We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
Terrace overlooking farmland with the ocean beyond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace overlooking farmland with the ocean beyond
Clayhanger Lodge Sleeps 6 in 3 Ensuite Super King Bedrooms Open plan Kitchen/Living/Dining with doors to terrace and garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Terrace overlooking farmland with the ocean beyond
Clayhanger Lodge Sleeps 6 in 3 Ensuite Super King Bedrooms
Open plan Kitchen/Living/Dining with doors to terrace and garden
Kitchen
Beautiful views towards the ocean
Sitting room with big squashy sofas
Master ensuite super king bedroom (downstairs)
Ensuite super king bedroom (upstairs)
Upstairs ensuite (super king bedroom)
Ensuite twin bedroom - which can be made into a super king bed (downstairs)
Downstairs ensuite (twin bedroom which can be made into a super king bed)
Light and airy dining area with doors to terrace on one side and garden on other side
Clayhanger Lodge, New Barn Road, Abbotsbury DT3 4JQ
The Terrace
The enclosed garden surrounded by farmland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Abbotsbury, Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TL518
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Clayhanger Lodge is in a fabulous and idyllic location. The property is surrounded by open farmland with views of Chesil Beach on the horizon. The South West coast path runs to the rear of the house and it is a short walk into Abbotsbury.

Our five month old puppy (Barney) loved the enclosed garden; especially the cattle lining up along the fence each morning and evening to inspect him!

The beautiful open plan kitchen / family room was very well equipped; in fact I cannot think of anything that needed adding to the kitchen equipment.

The beds were lovely and comfortable with quality linens.

We loved our daily jaunts to Burton Bradstock beach and we can thoroughly recommend dining at The Hive Beach Café. Lulworth Cove, Durdle Door, Lyme Regis and Abbotsbury Swannery are all within easy reach.

Would I recommend Clayhanger Lodge, absolutely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you for leaving such a thorough and detailed review which will be so useful to potential bookers and future travellers. You have painted a beautiful picture of Clayhanger Lodge and its setting which is very special. We are delighted that Barney enjoyed his 1st trip to the coast and hope to welcome him and his family back again soon for more Jurassic fantastic adventures. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and helpful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Abbotsbury-by-the-Sea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat B
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality accommodation”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The accommodation was of the highest standard, with quality bed linen, a very well equipped kitchen with large cooker for family meals, plenty of space, light and airy and well maintained. We too would have appreciated coffee tables.

It was great to be able to access the SW Coast path nearby and to walk into Abbotsbury and beyond, indeed it was a novel way of getting the shopping. We enjoyed the local attractions especially with a young child.

Kerry was very helpful regarding our booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and quality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our luxury Dorset cottage in Abbotsbury-by-the-Sea and thank you for taking the time to write such a helpful review of Clayhanger Lodge. We are pleased that your grandson enjoyed feeding the swans on the Fleet lagoon and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon...for more wildflower walks and rural shopping trips!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful living space for lazing, cooking, eating, drinking and generally enjoying the company of 6 adults in our party
Liked least: Could have done with one extra door key to save putting it back in key safe if parties wanted to go out separately.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Abbotsbury and hope to welcome you back again in the future for more Jurassic fantastic exploring on Chesil Beach, the Dorset Ridgeway and South West coast path.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HeatherS5...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning location,lovely property but could do with better management.”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely barn conversion, set in a beautiful location and well equipped. Beds are enormous and comfortable with quality bed linen, good china in the kitchen and the whole place is spacious and light. In the guest book there was much debate about the comfort of the sofas - personally, I loved them but there were no small/coffee tables in the lounge area meaning you held onto your drink whilst relaxing, or put it on the floor.
We sought assurance that the garden was fully enclosed before we booked so that our dog could go outside unattended. Unfortunately, there is an obvious large gap (at least 3 feet wide) between the end of the building and the fence/small wall where the path goes around the side of the property. We put garden chairs in the gap which were sufficient to keep our dog in the garden but more lively dogs would not be so easy to contain. There are sheep next to the property.
There is one other property next door to the barn, but I'm not sure if the occupiers were anything to do with the rental.Being so isolated was lovely but there is almost no mobile signal and we did feel a bit vulnerable should an emergency arise. Fortunately, when the emergency did occur (power cut one evening) we managed to get a signal by standing outside in the parking area. We rang the emergency contact advised in the property information book but he was on a motorway in the Midlands and couldn't do much to help other than say he would ring a colleague. We contacted the electricity supplier (number on meter) and things were returned to normal within 2 hours. NONE of the torches provided in the property worked and nobody contacted us to see if we were alright.
Apart from the torches not working, there was a light out in the lounge, neither of the outdoor lights in the back garden worked, there was one broken pen with the guest book and maintenance log, and a broken fish slice had been the subject of much debate for over a year!Also, only one key for a property that sleeps 6 people.Apart from the torches which was inexcusable,the other items were relatively minor but some had been raised months ago and it would make such a difference to the feel of the place if visitors' comments were addressed rather than ignored.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning location and lovely property
Liked least: Garden not enclosed and problems with communication in an emergency
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2015
Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful location of Abbotsbury and lovely barn conversion of Clayhanger Lodge. We apologise for the torch batteries being flat and the garden light and pen not working. These have now been replaced and we will ensure that they are checked on a more regular basis. We can only apologise on behalf of the utility provider for the loss of power and the inconvenience and distress this caused. Abbotsbury does not have a mobile phone mast so reception can be weak but this is common in rural communities. Thank you for suggesting we provide more keys, this has not been raised before as guests tend to use the key safe but we have now had extras cut. We do listen to guest feedback and where possible implement changes. We thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing