We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful restaurant with rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaminster
Certificate of Excellence
Rocdale
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant with rooms”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Beautiful old building with many interesting features. The service and food was excellent and the breakfast menu was one of the best I have seen in many years of travelling. The room was a little small, the light above the mirror in the bathroom did not work and the orientation of electrical sockets with mirrors made the effective use of the hair dryer a little challenging for my wife, but this did not spoil and otherwise excellent stay.

Room Tip: Our understanding is that the rooms in the main house are a little quieter and more generously propo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Mike S,
Thank you so much for your review and constructive comments which we'll look in to.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    119
    47
    7
    1
See reviews for
84
325
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were very disappointed with our stay. The hotel is tastefully decorated and the bed was fantastic, but it is totally over-priced. The room was small, the bed took up the whole space, the welcome was unfriendly and worst of all it was really noisy. There was a yapping, crying dog next door, banging overhead and the room was beside the a noisy gravel car park with guests arriving and departing. In spite of the superbly comfortable bed we had a poor night's sleep. The breakfast was freshly cooked with a varied manu.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Coach House as it's by the gravel car park and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieGoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very upset to hear you were disappointed with your stay. You stayed in our CoachHouse where the bedrooms are undoubtedly smaller than the main house and priced accordingly. I believe you paid £165 B&B per night during a half term weekend and £145 for the Sunday night which we know compares well with our local competitors.
With hindsight we should have managed your expectations better and found a more suitable room for you in the main building.I can only apologise for your room neighbours' dogs and guests above and, had you said something at the time, we could have moved you elsewhere in the hotel.
I am also very sorry you were not made to feel welcome on check-in. As many of our reviews testify, we are renowned for our friendly staff and so this comes as an unwelcome surprise and one you can be sure we will investigate further. In the meantime, we would love to welcome you back and as you are relatively local and have written to you directly.
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had intended to stay at another hotel in Dorset but changed our minds because of bad reviews, finding hotels in this area seems difficult and the prices asked for rooms seems high compared to many areas of the country. so this Hotel is a breath of fresh air by comparison rooms are clean and well furnished bed was huge and comfortable . food was great staff were friendly and even the chef came out to make sure you were happy with your meal I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel

Room Tip: some rooms are in a purpose built annex and are smaller than those in the house, some rooms overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your recommendation. We're delighted to be described as a 'breath of fresh air.' As a small, family run hotel the personal touch should be what independent hotels are all about. We very much hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I booked The Bridge House for a birthday treat for my partner. We stayed over bank holiday weekend for 3 nights. What an amazing place. We were looking for a doggie friendly hotel with character and class and I have to say we were not disappointed. The hotel décor was cosy and sumptuous within a beautiful 15th century building. The food was all locally sourced fresh produce and was truly delicious. We had something different every evening and every dish was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who made us feel totally welcome making a fuss of us and our 2 pooches. We will definitely visit this beautiful place again.Thank you for looking after us!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear we pleasantly met expectations.
The pleasure was ours in making your partner's birthday a treat.....as well as the pooches!
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poolewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Bridge House is such a fabulous all round quality boutique hotel. I first started visiting for supper and then started staying for dog walking holidays with my spaniel. As a solo guest I was always made to feel totally welcome and every care was taken to ensure I felt included. I held a major birthday party here a few years ago with a menu designed by Stephen who is an absolutely awesome chef. When we got married a brief honeymoon stay was lovely and for our daughter's first birthday it was a truly perfect choice.

Whatever the circumstances of my visit have been: solo, big party, couple or young family these guys could not have done more to gently host. Whether it's been a big life event or quiet weekend they have ensured that I have had truly memorable times. There's such a lovely impromptu feel: on this visit my daughter even had a fabulous play date with the owners twins and Stephen's team made her a surprise birthday cake with candles - I can't think of any other hotel where there is such genuine and seemingly effortless TLC! My advice is that you come for a visit, feel cherished and it may well become your home from home!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddywarhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. Praise indeed for which we are truly humbled. All I can say on behalf of everyone is that it has always been a privilege and pleasure to have you stay. I hope we can continue to serve on many other occasions in the future.
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My friend and I dined here this week and it was superbly cooked by Geraldine . Very welcoming staff and very friendly, efficient environment. A real treat for a pleasant evening out. Lovely extensive menu with local fare and presented on the plate beautifully.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpacafluff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comments on dinner which we're delighted to hear you enjoyed. We think we're very lucky to have our super talented Sous Chef, Geri! I'm also glad to hear the overall performance by all our staff was friendly and efficient.
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We came here by chance, refugees from a more celebrated hotel that messed up our booking - and we are glad they did. This is a hotel of real authenticity. The staff are genuine, friendly, and in the case of the manager, possessed of a fine dry wit. The chef really can cook, and for sure he doesn't do it by numbers. The wine list is fabulous, and well worth indulging in. Plus the place is set in the most gorgeous countryside, all Hardy cottages, rolling hills, flower decked hedgerows. OK, so some of the furnishings have the appearance of a rubbed out and too much loved teddy bear, but that is all part of the authenticity and the charm.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We're so glad we were able to help you and our neighbouring hotel out of a difficult problem. It's so pleasing when customers like yourself appreciate what we're all about. We very much hope you will make us your first choice the next time you visit West Dorset.
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaminster
6.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
847 reviews
6.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
473 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
315 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
159 reviews
24.8 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Property: Bridge House Hotel
Address: 3 Prout Bridge, Beaminster DT8 3AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Beaminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset Hotel of the Year 2013/14. Stunning 13th Century former priests' house within pretty town - Beaminster. Thirteen luxury bedrooms all with Italian linen, Molton Brown & flat screen tvs. Taste of the West Gold award winner & 2 AA Rosettes. Al fresco dining in summer overlooking a pretty, walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Beaminster
Bridge House Hotel Beaminster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing