We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, avoid rooms in the coach house”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaminster
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, avoid rooms in the coach house”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in July 2014. Set in the pretty village of Beaminster, the main hotel is welcoming and cosy. Unfortunately our room was in the coach house in a separate building at the back of the hotel. The room was damp and the walls were thin with no soundproofing so that every sound could be heard from the neighboring rooms. Although our room was not up to scratch the rest of the hotel and gardens were pleasant and we enjoyed a nice breakfast before we left. If you're thinking of staying here then ask for a room in the main hotel and avoid the coach house.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the coach house at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear J M,
I am sorry you were not entirely happy with your room. I am not aware that you gave us the chance to rectify with maybe a move to another bedroom, something we would happily offer if we are able to. I am concerned that you were not made aware that the CoachHouse is a separate building just a few metres from the main building. It is a converted coach house and as such the fabric of the building is a mixture with outside walls at least a foot thick. I am also concerned that you thought the room was damp, something I will obviously explore and thank you for bringing to my attention.
I am pleased to hear that you consider the hotel is welcoming and cosy and that you enjoyed breakfast too.
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    119
    47
    7
    1
See reviews for
84
325
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was a repeat visit to the hotel. As before, the staff were friendly & efficient. Our dog was made welcome & allowed on the terrace during afternoon tea.
We enjoyed both breakfast & dinner on the terrace during the warm weather & dinner in particular was delicious & memorable.
The public areas were easily accessible from our downstairs bedroom & the provision of a non-slip mat & grab rails in the shower were very useful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghv2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear ghv2014,
Thank you for your review and comments. Alfresco dining on the terrace comes into its own in this beautiful weather. I am delighted to hear we met all your needs and look forward to welcoming you again.
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

You could happily stay in the Bridge Hotel in Beaminster for a week and not run out of local things to do and see. It's the best hotel around with the best restaurant too. Everybody at the hotel seemed, unusually nowadays, to be English!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixiegrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Dixiegrand,
So you glad you enjoyed the BridgeHouse and the locality. As you would expect as an equal opportunities employer we have had many nationalities work at the hotel over the years with great success. It just so happens that the majority of our staff are currently very local which also works well for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Whilst we did not have the opportunity to eat in the restaurant as we were visiting local friends we did have a very enjoyable breakfast in the insdie/outside eating area and found choice, quality and service to be excellent.
Upon early arrival we were upgraded to a very well appointed, quiet bedroom which was extremely comfortable.
Excellent value.

Room Tip: Think a room at front of hotel may be affected by traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Peter M,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. As a footnote you you mention noise the potential for traffic noise at the front of the hotel. We have very effective secondary glazing and, consequently, traffic noise has never been an issue. After 6pm passing traffic lessens considerably as well.
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We hired the sun room (conservatory) for our mother's 90th birthday. It was a few months in the planning, but all preparations went smoothly. Steve planned the menu (4 choices per course) for 20 people and Patrick organised the event.

Everything went very smoothly and the staff were obliging (including taking photos!) and very helpful.

The quality of the food was exceptional. and the service on the day was excellent.

This is certainly a venue to be recommended for family celebrations!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SusanWarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Susan,
Thank you for your comments. We're obviously delighted that everyone enjoyed the occasion, especially your mother on such an important occasion. Your personal recommendation is gratefully received.
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Thank you to Patrick and all the staff at Bridge House. We stayed here for 2-nights as a very late booking on Fri 4th & Sat 5th July.

The staff could not have been more helpfull, friendly, and attentive. The food was also very good on both nights. There are some really nice little touches that in our opinion seperate the good from the very good like the chef coming out to see all of the guests after your meal. Also the offer of freshly baked pastries at the end of a very good breakfast. The hotel is very laid back and cosy with a very homely feel.

If it's peace and quiet you are looking for with great food then this is definitely the place for you. Be warned though even on a Saturday the town itself is extremely quiet and not really many places to go if you want to eat elsewhere. This did'nt spoil our stay though. The beautifull Dorset coast with Lyme Regis and the slightly more bustling town (On a Saturday) of Dorchester are both within very easy reach by car.

Thanks again to all the Bridge House Staff keep up the good work. We hope to return soon and will certainly be reccomending you to others. Kind Regards Steve & Jo

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thierry_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Steve & Jo,
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.
It's unusual for Beaminster to be so quiet on a Saturday although when the weather's good most head to the coast which is only a short drive from the hotel and could help to explain that. I'm so pleased on behalf of Patrick, Steve & Kim in housekeeping and their teams that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We were their yesterday. Food were excellent and service was also quick and nice because we're in a hurry. I had a fantastic burger with the best chips I ever had my sister had a wonderful soup. We love to come back. The area around Beaminster is also something to see it is very nice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Robert,
Happy to oblige! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Mark Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaminster
6.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
847 reviews
6.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
473 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
314 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
159 reviews
24.8 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Property: Bridge House Hotel
Address: 3 Prout Bridge, Beaminster DT8 3AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Beaminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset Hotel of the Year 2013/14. Stunning 13th Century former priests' house within pretty town - Beaminster. Thirteen luxury bedrooms all with Italian linen, Molton Brown & flat screen tvs. Taste of the West Gold award winner & 2 AA Rosettes. Al fresco dining in summer overlooking a pretty, walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Beaminster
Bridge House Hotel Beaminster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing