We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family heirlooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
East Farm House B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Abbotsbury
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family heirlooms!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Beautiful village, and beautiful old farmhouse, with farmyard full of lively hens and varieties of animals. The interior is full of family heirlooms, covering every surface, even in guest bedrooms. Not much available space to put anything, even in bathroom! Some beautiful fresh flowers, but far too many artificial flowers cluttering surfaces.
Cooked breakfast good, but limited choice of cereals, and no fruit.
Very disappointed to return to our room after the first day, to find beds unmade, cups unwashed, and wet towels still on floor of bathroom. Room had not been serviced, so felt quite forgotten ! However, room was serviced during rest of stay, 4 nights.
Wendy is a lovely lady, with interesting stories to tell, but ideally guest rooms need decluttering!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    9
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in this historical house with beautiful character and were treated so warmly by the Wood family. Cosy room, tasty breakfasts and the perfect location to explore the spectacular landscape of the fleet, the rolling hills and the magical beach.

Our stay was peaceful, stress-free and fun at East Farm House. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priddis, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My family & I visit quite frequently to the Dorset area of England, everytime we have visited over the past 7 years we have been staying at the East Farm House B&B. From the first time we stayed Wendy & her family made us feel so welcome and very helpful in the areas that we should visit. The home is a 1700 year old charmer, when I think of England this home is exactly what I pictured. My last visit May 2014 I took my 85 year old mother and she fell in love with the home & Wendy went out of her way to acommadate my mom. Our room & food was exceptional.We have recommended East Farm House to many friends who have traveled to England and they all came back loving it. My husband & I plan to go again next year & we will be staying at East Farm House. For us coming from Canada this B&B is exactly what we expected and more. The home, the people and the country side is what draws us back time & time again. When we left this time I forgot to write in the guest book and I just want to thank the Wood's for their great hospitality, and I will keep recommending your fabulous B&B.

Room Tip: Any room is an excellent choice all rooms have on suites and wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

OUR DORSET HOME
Our favourite place to stay - East Farm House. It suits us perfectly. In fact, we've visited so often over the past 10 years that it's almost like having a second home; so much so that we forget to sign the visitor's book! Our last stay was in March this year 2014 and we've just booked another 3 nights in September.
East Farm House is warm, inviting, clean and homely - a proper home not a hotel. We have stayed in many B & B's over the past 30 years - some we'd not return to for various reasons - location, lack of facilities, sometimes just not the right ambience. We wouldn't consider wasting time writing comments about those places. We are true belivers in positive praise or none at all. We thoroughly enjoy staying in Abbotsbury - everyone's so friendly. It's a little oasis of old English charm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our room was full of very dusty artificial flower arrangements, dolls and teddies, and there were cobwebs everywhere. The dining room was really smelly and dark and again littered with dolls, cuddly toys, dried flowers and other oddities. I just wanted to give the place a good clean, de-clutter and remove the cracked tea cups that we were expected to drink out of! Breakfast was disappointing as all that was on offer for a Continental Breakfast was 2 choices of cereal and toast - a serious lack of attention to detail, choice and customer satisfaction. Abbotsbury is such a beautiful place, spend your money elsewhere as there are far better places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Our stay at East Farm B&B was delightful. Wendy was a great host, very friendly and helpful, even to the fact of doing a load of washing for us!! After reading the other reports on Tripadvisor ( we hadn't done so before we stayed at East Farm House) - I feel some people are quite mean in their comments. The building is ancient. There are eons of family history in every room. It is a working farm. If you want to be doted on, then stay in a luxury hotel. Coming from Australia we found our stay enormously atmospheric with the whole olde worldy décor. Our breakfast was more than enough and very tasty. If you want white and uncluttered with the sparse look, then don't stay here. But if you want homely and eccentric then this is the place for you. My only negative comment is that our room was a tad cool for us, but I'm sure that would have been sorted if we'd asked. We didn't need to though as we had an early night and the beds were comfy and warm. Thankyou Wendy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We loved it here - very welcoming, went out of her way to be helpful - happily accepted an interflora delivery for us whilst we were enroute - room was lovely - no complaints at all and internet access is very, very good = good breakfast and a lovely farm = one of the best b nd b we have visited in a glorious location - we are walkers and Wendy was always on hand with advice about local walks = we loved our stay here - what more can you want a nice clean room with good facilities and a good breakfast in an amazing area - think we will probably return here!

Room Tip: We had the harvest room which was excellent in every way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sceatsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbotsbury
0.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
3.8 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
7.4 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Farm House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Farm House B&B

Property: East Farm House B&B
Address: Rosemary Lane | Rodden Row, Abbotsbury, Weymouth DT3 4JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth > Abbotsbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Abbotsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Farm House East FarmHouse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your East Farm House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Farm House B&B Abbotsbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing