We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Food”
Review of Bridge House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridge House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed nearby at West Axnoller and came into Beaminster one evening to the Bridge House hotel to eat. The reviews that I'd read looked promising so we were really looking forward to our meal.

There was a good choice of food on the menu and several fresh fish items, but I think that given this is Dorset and not London, I would not expect to pay c£23, £24 for fish and then have to add all of my vegetables as side orders which ranged from £3-£5 (approx).

The service was poor - we were "ordered" to the table by the waitress - chef had apparently said it was time for us to sit down and have our starters.
My starter was quite cold - I had scallops and the chorizo was overcooked.
The fish main course were very greasy; swimming in oli and lemon; the veg were also very greasy and the Dauphinos Potatoes overly sickly and rich.

It's a shame as it's such a lovely place; but I think it's trying too hard - the food would be much better if it was simpler without so much oil and richness.

The service was quite poor - we waited over half an hour for our bill and asked twice.
We wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank spremmynemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear spremmynemmy,
Thank you for your review and I'm sorry you did not enjoy your meal. I will obviously discuss the food issues with our head chef. We have recently simplified our menu to a large extent and so I am surprised at your comments. 3 courses can be had for just £27.50 and our fish costs just as much to buy and serve as it does in London. However, we will continue to analyse what we do and thank you for your guidance.
Mark Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Bridge House Hotel for 3 nights, rather last-minute, to break up a 5 hour journey down to Cornwall with our 3 year old son Jack. And we're very glad that we did. Its a lovely, very friendly hotel. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived (Patrick and Grant especially helpful). We ate in the restaurant 2 of the evenings we were there (a baby listening service available upon request), and the food was absolutely stunning (and had a very good wine list too). We knew before arriving that we would have to move rooms after the first night, and that would be my only criticism. We were absolutely spoilt on the first night with a superior family suite. It was enormous! With a beautiful roll-top bath in the bathroom, as well as a separate walk-in shower. Our standard family suite for the remaining nights therefore seemed very cramped by comparison with a bathroom so small that the towel rail was located outside the bathroom door! But that said, a minor issue to an otherwise most enjoyable stay. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the area, would thoroughly recommend. We hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romy-Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Romy-Joseph,
Thank you for your super review and recommendation - Grant and Patrick are particularly happy to get a mention. I'm also glad to hear that we are child friendly, but sorry you had to move on your second night, something we'll make sure doesn't happen next time you stay.
Mark Donovan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a very elegant, classically English hotel and it was a pleasure to stay here. The room was beautifully decorated and there was a very generous supply of hot drinks and toiletries (Molton Brown). The breakfasts were delicious. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear L U,
Thank you for your positive review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to hopefully welcoming you again.
Mark Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a lovely quiet and chilled stay at the Bridgehouse hotel and enjoyed two cosy nights of warm hospitality and indulgence. The evening meals were very good and the breakfast was fist class. We will recommend to anyone going to this area.

Room Tip: Room number 5 is on the ground floor at the back of the hotel and offers quiet easy access from car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Michael,
Your positive comments are gratefully received. Come and stay again soon.
Mark Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

• Lovely hotel
• We liked the room (Room 6)
• Wonderful staff (all of the team that we met)
• Superb food
• Great value for money
• We will certainly stay again

Our review is summed up above...but Trip Advisor want reviews of > 200 words (hence this last comment!)

Room Tip: We can’t vouch for the the Coach House rooms - we stayed in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Tim K,
Like you, I'll keep it short - a very large thank you for your 5 star review from me and all the team. Much appreciated. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Mark Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the Bridge House hotel as we were visiting family in the area. We only stayed one night, but the stay was very enjoyable. The staff were all very professional but welcoming too. The reception we got when arriving was extremely good and we were put at ease from the start by the type of welcome that you would expect if you were a regular or a long staying guest. Its a special type of personality that can make you feel like that. I would recommend The Bridge House to anyone staying in the area. Beaminster is an interesting place to visit and the hotel is conveniently situated for walking the area, but also in a place that makes so many places of interest reachable without hours on the road.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Thomas P,
Thank you for your comments and praise of the hotel. I'm particularly happy that you managed to explore the area which we would agree, has much to offer. We very much hope you are able to return to us again and get to see a little more of wonderful West Dorset.
Mark Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We spent three nights at the hotel as a last minute birthday treat; it surpassed our expectations. The hotel has a very pleasant 'feel' and has been tastefully made-over. We knew our room in the stable block would be small, but it was perfectly adequate and well furnished, given that we wanted to explore the area all day. A little more light in the room for reading or make-up might be something to thing about, but not a show stopper. The bathroom was a good size and well turned out. Breakfast and dinner were really top class, with lots of local food featured on the menu. Bread is baked daily and there was homemade jams and marmalade, Everything was freshly prepared and presented with care and style. The menu for dinner was a good range of options and cooked by people who knew what they were doing. The hotel is well placed for exploring the Jurassic coastline - only 5-6 miles from the sea.

The overall cost of a very special weekend was great value for money.

Room Tip: I understand, the main house has larger rooms, but for two the stable block is adequate for size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridgeHouseHotel, Owner at Bridge House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear John M,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our hotel.
I'm particularly pleased we rated highly in virtually all areas and note your advice about bedroom lighting. I am also delighted you managed to explore our wonderful coastline. It's often forgotten that the BridgeHouse is so well placed for both amazing coast and countryside. The best of both worlds, we think. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in future.
Mark Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaminster
6.1 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
944 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
877 reviews
13.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
522 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
179 reviews
6.4 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House Hotel

Address: 3 Prout Bridge, Beaminster DT8 3AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Beaminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaminster
Price Range: £96 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset Hotel of the Year 2013/14. Stunning 13th Century former priests' house within pretty town - Beaminster. Thirteen luxury bedrooms all with Italian linen, Molton Brown & flat screen tvs. Taste of the West Gold award winner & 2 AA Rosettes. Al fresco dining in summer overlooking a pretty, walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Bridge House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Beaminster
Bridge House Hotel Beaminster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing