We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely area, shame about the B&B.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East Farm House B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Abbotsbury
Reviewed 27 February 2009

The East Farm Guest House, upon first inspection, appeared to be a lovely, quaint, family run B&B. However, our first impressions were soon quashed following our introduction to Mrs. Wendy Woods. After discussing our breakfast options and revealing that were we both vegetarians, she spent several minutes moaning about two vegetarians guests that had previously visited and the inconvenience they had caused her when they requested a cooked breakfast. The whole house was covered in dainty ornaments which, despite their charm, made ascending the stairs with suitcases/bags very precarious. The bedroom was fine, except the layer of dust that covered every surface and the cobwebs that adorned the ceiling. Breakfast was served in a room packed full of toys/books, and, once again, a layer of dust. The cereal was rationed (she provided a very poor selection), and unfortunately Wendy's hospitality was dominated by irritation and annoyance towards her guests. When we came to pay by cheque she expressed total dissatisfaction and requested cash due to the costs incurred when cashing cheques. A lovely house which has the potential to be a great B&B but is spoilt by the proprietor and her complete lack of personal skills.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spotty_slug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2008

If you are looking for the perfect place to stay near to Alnwick in Northumberland, then go to East House Farm.
The lovely old farmhouse and garden is located in a tiny hamlet some 6 miles south of Alnwick and 10 minutes' drive from the glorious coast There is only one room but with a kingsize bed, beautiful bathroom en suite, fluffy towels, bathrobes, a seating area plus TV with freeview , you will want for nothing.
Carol and Richard, your hosts, will make you feel really welcome. Carol's breakfasts, including Craster kippers, are delicious and the price for this super accommodation is exceptionally reasonable. Cannot recommend East House highly enough. We shall go back.

3  Thank Christine38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

Lovely charming farmhouse in the idyllic village of Abbotsbury.

My husband and I spent one night here at the beginning of October 2007. The farmhouse is well located for a pub meal (would recommend The Ilchester Arms) and for strolls around the village and the local attractions.

Perhaps the beds have been changed since 2006 because ours was the most comfortable bed we've had in a b&b to date...!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PinkPixie1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

This B&B has plenty of character as does Wendy who runs the place. Very interesting or maybe you could think cluttered as every surface or hanging space was adorned with dolls houses and prams, rocking horses and nick-nacks galore. Our bedroom was a reasonable size but I'm afraid the bed was the most uncomfortable one I have ever slept on. Not only was it uncomfortable but the mattress cover had a plastic backing so that overnight you became very sticky. I don't think I could ever contemplate going back there unless I knew that the beds had been changed. The location of the b & b was great, close to the sea and plenty of attractions in walking distance - I'd recommend Abbotsbury any time.

5  Thank cibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank judu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Me40066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbotsbury
0.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
284 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
7.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
665 reviews
8.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,108 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Farm House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Farm House B&B

Address: Rosemary Lane | Rodden Row, Abbotsbury, Weymouth DT3 4JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth > Abbotsbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Abbotsbury
Price Range: £83 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Farm House East FarmHouse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your East Farm House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Farm House B&B Abbotsbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing