We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value superb lunch”
Review of The West Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The West Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Arrived here without booking at 13.55. Sam, behind the bar was really friendly and accomodating. It was pretty busy and this was a Thursday lunchtime. Service was good. Prices were good. Meal was superb. The waitress was efficient and friendly. It was warm inside and it was a bitterly cold day. Puddings were good and the cheese board was one of the best we have ever had. Thoroughy recommended. It has a carpark accross the road too. We will return. Loads of local fish on the menu as well as steak, belly pork for the non fish lovers. Toilets were clean and smelled good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

Find you way down the lanes to West Bay for a tempting menu, tasty food and a free car park which is a rare thing in any of the tourist areas around the Dorset coast if you want to avoid paying and park for more than an hour! The wind was blowing hard outside but inside on a weekday, half-term lunchtime the atmosphere was warm and the tables nearly all full as the waitresses bustled around.

We found ourselves a table and enjoyed locally caught fish dishes followed by "proper" puddings, not ready-made & over-heated microwave fare. A pint of IPA beer produced locally by the Palmers Brewery was a welcome accompaniment to my meal.

They take guests in as well so perhaps we'll go for dinner another time and stay over for a night or two, it looks like a good place to explore the surrounding coastal walks or relax on the beach when the weather is better.

Room Tip: It was busy off-season so probably best to book a table if making a special journey or get there ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDaveMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

West bay hotel is a medium size pub /hotel catering for the food market which it serves a fantastic seafood and not at a over priced. The bedroom we had did not have its own bathroom which we where advised off before hand but that was no problem as the we had a private bathroom jest down the hallway and it had a great shower and nice soft toilet paper. Breakfast in the morning was very good cooked to order good choice.staff where great
Cheer's

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Been trying various establishments around the area for quite a while looking for places you would take a friend or frequent on a regular basis. No disasters as such but nothing outstanding either.
Long overdue a stroll round West Bay to see if any new architectural monstrosities had been inflicted on this quaint working harbour. Quick drive down from an outlying village, dodging the bomb craters in the road along the way, and we were there. Bracing I think would describe the cold wind, moronic the so called enhancement scheme currently under way courtesy of our glorious leaders. No money for the elderly, roads that are a disgrace, closed public toilets, the list is endless.
I digress. Where to eat? Lets give the West Bay Hotel a whirl, heard a few favourable reports. Hadn't booked so were on the doorstep as the doors opened which gained us a nice corner table with the winter sunshine streaming through the window. A warm welcome with a varied menu including several specials, something for everyone. Just a trial run on our part so settled for traditional Sunday roast. Absolutely spot on in every way and not overpriced like many similar establishments who fail to live up to expectations.
Return? Oh yes. We will be working our way through that very interesting menu and I am sure we won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had an excellent overnight stay/break from the kids one Saturday night in January here, the staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms were well equipped, clean and well furnished. Oh and a very comfortable bed indeed.

The food is as everyone says, it's lovely and well priced. Our only regret or moan is that we didn't see the seafood platter board!! Bugger.

We had the whole crab salad and it was lovely, the scallop starters were to die for. All this from a quirky little pub where first impressions can give you the wrong idea. Don't be put off by the location. Once your inside its a great atmosphere.

Definitely be going again. We live in Bournemouth so are considering driving down some evenings just for the food :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guidedmotorbiketours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We did not stay at the hotel - instead stayed at the Boardwalk appartment owned by the same people. The Boadwalk is an excellently appointed, modern 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom appartment overlooking the bay.
We ate at the hotel on a miserable January evening - having been advised to book - thankfully we did as although the rest of West Bay seemed closed, the restaurant was quite busy. Enjoyed an excellent seafood meal - only wish we lived nearer, as would be regulars!
Lovely walks over the cliffs and along the beach.

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

It was my 50th Birthday on a Sunday in the middle of December 2012, my husband, knowing my love of fish and seaood suggested the West bay hotel, the welcome was warm and friendly, the service was great and the food was delicious, it was our irst visit, but will not be the last. Thank you to all the staff especially the chef for a wonderful meal. I had the scallops with crisy pork and couliflower puree followed by the most amazing Lemon sole in butter and prawn sauce, hubby had the scallops and pork, but as he doesn't like couliflower, they arrasnged them on a bed of salad, really good salad too. We were so full we didn't have dessert, but the list look lovely. We will be going again soon. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMW1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridport
1.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
525 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
185 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Greyhound
The Greyhound
#9 of 10 in Bridport
130 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Bay Hotel

Address: Station Road | West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bridport
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Public House overlooking the beach at West Bay, we also have a restaurant specialising in Seafood and locally sourced produce. There are four recently refurbished bed and breakfast rooms with views to the beach and cliffs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The West Bay Hotel Bridport, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing