We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real find”
Review of North Buckham Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Buckham Farm
Ranked #3 of 8 Beaminster B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real find”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Don't be put off by the drive up to the farm - it is well worth it!! This is the most beautiful spot with breath-taking views. We stayed in the main house in a lovely room with a very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom facilities and products. The home-cooked and home-grown breakfast was superb - and to wake with the smell of fresh bread cooking absolutely sets you up for the day. Trish and Andrew and their daughters were absolutely delightful and interested and keen to hear about our experiences whilst there (we were down for a family wedding). The badger watching was an absolute treat - one of us had never seen these creatures before and the set-up in the specially built hut comfortable and well worth doing. Thank you Trish and Andrew for a terrific weekend.

Room Tip: The main house is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trichell, Owner at North Buckham Farm, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your lovely review. You will be pleased to hear we have now done some work or smoothing out the driveway. Hope to see you again when you next have a celebration in Dorset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I , stayed in the shepherds hut, it was comfortable, and a great experience , a bath with a view to die for , a truly relaxing time, we were made to feel very welcome , Trish and Andrew are wonderful hosts, fantastic breakfasts in the morning , and a badger experience I will not forget , seeing them in there natural habitat.
They had good local knowledge and were animal and guest focused.

We shall definitely be returning!!

Six star service !!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midgley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trichell, Owner at North Buckham Farm, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. So glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Myself and my husband and daughter and grandson Charlie aged 2yrs 8months went to stay at North Buckham Farm our accommodation was excellent we stayed in Badger Cottage the cottage is very child friendly everything you could possibly need for children and more! our Host Trish was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble she encouraged our grandson to take part in the farm by collecting eggs with him and feeding the orphaned lambs we really enjoyed it as well. I could carry on with my praise but it would just be better if you go yourself and enjoy your stay as much as we did. We will be telling everyone how good this Farm is.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliebug11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trichell, Owner at North Buckham Farm, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay, it was fun showing Charlie the animals, hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just mind your head when going through the door, my scalp is sore...and the drive is a bit tricky for cars with low ground clearance (we were warned about this)...that aside.

Home cooking absolutely marvellous. We had tea made by Trish and cooked breakfasts - absolutely superb. Homegrown produce (pork and eggs) cannot be surpassed. We even bought some to eat at home. Room very comfortable indeed, we were in the main house (door with low clearance), separate bathroom and although we were told the shower was temperamental it worked perfectly for me.

Splendid views over the Dorset countryside, really is a beautiful and underrated part of the UK. Top drawer hospitality, clean. Cannot comment on value as it was part of a 'package'. Can I mention the attraction of the badgers, wonderful seeing these maligned creatures in the countryside, set up to see them very professional.

Definitely earns repeat business, just watch your head (I knocked mine twice)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshwizardK10D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trichell, Owner at North Buckham Farm, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you your lovely review.

We are doing work on the potholes on the driveway now the weather has settled, thank you for being so understanding. Sorry about the height of the doorway, 5'10", lucky all the other doors are normal height.

So glad you enjoyed our home grown produce, the badgers, our beautiful views and wonderful setting. We are so lucky to live here. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American Canyon, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My Husband and I had a really lovely time at North Buckharm farm. The shepherds hut was brilliant , clean, comfortable. wood burning stove, the sounds of the animals and great hosts made it a really relaxing and enjoyable weekend. It was also so lovely to have a bath whilst looking out on to the countryside and hearing all the animals. Definetly hope to come back soon!!

We went to see the badgers which was superb, practising being quiet was difficult :) but very worth it to see them all in their natural habitat plus they all came out within half an hour. Definitely recommend you don't miss out on this.

Trish and her family made us feel very at home, the cooked breakfast was the best we've ever had . They had good local knowledge and were animal and guest focused.



All in all a great weekend, thank you :)

Room Tip: I accidentally clicked on the swimming pool and it wouldn't let me undo it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuson2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trichell, Owner at North Buckham Farm, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay in the Shepherd's Hut and the bath with a view. We are lucky having so much delicious home grown produce to share with our guests. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just returned from our fourth visit to North Buckham Farm and can thoroughly recommend both the B and B as well as the self catering cottage. The farm is located in a beautiful setting with lovely views. The cottage is clean, comfortable and well equipped for families with enough room to easily accommodate 4 adults and 2 teenagers. The farm provides a great experience for animal lovers with the opportunity to accompany Trish in feeding some of the animals and egg collecting. There is also the opportunity to watch badgers from a purpose built hide which is great fun. Trish and Andrew are wonderful hosts and do everything they can to help you enjoy your holiday. Thank you Trish and Andrew for providing such a fantastic farm holiday experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJFamilyoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trichell, Owner at North Buckham Farm, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It was so nice to see you all again and I am glad you enjoyed your break away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Just had four days at this delightful farmhouse B and B with our five year old daughter, she loved getting the eggs from the chicken house and then eating them the next morning at the absolutely delicious breakfast expertly made by Trish! A delightful place with outstanding views, lovely hosts and immaculate and extremely comfortable and well equipped accommodation. Ten out of ten!!! We will be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank guildfordmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trichell, Owner at North Buckham Farm, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
It was lovely to meet you all and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are so lucky to live in this beautiful part of the world, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaminster
0.9 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
6.4 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Manor Arms
The Manor Arms
#1 of 1 in North Perrott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.7 mi away
Winyard's Gap Inn
Winyard's Gap Inn
#1 of 8 in Beaminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quigley Bed & Breakfast
Quigley Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 8 in Beaminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Buckham Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Buckham Farm

Property: North Buckham Farm
Address: off the A3066, Beaminster DT8 3SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Beaminster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beaminster
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty North Buckham Farm offers a rural retreat where guests can switch off, relax and unwind. We are a family run beef and sheep farm where guests are welcome to meet the animals, cattle, sheep (lambing mid April to end of May), chickens, working collie dogs, farm cats, horses and occasionally a couple of pigs. We also have a badger watching hide on the farm, a lot of our guests enjoy seeing the badgers close up. Our two bedroom B&B suite is suitable for a single traveller, couples or a family of up to 4. We also have Badger's Cottage which is self-catering, sleeps up to 7 (plus a quality sofa bed. There are also two Shepherd's Huts on the farm each sleeping 1 or 2 people with facilities nearby. Something for everyone or great for a family get together. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Buckham Farm Beaminster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing