We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot & bike friendly!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Courtyard Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Beaminster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2014

A fabulous little self contained cottage just behind the main square. Spotlessly clean, cosy, comfortable twin beds (there were only 2 of us but we had the full use of the cottage) and a hot shower (with an amazing selection of shower gels with tempting scents, such as Eastern Promise and Cashmere moments!) Although a bit a squeeze there is a safe, locked and dry place to store your bikes for the night. Hazel is a wonderful host and a great cook - we had a splendid breakfast prior to setting off on the first day of our 2 day bike ride. She also recommended and booked a local restaurant (The Steak Out) for us, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Just a shame we were only there for one night. It's definitely somewhere to stay for a few nights (even a week!) to explore the surrounding countryside. And if you're into beagles then there are 2 delightful little chaps on hand!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheTeaElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely cottage, with great facilities. Wonderful breakfast and helpful/friendly host. We felt welcome and we were even given an area to park our two bikes safely.
Restaurants and pubs nearby which included an Indian restaurant. Lovely area for touring. Planning a return trip next year.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AdrianWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A gem of a B&B at the heart of this historic village. We booked both bedrooms and so had the whole cottage to ourselves. Beautifully updated and with a large kitchen/dining room and a very comfortable sitting room, with wood burner ( which must be lovely in the winter) Hazel cooks your breakfast to order, which was very good and set us up for the day. Parking in the nearby car park extremely useful. I hope to stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Spotlessly clean, beautiful cottage. B&B or self catering for longer stays. We just booked twin room but had use of sitting room and kitchen. Just sorry we couldn't stay for long. Owner Hazel really helpful and welcoming. Loved the flowers.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank BathPocahontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

On arriving at this charming and unusal abode we instantly noticed how clean and welcoming it was. Fully equipped with everything we could need including toiletries. Hazel cooked a fantastic breakfast for us each morning which was a real treat. This great little cottage is like having your own accomadation with the addition of a fabulous housekeeper.

Beaminster is a charming little place and close to a whole host of the best things that the Southwest has to offer.

Don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Courtyard is the most charming cottage you could wish to stay in. It has a most comfortable sitting room, breakfast kitchen and 2 very pretty bedrooms. It offers everything you could possibly need and is the ideal base from which to explore the Dorset countryside and coastline. Hazel is most attentive and charming hostess, our only regret was the shortness of our stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank suzie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hazel is avery generous hostess who goes the extra mile for her guests although in our case it was at least 7 miles. The home is very comfortable with very well appointed rooms and touches that you wouldn't find in a 5 star hotel. Hazel helped us out on two occasions and I could not have been more appreciated. This accommodation provides for the perfect getaway or stop over for travellers, families and walkers alihe

Room Tip: You have the cottage to yourself , what more could any one want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eagledocwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaminster hotels
0.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
558 reviews
3 mi away
Winyard's Gap Inn
Winyard's Gap Inn
#1 of 8 in Beaminster
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quigley Bed & Breakfast
Quigley Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Beaminster
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hill Farm B&B
Hill Farm B&B
#4 of 8 in Beaminster
8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Courtyard Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtyard Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8 The Square, Beaminster DT8 3AW, England (Formerly Hazel's Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Beaminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beaminster
Price Range: £80 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and memorable experience, you will be the only guests staying in this stunning private cottage in the centre of Beaminster. 8 The Square is a lovely Grade II Listed cottage situated just off the square in a small and lively country town. We have pubs, cafes, restaurants, shops, walking, cycling, culture, outstanding countryside and heritage coastline to amuse you. Entrance is through the pretty courtyard at the rear of the cottage, and the owner lives in the adjacent barn and will come across to cook you a delicious breakfast in the morning. The cottage is self contained and has 2 large and airy bedrooms, a bathroom, a homely sitting room with comfortable sofa and armchairs, flat screen hd tv, dvds, books and magazines. Free wifi with high speed internet connection. A real fire will provide the perfect ambience for total relaxation in cooler months. For longer stays, relax in and chill out, or go out and come back when it suits you.Adults preferred, children by prior arrangement with proprietors. Ample (not expensive) parking is a few yards away in the main car park, but you can pull in by our gates to unload /load luggage.Please note that non paying guests are not permitted on the premises ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Courtyard Bed & Breakfast Beaminster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing