We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of A cote

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Relax!
The master bedroom
Cosy single room
Shower Room
Kitchen
From the'Woodland corner'
Coffee corner under Wisteria in full bloom
Water feature
The Folie
Any old iron?
Arial view
The garden
The Woodland
View from the Afternoon-Tea corner
High Noon tree Peony
From the roof top
Red hot
The rockery in early spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Beaminster, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming and relaxing”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in August 2013

I ditto that of all the other reviewers. Firstly the cottage is squeaky clean, an absolute must when you're on holiday. The cottage has everything you need. Small things make a difference: tea, milk, biscuits left for you plus some dishwasher tabs and washing liquid....important things being a wife and mum! Also Egyptian cotton bedding and WiFi! The owners could not have been more accommodating. They were really friendly without being intrusive, treating us to Pimms on the terrace one evening. They were there if we needed them but left us to our own devices. The garden is shared with the owners but you have your own patio/terrace and we were often in the garden undisturbed (the garden is beautiful by the way). The owners were also great with our 9 year old son, looking and taking great interest in the fossils he collected. The cottage is also 2 minutes walk from the heart of Beaminster and is excellent for all holiday travellers whether you're after coast, countryside, relaxing or more energetic adventures. I'd thoroughly recommend 'A Cote' to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for the brilliant review. We do our best to make every one feel happy and comfortable. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarrieGla...
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Base for a Holiday in Dorset”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The owners of A Cote are very welcoming. It is spotlessly clean and very well equipped with everything you could want for a self catering holiday. Beaminster is an excellent place from which to explore Dorset and Somerset - there is a very good number of places of interest nearby. We were a little surprised at how much traffic goes through Beaminster.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped
Liked least: The noise traffic going past the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2014
Thank you so much for these comments.We hope to welcome you again at À Côté.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud V
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We loved staying at A Cote. It was extremely comfortable and well equipped and the very friendly and helpful owners had left lots of extras for us as well, such as milk and biscuits. It was very clean and had a beautiful garden outside. We were able to sit on the terrace every evening in the sunshine, listening to the sound of the little river nearby.
There was lots to see and do in the surrounding area, so it is a perfect base for exploring the West Country. We highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
Thank very much for such a nice comment. We are pleased you found the cottage comfortable and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“EXCELLENCE THROUGHOUT”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Initially I chose Beaminster and then A Cote as a base for an activity based holiday in Dorset. But what a great base it turned out to be. It could not have been more central for our activities, walking, playing ‘games’ (geocaching and Munzee), visiting Triangulation Pillars and many more associated items. Then to be able to return to such a lovely cottage as this was something that dreams are made of. One of the most delightful features was to be able to return after a full day out to be able to luxuriate in a truly amazing shower is something that I will always remember the cottage for. This though just set the standard for the rest of the cottage. You name it and it was there and at very best quality too. Even cling film and foil to wrap the picnics in. I see someone else has also mentioned the bed but if I could have got it on to the roof of the car I would be sleeping in it at home now. The owners, Laurence and Michael, were extremely helpful and accommodating from the first enquiry about a booking to seeing us disappear into the dawn at the end of our stay.
Anyone wanting a central place to stay in Dorset and incorporate it with a luxurious cottage style holiday then they would have to go a long way to better this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved it all
Liked least: I cannot think of anything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2014
Thank you very much for this outstanding review. We appreciate it as much as you enjoyed your stay in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barneyjan
barneyjan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So good we bought a house!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was one of the very best cottages we have ever stayed in. Superbly comfortable, excellently equipped and nothing too much trouble. We were here for 2 weeks in November yet still were able to enjoy the surrounding area in Sun and rain. So much so we found and bought a house nearby and move from Scotland in March. Do not miss out on this gem of a find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and garden
Liked least: hmmmmmm nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and were able to look, find and purchase your new house in Dorset.
Thank you very much for the shining review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totesador...
Chipley, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

A Cote was an absolute dream, and my vacation there was perfect from start to finish. The cottage was spacious, scrupulously clean, and had every amenity I could have possibly thought of. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept on in any place I have ever stayed. The back garden was private, quiet, and beautiful; I was lucky enough to have perfect weather while I was there, and was able to spend a lot of time relaxing on the back patio. The location of A Cote is only a short walk to the center of Beaminster, where you can find good food and friendly people. I recommend the sticky toffee pudding at Big Fish, Little Fish...it was so good, it literally brought tears to my eyes!

The owners Laurence and Michael were so kind to me during my stay. They knew it was my first trip out of the US and I was traveling alone, and they went out of their way to take care of me and make my visit wonderful. I am already mentally planning my next trip there.

If there was a review option better than 'excellent', I would have chosen it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2013
All we can say is that when people pay to spend sometime at A Côté we try and do our utmost to make their stay memorable and comfortable. We are so pleased you had a great time and look forward to seeing you in 2015!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian G
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“All you could wish for and more.”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

excellent accomodation, very comfortable, did not need to take anything as everything you need is supplied plus more. lovely garden, very friendly and helpful couple. would definitely go back and would reccomend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall conditon of the property.
Liked least: no issues.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for a lovely review. We are delighted that everyone who has stayed with us had a lovely time. Hope to see you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing