expected to drink out of! Breakfast was disappointing as all that was on offer for a Continental Breakfast was 2 choices of cereal and toast - a serious lack of attention to detail, choice and customer satisfaction. Abbotsbury is such a beautiful place, spend your money elsewhere as there are far better places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Our stay at East Farm B&B was delightful. Wendy was a great host, very friendly and helpful, even to the fact of doing a load of washing for us!! After reading the other reports on Tripadvisor ( we hadn't done so before we stayed at East Farm House) - I feel some people are quite mean in their comments. The building is ancient. There are eons of family history in every room. It is a working farm. If you want to be doted on, then stay in a luxury hotel. Coming from Australia we found our stay enormously atmospheric with the whole olde worldy décor. Our breakfast was more than enough and very tasty. If you want white and uncluttered with the sparse look, then don't stay here. But if you want homely and eccentric then this is the place for you. My only negative comment is that our room was a tad cool for us, but I'm sure that would have been sorted if we'd asked. We didn't need to though as we had an early night and the beds were comfy and warm. Thankyou Wendy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We loved it here - very welcoming, went out of her way to be helpful - happily accepted an interflora delivery for us whilst we were enroute - room was lovely - no complaints at all and internet access is very, very good = good breakfast and a lovely farm = one of the best b nd b we have visited in a glorious location - we are walkers and Wendy was always on hand with advice about local walks = we loved our stay here - what more can you want a nice clean room with good facilities and a good breakfast in an amazing area - think we will probably return here!

Room Tip: We had the harvest room which was excellent in every way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sceatsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed for one night over a bank holiday weekend while walking the South West Coast Path. Wendy's emails were very friendly and helpful in arranging the booking. When we arrived Wendy was out the back (cleaning out the chickens) but she had left good instructions as to how to make ourselves heard (rattle the gate to get the dogs barking). Wendy's house is full of "knickknacks" and other stuff, including stuffed ducks, dolls, knitted stuff mice etc and our room was no exception - an explosion of floral and lace, but we did find it all to be quite clean. I am not a fan of a macerator/sani-flow bathroom plumbing system (mostly because of the noise in the night and lingering smell) but it's often the only option when plumbing is old. Overall, it's not my kind of place, but the water was hot, the beds very comfortable and the breakfast kept me going, so no complaints from me.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirsti1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Just returned and have stayed there a few times now.

Stables and pet ducks out the back. I believe it was built in the 1700s. Walking distance from amenities and lovely people.

Decorated in a sort of Victorian style, our room was clean and spacious - quite a surprise for such an old building!

National chain hotels have their place, but this is an experience you won't forget!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sixties_Music_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We've been visiting this B & B since 2002. We found Wendy in the AA B & B guide rated 3 star (We have found 3 or 4 star suit us best). The official inspectors are objective and very accurate with their gradings. East Farm House is clean, comfortable and cosy. Breakfasts are wholesome (fresh farm eggs) and well cooked. We love the atmosphere of the 17th century cottage and the magical feel of Abbotsbury. We feel very lucky to have found and shared this wonderful family home.

Room Tip: What was called the Green room (which is now peach!) But all bedrooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbotsbury
0.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
3.8 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
7.4 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Farm House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Farm House B&B

Property: East Farm House B&B
Address: Rosemary Lane | Rodden Row, Abbotsbury, Weymouth DT3 4JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth > Abbotsbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Abbotsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Farm House East FarmHouse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your East Farm House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Farm House B&B Abbotsbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing